We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable etc etc” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puaikura Reef Lodges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Puaikura Reef Lodges to your Saves list
Puaikura Reef Lodges
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   P O Box 397 | Kavera, Arorangi 00000, Cook Islands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Affordable etc etc”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Just got home, from a relaxing & fun break at the Puaikura 2 bedroom beach bungalow which is managed by Puaikura Reef Lodge.The 'A' frame house felt as if it had just been painted and was nice and clean. It's opposite a small shop which had the neccessary groceries and was down the street from Puaikura Reef Lodges, although 500mts may be stretching it, not that it mattered there's a phone so you could speak to the loverly Jaz or Lotu at reception and these Polynesian Princesses, made it happen. The house had all the basic equipment you could need even its own BBQ, lawns, garden furniture and loungers plus a car port to keep our rented transport cool, a good stereo would of helped though the friendly neighbours may not agree.
The beach is connected to the lawn under the coconut palms, not really a swimmers beach but hey, that ain't the hotels fault! but we spent hours supping Tequila while eating steak from the barby and watching the breakers on the reef. (sure we saw a couple of whales) If the roosters would stay still long enough you could even have fresh chicken.

The hospitality started from the moment we were met by the lodges airport transfer driver Leman !!!

If you want carpets and air-con spend $1,000s and go somewhere else !!!!!!

Reggae on Raro, Respect.................

Room Tip: If you wanna great place for a group holiday, that's got all the features of home, go for the 2B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    58
    15
    11
    3
See reviews for
44
70
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We just returned from a family holiday in the Aroa Pool Villa, which is owned and managed by Puaikura Reef Lodge. The house had just been renovated and was very comfortable and clean. It's just down the road from Puaikura Reef Lodges and the staff there made sure we had everything we needed and were very friendly and helpful.

The villa is well-equipped and has its own beautiful pool, BBQ and outdoor eating area and is only a couple of minute's walk from the beach. The beach is great for swimming and snorkelling and is right by the Aroa marine reserve - the water is clear and the fish amazing.

There's a small store about ten minutes walk away and scooter hire nearby. Good location. If you're a light sleeper take earplugs because of the roosters that are ubiquitous in Rarotonga.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We have just returned from 10 days staying here, we had a standard 1 bedroom self contained unit. It is very basic but clean, well serviced and the staff are friendly and helpful. Well situated, across the road from a swimming and snorkelling beach; beside a shop, fish and chippie, kayak hire and on the right side of the island for easy getting around. The first night we checked in we saw a couple of creepy critters but they disappeared when we arrived and didn't come visiting again.

Room Tip: All rooms are well positioned in this small complex. The neighbours will be the only issue if any!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotorua
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

OK,so we know Raro well,having lived there,we return often and have stayed in motels across the board.
Guests have to check out by 10am,so if you're catching the 5.30 pm plane,you havn't a car,it's $75 to use your room for the rest of the day.there are no new guests in your room and no staff to clean it,and it's there waiting to be cleaned ,and you're charged ,we think that's money gathering,
The office is closed from noon on sat and all day on Sunday,so don't be needing any thing during this time..
We asked at the office if maybe we could see an island show and skip the dinner part,and were told No,you can't do that.
Rarotongan hotel and Edgewater hotel both do this on enquiry.
we had prepaid our return shuttle ,and they offered a free trip to other guests.
We just thought they lacked the finesse that the other properties had.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orewa, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Booked as part of a package. Price was great, location is perfect right in the middle! Pool is lovely - great for a morning wake up swim. Mini mart right next door and fresh fruit stall across the road. Beautiful sandy beach and walking distance to one of the best beach bars in the world! Friendly staff - we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Booked as part of a package it ticked the boxes for price, location and friendly staff. Big rooms, gorgeous beach across the road and places to walk. Fruit stalls abound (pawpaw and bananas for breakfast) and there's a mini-mart for provisions, so with the good cooking facilities you can survive without a restaurant (although there are several around). Plus my son and fiancee came later and stayed too in the two extra beds. Sure you get what you pay for but this is good value.

Room Tip: Avoid the office area, as the late night flights mean transfers with vans and doors banging. Premium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

out of this world, sums up how i feel about this place.,i went over for 1 week and half for my birthday,and could'nt find fault at all,the moment i was picked up i felt i was at home,and was treated as if it was my home,the room was clean from top to bottom and only telling one staff member that is was my birthday,i was greeted with birthday wishes from the cleaners as they did their chores and that was the start,everyone of them took the time to come over and wish me the best,i was also on my own so it made my birthday even better,such a warm and friendly place, puaikura reef lodges is.....the pool and the gardens amazing....everyone staying there were helped one way or another,they helped with transport to even to the best tattoo place in town,the rooms spotless and the beautiful white sheets,after being to many places,this is one place i will return to time and time again.and this place is all about,what you call a holiday..thank you guys i will be back,the owners must be proud of you and to the owners tom and sue a big thank you for having a place that makes you feel welcome,take care all.....be warned i will be back

Room Tip: by the looks of it,any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puaikura Reef Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puaikura Reef Lodges

Address: P O Box 397 | Kavera, Arorangi 00000, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puaikura Reef Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puaikura Reef Lodges is ideally situated on the sheltered south west side of Rarotonga. Located 50m away from a sparkling white sandy beach and crystal blue lagoon. The beach is ideal for swimming and snorkeling. This family friendly property has 13 spacious 1 bedroom and studio units with kitchenettes and private balconies. Facilities include, booking office, swimming pool, bbq area, honesty bar, library, snorkeling equipment, and general store/internet facilities next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Puaikura Reef Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puaikura Reef Hotel Arorangi
Puaikura Reef Lodges Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puaikura Reef Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.