We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 night stay, Dec 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manuia Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Manuia Beach Resort to your Saves list
Manuia Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Main Rd Arorangi | Beachfront, Arorangi, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“5 night stay, Dec 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Perfect location, just far enough away from the closest neighbouring resorts, yet handy enough if you decided you wanted to go and check out other restaurants etc. Scooter (and car) hire was just across the road. Fantastic restaurant on site. The 'No kids' policy was also one of the things that attracted us to the resort when we were researching places to stay as any time we spent in or around the pool or lounging on the beach was very very relaxing and peaceful! Very friendly and welcoming hosts who were always most helpful. Our unit was clean and well maintained and although it was possibly a bit more basic than we had anticipated (based on the online photos) it proved to me more than adequate for our stay on the island. Will definately be back to Manuia Beach Resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    72
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
187
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckalnd
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were at Manuia over Xmas and New Year, our second visit while Loren And Alex have been managers.
The resort is on the best side for the beautiful sunsets and the pool right on the beach is to die for!
The refurbished rooms and outdoor showers are lovely, by far the biggest and nicest rooms we have come accross in Rarotonga.
The staff are lovely and friendly and make you feel like part of the family.
The food was lovely everytime we dined there and lots of other places are close by to if you feel like a change.
I think this resort has so much to offer and we will returning this year for sure.
Thanks for another wonderful stay Loren and Alex and my fav bar girl Na, she is by far the BEST cocktail maker on the island!

Room Tip: Beachfront all the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just returned from Manuia Beach and was sorry to leave after 9 fantastic days. Loved the no kids policy so very relaxing around pool sipping cocktails and lazing in hammock. Our beachfront Unit No 2 was Excellent as just be renovated, awesome view of lagoon and nightly sunsets just far enough away from restaurant & pool so no nightly noise. Managers and staff very friendly and good value and always very helpful in every way. Scooters a must and so much fun and can be hired across the road (car hire also) and necessary to get around Isalnd. Other Restaurants in walking distance. The Spaggitti House very resonably priced. The Crown Resort 10 minutes walk up the road does lovely Spa treaments Ladies. Thanks Alex & Loren for an awesome time - "We'll be back!"

Room Tip: Any Beachfront Units are great but 1-4 are the best as not so near to Resaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

During our recent stay at Manuia Beach Resort (our second stay at this beautiful resort) we were fortunate to be there on the the night of the Island Experience. Having been to many of the Island cultural nights, this was indeed a unique night. Starting with lessons in head ei making, then a demonstration of coconut husking and grating to make coconut cream, about 15 of us sporting beautiful flower 'crowns' went on to learn how to tie the traditional sarong and then how to make raw fish. A traditional dance demonstration by a beautiful cook islands dancer followed.
We then went into the restaurant on the beach where we had a beautiful island buffet. The food was without a doubt the best island buffet we have experienced in Rarotonga. It is a definite must for everyone and excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We travelled over Christmas 2012 for 3 nights. The room that we were given needed renovating and was very ordinary, not what we expected after researching photos and reviews. We were shown the renovated rooms but weren't offered an upgraded or discount for our stay.

In our initial booking we booked the Xmas Dinner, the discripiton of the menu emailed to me sounded wonderful. On christmas day we were told the menu had to be changed as the chef had left. The Manuia instead offered a set menu lunch, the food over cooked and tasteless, the service for the small amount of guests attending was very slow. We were also told breakfast included some fantastic pancakes, the morning we went they decided not to cook any, apparently that can happen.

The staff were friendly,the accommodation clean and the location is fantastic.
This resort has so much potential, I hope it can improve.

Room Tip: Renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We travelled over Christmas 2012 for 6 nights, and the resort was awesome. We were upgraded to beachfront on arrival and the views on the first morning were fantastic. For the rest of the stay they didn't change.
The room was recently renovated & it showed. They have done a great job with the renovations and once completed the hotel should be very nice. While the renovations were going on behind us, they did not interfere with anything we doing.
All the employees were helpful throughout the hotel, and made the stay more enjoyable. The restaurant had great food & cocktails with us eating the majority of our meals there. Breakfast in the morning was very good, the pancakes are worth getting up for.
We will hopefully make it back to the resort as we had a great time. I couldn't not recommend staying at the hotel more.

Room Tip: Opt for Beachfront if you afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Manuia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuia Beach Resort

Address: Main Rd Arorangi | Beachfront, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Manuia Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Polynesian Paradise at Manuia Beach Resort awaits you... Marvel at the magical sunsets over a sparkling blue lagoon, while lounging on your sheltered, white sandy beach fringed with swaying coconut palms. Wander through the tropical gardens on your way to the beach side infinity pool. Rest your elbows on the pool edge and soak in the view across the beach, through the lagoon onwards to the waves crashing on the barrier reef beyond. Sip a refreshing tropical cocktail delivered to you from the Beaches Restaurant and bar, or enjoy your Polynesian inspired meals in the restaurant while you trail your toes through the sandy floor. Manuia Beach Resort - your Cook Islands resort accommodation - is set right on the beach in private and peaceful surroundings on the sheltered sunset coast of Rarotonga. You will love the authentic Cook Islands style accommodation, with the coconut thatched suites complete with island style decor and modern amenities such as air conditioning. Walk through the sandy path down to the water and be stunned by the beauty of the poolside area. The infinity pool, Beaches Restaurant and Bar with its relaxed authentic Polynesian cuisine, loungers set invitingly facing the beautiful lagoon, and attentive local staff, will all set the stage for your dream Rarotongan get-away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Manuia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manuia Beach Boutique Avarua
Hotel Manuia Beach Boutique
Manuia Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuia Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.