We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to it's former glory!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manuia Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Manuia Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manuia Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   PO Box 700, Arorangi, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Back to it's former glory!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our third visit to Manuia beach. The last one two years ago was when it was in receivership and was not great but I am very happy to say that this visit was perfect. Couldn't fault it at all. Loren and Alex, the new managers are doing a fantastic job, the refurbished rooms are lovely, especially the outside showers, the gardens are beautiful again and the meals we had at the restaurant, including breakfasts, were really lovely. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed the island night. The setting right on the beach is perfect and we loved snorkelling there and saw heaps of beautiful fish.
So glad it is back to what it was and we will be back!

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are lovely but we enjoyed 18 tucked away near the back and very private but still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    60
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
162
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunset Beach, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Modern well appointed rooms with novel outdoor shower. Had a great sea view room and did not need to use the a/c. Comfortable bed. The complementary continental breakfast included a good choice of cereals and fruit. Meals at the restaurant were very good. The staff were very friendly. One of the highlights
of the trip was hiking across the island.
Alex and his wife (the hosts) were particularly friendly, helpful and exceeded
all expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our room was 3 rows back from the beach front chalets. This left us with a 25 yard (!!) walk to the beach front decking, restaurant/bar and of course the beach itself!
Being on the way home from New Zealand having been with 3 grand children for 5 weeks, Manuia Beach was chosen mainly because children are not welcomed. This is not to say we don't love the little ones dearly but apart from anything else there would be precious little for them to do which is why families tend to opt for Muri which is about as perfect a family environment that we have yet seen.
Refurbishment is proceeding apace with attention being paid to all aspects of the resort - particularly the outside showers (!), which are magical, and the landscape management generally with their own plant nursery burgeoning at the rear.
It seems that the new owners have been in place for about a year. From the looks of the remaining rooms to be done the work should be completed in a relatively few weeks. This refurbishment work did not impact on our enjoyment at all.
Although away from the town there was no feeling of isolation as a car/scooter hire company is located across the road and there are buses regularly on the hour.
The managers - Loren & Alex - are extremely efficient and have engaged a staff who were extremely attentive and passed on to us the relaxed but sincere nature of the Cook Islanders.
Excellent optional "Cook Island Entertainment" is laid on daily
But for the distance we would become regulars!
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

we stayed recently for 7 nights @ Manuia. We loved the resort & its modern facilities. The rooms are lovely & loved the outdoor shower. The managers are very welcoming & we enjoyed meeting them. The bar & resturant staff however seemed to not want to be there & at times it felt like it was too much of an effort for them to make a drink or take an order. The housekeeping was also pretty terrible. We asked them to not even worry about it 3 out of the 7 days as it was easier & quicker for us to do a quick tidy. Overall we loved it though!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Saw this place 12 moths ago, was a little run down but new owners are making this into one of the best places to stay on the Island. Nothing was a problem to the staff. Drinks around the pool, the sand floor restaurant, the outdoor private shower for each unit, a beach at your door step. What more could you want, maybe someone to bring your cocktails to your unit, well that happen to us, ordered from the bar and was told, no need to wait we will bring them to your room. The managers Alex & Loren make you most welcome and nothing seems to be a problem. The island night experience is different to others we have seen but is great a real hands on experience and would not have missed for anything. If they have the Black Pearl night on Thursday this is really informative and entertaining, go take one away with you. love to come back for another stay this one was too short. Meitaki ... thank you Loren and Alex.

Room Tip: No under 16 year olds allowed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Compared to twelve months ago the management team of Manuia have done an amazing job of refurbishment and ground maintenance. Neat clean, tastefully decorated, an Island night of education and entertainment. A definite rebooking will be made. Thank you to all Manuia staff for a great stay. Recommended to all.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a fantastic stay in Rarotonga even with it raining the majority of our stay. This place was a great value and an added bonus was the management and staff were helpful, kind and friendly. I highly recommend it!

They are in the process of remodeling all of the rooms and the newly finished ones look really nice from the peaks I stole as I walked by. On the topic of remodeling, there really wasn't that much noise that we could hear, even with them starting work on the room next to ours. If you are a late sleeper, past 830am, it may be a slight annoyance... really nothing major though, as they really do make a noted effort to keep quite.

Highlights of our stay:
-less than 20 steps from the beach and we weren't even in a beach front (we couldn't see the beach from our room but it was so close it didn't matter).
-outside shower!! It was some what of a novelty for me.
-scooter rental directly across the street and bus stop out front.
-great restaurant on site with great poolside drinks!
-Comfy beach chairs.
-beautiful landscaping
-nice pool and beach
-best management/staff we could have asked for with tons of great advice
-Management happy hour/mingle time.
-scuba trials in the pool

Things to take in to account:
-it's island lifestyle, really laid back, keep it in mind if you plan to travel the Cook Islands.
-We stayed at three places throughout the Cook Islands, all of them had extra firm beds. This hotels bed was particularly hard on my back, but it may be an issue solved with the remodel.
-taxis to/from the airport are soooo expensive for the short distance it is! Plan on taking the bus if you are tight on cash.



Hope you enjoy your stay in the islands, It will be a vacation you'll never forget!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manuia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuia Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 700, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Manuia Beach Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Polynesian Paradise at Manuia Beach Resort awaits you... Marvel at the magical sunsets over a sparkling blue lagoon, while lounging on your sheltered, white sandy beach fringed with swaying coconut palms. Wander through the tropical gardens on your way to the beach side infinity pool. Rest your elbows on the pool edge and soak in the view across the beach, through the lagoon onwards to the waves crashing on the barrier reef beyond. Sip a refreshing tropical cocktail delivered to you from the Beaches Restaurant and bar, or enjoy your Polynesian inspired meals in the restaurant while you trail your toes through the sandy floor. Manuia Beach Resort - your Cook Islands resort accommodation - is set right on the beach in private and peaceful surroundings on the sheltered sunset coast of Rarotonga. You will love the authentic Cook Islands style accommodation, with the coconut thatched suites complete with island style decor and modern amenities such as air conditioning. Walk through the sandy path down to the water and be stunned by the beauty of the poolside area. The infinity pool, Beaches Restaurant and Bar with its relaxed authentic Polynesian cuisine, loungers set invitingly facing the beautiful lagoon, and attentive local staff, will all set the stage for your dream Rarotongan get-away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Manuia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manuia Beach Boutique Avarua
Hotel Manuia Beach Boutique
Manuia Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuia Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.