We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manuia Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Manuia Beach Resort to your Saves list
Manuia Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   PO Box 700, Arorangi, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exceeds Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I would highly reccommend Manuia Resort to any couple travelling to Rarotonga.

We stayed in a renovated unit - not beach front; but it wouldn't have made a difference as we walked out onto lovely white sand from our room.

The staff were very friendly and made our trip that much more enjoyable.

This definately is a place for couples wanting to enjoy each others company and enjoy the peace and quiet.

I can't speak any higher of quailty location this resport offers. You are literally a 1 min walk from the scooter/car hire, close to town, have an amaing pool on the beach and an onsite restaurant with quality food and cheap cocktails!!

Thank you for making our trip so memorable, when we return we will be checking in at Manuia Resort again - Natalie and Tolai

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    62
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
165
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I honeymooned at Manuia Beach for 5 days (then went on to AU and NZ). The place is amazing and the management team are so personable. We were the only American's at the resort and we were treated like royalty! Even made new kiwi friends and we keep in touch on Facebook. I made my husband promise we'd fly back in a few years. There were days we'd sit on the beach and there was no one else on the beach or at the pool. We feel asleep in the hammocks after dinner and woke up at 1 am. Such a relaxing and peaceful place.

New Zealand has non stop flights from LA to Rarotonga--we hope that more American's will visit this AMAZING island. What a treat! Can't wait to go back in a few years and see the final product after all the rennovations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurieton, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Arrived in Raratonga from Sydney at 5.30am. Booked in for 9 nights. Got into our room after lunch and it wasn't the room that we had hoped for ?? Rear windows facing clothes line, side windows facing garbage bins, potted plants and smoking fire. Door handle came off wardrobe, toilet bowl just sitting on tiles. We didn't get a renovated room like the receptionist advised us ?
The following day we got moved to a "renovated" room right outside the restaurant. Ocean views etc. Much Better !!! The managers, Alex and Loren have a really hard job on their hands.
Found 1 staff member asleep in the TV room were you get your internet reception from. Another staff member kept asking "what we were going to leave her when we left", any grog or books, ahh you don't smoke so I can't get any smokes off you" !
Had to ask for fresh towels etc, and our bed linen hadn't been changed in the 9 night's that we were there. In Fiji you work to "Fiji Time" in the Cook Islands there is "NO TIME". 30 - 45 mins for a bourbon & coke and that's if they remembered....
Hats off to Alex and Loren, doing a great job with what they have to work with. Second stage of renovations will be a quality finish by qualified builders. It's a shame the staff don't have the respect for their managers like Alex and Loren deserve.
Resort is the perfect location, 10 min scooter trip to town, bus stop right outside the entrance, good snorkelling from resort down towards other resorts. I would recommend this resort as a place to stay, especially if you book a beach front villa. Try to get a villa away from the restaurant though !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our third visit to Manuia beach. The last one two years ago was when it was in receivership and was not great but I am very happy to say that this visit was perfect. Couldn't fault it at all. Loren and Alex, the new managers are doing a fantastic job, the refurbished rooms are lovely, especially the outside showers, the gardens are beautiful again and the meals we had at the restaurant, including breakfasts, were really lovely. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed the island night. The setting right on the beach is perfect and we loved snorkelling there and saw heaps of beautiful fish.
So glad it is back to what it was and we will be back!

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are lovely but we enjoyed 18 tucked away near the back and very private but still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Modern well appointed rooms with novel outdoor shower. Had a great sea view room and did not need to use the a/c. Comfortable bed. The complementary continental breakfast included a good choice of cereals and fruit. Meals at the restaurant were very good. The staff were very friendly. One of the highlights
of the trip was hiking across the island.
Alex and his wife (the hosts) were particularly friendly, helpful and exceeded
all expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our room was 3 rows back from the beach front chalets. This left us with a 25 yard (!!) walk to the beach front decking, restaurant/bar and of course the beach itself!
Being on the way home from New Zealand having been with 3 grand children for 5 weeks, Manuia Beach was chosen mainly because children are not welcomed. This is not to say we don't love the little ones dearly but apart from anything else there would be precious little for them to do which is why families tend to opt for Muri which is about as perfect a family environment that we have yet seen.
Refurbishment is proceeding apace with attention being paid to all aspects of the resort - particularly the outside showers (!), which are magical, and the landscape management generally with their own plant nursery burgeoning at the rear.
It seems that the new owners have been in place for about a year. From the looks of the remaining rooms to be done the work should be completed in a relatively few weeks. This refurbishment work did not impact on our enjoyment at all.
Although away from the town there was no feeling of isolation as a car/scooter hire company is located across the road and there are buses regularly on the hour.
The managers - Loren & Alex - are extremely efficient and have engaged a staff who were extremely attentive and passed on to us the relaxed but sincere nature of the Cook Islanders.
Excellent optional "Cook Island Entertainment" is laid on daily
But for the distance we would become regulars!
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

we stayed recently for 7 nights @ Manuia. We loved the resort & its modern facilities. The rooms are lovely & loved the outdoor shower. The managers are very welcoming & we enjoyed meeting them. The bar & resturant staff however seemed to not want to be there & at times it felt like it was too much of an effort for them to make a drink or take an order. The housekeeping was also pretty terrible. We asked them to not even worry about it 3 out of the 7 days as it was easier & quicker for us to do a quick tidy. Overall we loved it though!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Manuia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuia Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 700, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Manuia Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Polynesian Paradise at Manuia Beach Resort awaits you... Marvel at the magical sunsets over a sparkling blue lagoon, while lounging on your sheltered, white sandy beach fringed with swaying coconut palms. Wander through the tropical gardens on your way to the beach side infinity pool. Rest your elbows on the pool edge and soak in the view across the beach, through the lagoon onwards to the waves crashing on the barrier reef beyond. Sip a refreshing tropical cocktail delivered to you from the Beaches Restaurant and bar, or enjoy your Polynesian inspired meals in the restaurant while you trail your toes through the sandy floor. Manuia Beach Resort - your Cook Islands resort accommodation - is set right on the beach in private and peaceful surroundings on the sheltered sunset coast of Rarotonga. You will love the authentic Cook Islands style accommodation, with the coconut thatched suites complete with island style decor and modern amenities such as air conditioning. Walk through the sandy path down to the water and be stunned by the beauty of the poolside area. The infinity pool, Beaches Restaurant and Bar with its relaxed authentic Polynesian cuisine, loungers set invitingly facing the beautiful lagoon, and attentive local staff, will all set the stage for your dream Rarotongan get-away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manuia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manuia Beach Boutique Avarua
Hotel Manuia Beach Boutique
Manuia Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuia Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.