We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jilly60 - Exquisite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Crown Beach Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Beach Road, Sunset Coast, Arorangi 682, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Hobart, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Jilly60 - Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Fabulous week of birthday celebrations shared with 20 friends. Rohan and his team made our stay glorious with upgrades, late check outs and most of all the most memorable birthday dinner in the Windjammer Restaurant. Our private villa with its own little pool saw many an evening with late night drinks. We all looked forward to 4.00pm happy hour each day and thoroughly enjoyed all meals in the restaurant. We will recommend the Crown Beach Resort and Spa to all friends.

Room Tip: Private villa with your own little pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Kia Orana Jilly,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in the ultra private Courtyard Pool Suite; and that you put to good use, the private swimming pool with your group of friends for daily moonlight drinks (absolutely necessary to combat Rarotonga's humid weather).

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your Birthday Dinner at Windjammer Restaurant and as well as other casual dinners at Oceans Restaurant; not forgetting our famous daily happy hour program where you 'buy 1 drink, get 1 absolutely free' - the perfect opportunity to watch daily glorious sunsets.

Happy birthday Jilly, may you have many many more to come!

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    104
    41
    14
    10
See reviews for
43
366
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AUSTRALIA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Have just returned from 11 days of sun, fun and wonderful hospitality.
I arrived with a large group after midnight and we were greeted so warmly. Checking in was extremely efficient and we were given a welcome drink. All the staff without exception were fantastic and made the stay so enjoyable. There is a small supermarket (expensive but handy) bottle shop, post office and deli straight across the road. The local bus stops at the door (the clockwise and anticlockwise bus) The cost is the same if you go all around the island or just a few kms.
The beach is covered with coral so you do need reef shoes as they are not provided but snorkel and mask are in the rooms. The villas are well equiped but televsion has only one fuzzy channel so if you need entertainment at night you might like ot bring some DVD's as the hotel supply is a bit limited.
Happy hour is actually 2 hours and we all made the most of this time. They had a fairly good selection of drinks but if you like a particular beer or wine it would be a good idea to tell them early so they don't run out!!!
Breakfast was adequate with the usual eggs and bacon etc. They did run out of things occassionally but it was not a big issue. All the other meals that I had and my friends had were fantastic.
I was in a courtyard villa with my own pool and this was luxury especially after a long walk.
The grounds are just immaculate full of beautiful plants and lilly ponds.
I am missing it already.

Room Tip: The villas around the pool are lovely but if the resort was full could be a bit noisy and maybe not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the ultra private Courtyard Pool Suite complete with high stone walls, private pool, outdoor dining gazebo and more.

We are equally pleased to read that you enjoyed our warm polynesian hospitality presented by our team of 85 Cook Islanders, straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We are constantly working on our cuisine quality and options at our restaurants to deliver exceptional value for money. Our breakfast service is undergoing upgrades.

Mama Tere & her team of gardeners will be thrilled at your comments about the beautiful gardens & flowers. Thank you.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our villa with it's own private pool was a slice of paradise in Paradise. We visited in November 2012 and the weather was perfect. Rohan (Manager) and his staff are all so welcoming and helpful. All of the meals at the restaurant were always perfect, you can't go wrong with any of their fish dishes. The beach out front was clean and the water was great for snorkelling on the high tide. The themed "Island Night" is a must. The dancers are awesome, the drummers' beat went right through to my soul, such tradition wrapped in humour. We're coming back again in 2013.

Room Tip: Our villa with its own pool was very secluded and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in the ultra private Courtyard Pool Suite with high stone walls, private pool and outdoor dining gazebo.

We are equally pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals at Oceans Restaurant - especially the fresh fish options prepared island style; and not forgetting our world famous 'Island Nights' with an island inspired buffet, live entertainment by the soulful 'Tani & Rose' topped off with an energetic cultural show by 'Te Rau Maire' (Mondays) and 'Akirata' (Thursdays).

We are pleased you have decided to return to stay with us in 2013. We look forward to seeing you both, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel, it's paradise. We had a beachfront villa and it was so beautiful. The villa was lovely and spacious. The beach out front is stunning. The only downside for me was that breakfast was average and my pancakes were burnt and flipped over so I couldn't tell when served to me. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our large spacious Beachfront Spa Villas with direct access to the sandy beach, perfect vistas of the turquoise lagoon & daily spectacular sunsets.

Our breakfast buffet will soon be upgraded with an improved presentation, a better consistent supply of exotic fruits, as well as improved cooked breakfast options. We apologise about the 'burnt' pancakes - our breakfast chef assures me that this will not happen again.

We look forward to looking after you both, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

They have a policy to upgrade all guests to the next room tier if availability allows, which was the case. The 2 bed beachfront villa offered well equipped good sized accommodation. Air conditioning throughout the unit. Choice on the Buffet breakfast was sparse but the cooked a la carte breakfast was good and included in the room rate. We ate twice in Oceans and the food was excellent bar one dish which was replaced without fuss. The beach is Sandy and pretty clean but you must wear beach shoes if you swim as the coral is very sharp as I found to my peril when capsizing one of the complementary kayaks!I am surprised the complex does not have a supply of shoes as it does provide snorkel and mask. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We were eaten by Mosquitos throughout the island and particularly around the reception areas of the resort which was the only place we could access the paid for Wi-fi

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our Two Bedroom Beachfront Pool Villa with perfect vistas of the sandy beach, turquoise lagoon and daily spectacular sunsets.

Thank you for your feedback on our breakfast buffet - we are taking steps to improve its presentation; program regular checks & top-ups, as well as secure additional suppliers of tropical fruit. Our cooked breakfast options will also be refined and improved to achieve top marks.

Thank you for your kind words about your two dinners at Oceans Restaurant - our fabulous new menu is earning nods of approval from our discerning guests. Unpopular options will be removed and replaced with something better, enabling a dynamic menu that is modern & trendy.

Our lagoon is a snorkelers paradise with large coral heads in its most natural state, with lots of reef fish, colourful coral, and a large moray eel that we feed & nurture. We are finalising arrangements for a fee based system for the supply of reef shoes & fins to accompany your complimentary masks & snorkels.

Thank you for your kind words about our team of 85 Cook Islanders who ooze the art of Polynesian hospitality straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We have introduced a new mosquito-eating fish species to our lotus ponds to eradicate mosquitos. Lastly, a new 360 degree mega-antenna will soon be installed atop the administration building to beam a strong wifi signal enabling you to work anywhere, anytime.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

From our pick up at the airport to the sad moment of leaving again, everything was wonderful. The staff were more like friends and always very helpful. Our courtyard villa was a private haven. The grounds pool, and restaurant were all beautifully kept. We particularly enjoyed the evening entertainment at the Oceans.

Room Tip: The courtyard villas have their own pool and are very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the ultra private Courtyard Pool Suite with the high stone walls, private swimming pool and outdoor dining gazebo. We are equally pleased to read that you loved our well-kept gardens, beach, pool and restaurant(s). Our weekly entertainment program is designed to provide great music while you dine at Oceans Restaurant and Windjammer Restaurant.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I decided on Rarotonga as a wedding destination, partly from our experiences in the past and partly from peer pressure - in the end it was the best day of our lives and we couldn't have asked for better service. After a bit of research we decided that the crown beach resort would be the perfect wedding venue, we had approximately 60 guests flying over and we appreciated the fact that they had every detail listed in there wedding handbook and essentially all we had to do was to check a few boxes. Amy in particular was incredibly helpful, notifying us of any changes as soon as she had the info, and really making us feel at ease with the whole process. On the journey over to Rarotonga as a surprise my parents had upgraded our room from the garden suite to the courtyard pool suite, the only bad thing I can say is that we didn't get to spend enough time in there! The room was fabulous, the tea/coffee supply was plentiful, sheets were clean, the bathroom was gorgeous - the room in general exceeded our expectations. The wedding day was fabulous, not once did one of the resort staff come up to us with any issues, they kept my mother informed of the alcohol tab and when it was getting low, not once did we have to say "when is the food coming" or "when will the DJ start up" - every detail was taken care of. We didn't feel like we were impeding on the experiences of the other guests at the resort as the reception venue was situated away from the guest rooms, all in all we would highly recommend the crown beach resort and spa not only as a relaxing holiday venue but as a wedding destination,

Arohanui

Kiri and Bob

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

It was an absolute pleasure to look after your family & friends in the Cook Islands. Your wedding ceremony was beautiful and you family & friends all had a great time celebrating your union at your wedding reception.

Our wedding team effortlessly work behind the scenes to ensure your wedding is absolutely perfect, on time and that important notifications to you and your appointed point of contact is discreet and professional.

Thank you for choosing to stay and celebrate your special day at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Beach Road, Sunset Coast, Arorangi 682, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cook Islands leading luxury beachfront romance resort on Rarotonga's sunset coast...an exclusive haven for only 42 couples. 5 acres of manicured gardens, 100 meters of icing sugar beach, a crystal clear lagoon, 3 restaurants & bars, day spa & beauty clinic, gymnasium, scuba dive centre, conference & business centre, 3 wedding coordinators, 15 swimming pools + 9 spa pools...so much more than meets the eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crown Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Beach Hotel Arorangi
Crown Beach Resort And Spa
Hotel Crown Beach
Crown Beach Resort Rarotonga
Crown Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.