We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Postcard picture perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lagoon Breeze Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lagoon Breeze Villas to your Saves list
Lagoon Breeze Villas
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Main Road, Aroa | Rarotonga, Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Lagoon Lodges)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Postcard picture perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The property is just gorgeous! So very we'll maintained. The gardeners were hard at work everyday. My husband and I don't require much so we had originally booked a studio condo, but to our pleasant surprise, when we arrived, we were escorted to a two bedroom, two bath, two story villa. Feeling as if there must be a mistake, we went to the front desk to inquire, and we're told, "I see the look on your face. Don't worry, we upgraded you!" The staff were awesome! Vickie and Lynn were amazing! They would help you with absolutely everything and anything. Mama Tui is a wonderful lady who takes care of the villas. She always had a smile on her face, a genuinely happy person. We loved the house dog CoCo. She was extremely protective and very sweet. Happy hours were fun. The pool is a great place to relax with such a beautiful garden view. Paradise at its best!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your upgrade and the additional space the two storey villas offer. Our gardeners do put a lot of effort into our gardens each day and are very proud of the results, they thank you for noticing. Paradise will be waiting for you to return soon.
Regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    50
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
78
72
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

If I had known how relaxing my stay at Lagoon Breeze Villas was going to be and how wonderful the staff and accommodations were, I would have booked an extra week. I definitely plan to go back and stay there again. No where on Rarotonga will do for me. I felt truly spoiled and loved the camaraderie they foster amongst their guests. As a solo traveler, I felt very at home and well taken care of in my private villa. Snorkeling was always available and I enjoyed the evenings with my fellow guests sharing happy hour stories of how we spent our days. Each and every member of the staff works hard to provide you with the perfect tropical vacation experience. The grounds are perfectly maintained each day and the reception staff are always there to assist you in planning both day and evening activities to suit your tastes and your budget. There is something here at Lagoon Breeze Villas for everyone. I toured the island many times and saw many of the "resorts" but I will always return to Lagoon Breeze. Special thanks to Vikki, Lynn and Tui for making my stay and my milestone birthday extra special. Also, special thanks to Coco who never allowed me to walk out alone in the dark. :) My stay was sheer paradise - - everything I would picture heaven to be!

Room Tip: I was in the center of the villas and slept like a baby every night. Never usually sleep like that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us. We are espcially happy to hear as a solo traveller you felt safe and at home. Our wonderful staff work very hard to ensure all our guests are made to feel part of the family as does Coco. thank you for choosing to celebrate your special birthday with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

How lucky were we to choose Lagoon Breeze as our 'home' for ten nights recently??? Everything was spot on - from the fantastic staff (thanks Vikki, Lynn, Tui, Ani, Papa Nga and of course Coco!), the company, the facilities, the happy hours, the grounds .... it really was our little slice of paradise. We had a good look around at other resorts and accommodation available in Rarotonga, and we don't think anything else ticked all the boxes like Lagoon Breeze Villas. It has got locaton, spacious and groomed grounds, clean and wonderfully equipped accommodation ... just everything was perfect! Straight across the road from the villas was a beautiful beach - perfect for swimming and snorkeling - something that some of the 'exclusive' resorts could not offer! We had a great time and are already planning the next trip back there!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Manager at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Our staff were delighted to get a mention in your review. They were tirelessly to ensure our guests have a memorable stay with us. Thank you for your kind words, we are pleased you enjoyed the beach across the road and our location on the island. Our gardeners too, work very hard to ensure our gardens are manicured and lush and they thank you for noticing.
We look forward to looking after you again in "our little slice of paradise".
Kind regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHCH, NZ
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We are currently planning our next trip and I have noticed that Lagoon Breeze Villas slipped my reviewing process......we actually visited in Sept 2012

To start with - I spend hours (too many) searching for that accommodation that offers location, suitability for our family and an excellent informative website that provides most things you need to know.

Needless to say Lagoon Breeze topped all these in Rarotonga. Our family absolutely loved our stay there.

We were in a one bedroom villa at the back of the property (13?)- so nice and quiet. The rooms have been refurbished since we stayed and they are looking great in the pics. The one bedroom villas are in buildings of two, so bathrooms are back to back. Didn't notice the neighbours at all!

We had everything we needed to self cater (although I've since decided that's silly on a holiday where ants are about!) We didn't use the BBQ but that was definitely something we should have done.

The large resort down the road was a factor in my decision making and its accessibility and closeness should we need it - HOWEVER, one visit and I wondered what bad dream we had stumbled into. We did eat at the small family owned restaurant by the fish and chip shop - it was lovely. Also the Mini Golf nearby was great, food good also.

By this stage of our trip, we had returned the car - which is why we stayed close to the resort.

The Wigmore store which is quite nearby was quite overpriced, but also very clean and easy to find what you need when passing - I didn't mind paying a little more for convenience.

We ended up visiting the small area of beach by the Rarotongan daily, it was nicer to snorkel with our kids. Lovely.

The staff at Lagoon Breeze were awesome. We loved hanging out with them. Of course the famous Vicky managed to get us into a fully booked Te Vara Nui at the last minute using her local contacts!? Excellent!!!!

We made some fellow KIWI friends at Happy Hour each afternoon, and still occasionally email one family. Which is very cool.

I wouldn't hesitate to return to Lagoon Breeze Villas. In fact, we plan to return again for sure, we have just been sidetracked by other interesting trips meanwhile :)

Best family accommodation in Raro!!!!!

Thanks to the team at Lagoon Breeze. See you again.

Room Tip: Larger 2 bed houses are at the front of the property near road, sunset and beach. We quite liked ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Manager at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. All reviews are helpful and ensure we maintain a consistent level of service. It is always rewarding to hear our guests had a wonderful time and it is nice you were able to relive your time at Lagoon Breeze Villas. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I travel alone and have a slight physical disability. My room at Lagoon Breezes was a garden studio, and it was perfect, clean, spacious and cool, with a very comfy bed. The room was only a few steps from the pool and the breakfast/happy hour areas. The reservation came with free 2 day scooter hire which I extended for another 3 days paying. I snorkeled in the lagoon and swam in the pool every day, and I made the most wonderful friends: Vicki, Lyn, Tui, Ani (some of the wonderful friendly staff), and other guests, and all the character filled pets. There was one bad aspect of my stay here, I had to go home!!!

Room Tip: For those traveling alone, Room 5 is an ideal room size. Go to the free breakfasts and happy hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We too were sorry you couldn't stay longer. We thank you for highlighting our suitability for guests travelling alone. We also feel that our village style resort offers single travellers the opportunity of making new friends, whilst enjoying the intimate surroundings and the safe and secure environment our staff, families and couples help provide.
We look forward to your return in the future.
Kind regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

A great choice, we wanted a 2 bed/2 bath villa as we were travelling with our adult daughter, and it ticked all the boxes for all of us. Everything was perfect: a hassle free pick-up to and from the airport organised by the property, very comfortable accommodation, a welcome bottle of water, a late check-out, 2 hair dryers, the list goes on. The beach and snorkelling across the road is paradise. Wonderful to have free use of reef shoes, beach towels, snorkels, kayaks and little beach chairs. Vikki was very helpful throughout, she recommended the local diving school, booked the Aroa Beachside Tuesday night buffet for us (highly recommended) and the Highland cultural show. Due to an early start for our daughter's dive, a breakfast tray was provided the day before to keep in the fridge, which she collected from Happy Hour. The grounds are beautifully manicured, the pool has loungers and lawns, perfect for chilling out, that is when we could tear ourselves away from the verandah or beach. Hope to go again.

Room Tip: The Polynesian 2 bed villas are great for 2 sets of independent travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience with us at Lagoon Breeze Villas and in particular the 2 Bedroom/2 Level Polynesian Villa and the privacy it offers for 2 sets of independent travellers. Our wonderful staff personally ensure all our guests have a memorable stay with us, somehting we are extremely proud of. We are also pleased you enjoyed the little beach chairs, which we recently introduced due to guest feedback. Once again thank you for your wonderful review, and we too hope to see you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed for a week Feb, 2014.Spent the first 20-30 minutes just walking the grounds enjoying the landscaping. We originally were put in one of the studio villa's and thought it was great, perfectly adequate for our needs, private and with a nice deck. After 2 nights we were offered a 2 bedroom villa at no extra cost, they said it was just sitting empty so we may as well use it, the gods smiled on us, we tend to be practical folk and this way exceeded any place we have ever stayed. The breakfast buffet was A+ fresh fruit, breads, juices, coffee, etc, plus got to mingle with the other guests in a comfortable open setting. The location on the south side of the island was about ideal, not much traffic and one of the best snorkeling sites is about 300 yards down the almost always empty beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the manager, Vicky was a font of information and never tired of answering our questions. Plenty of snorkeling gear to go around and even provided beach shoes. The kitchen was fully stocked with all cooking and eating utensils and several gas BBQ grills were spaced around the site. On the advice of a local we went to " Ocean Fresh" a seafood store by the airport where there was a selection of freshly caught seafood that was about 1/4 the price we pay at home, we enjoyed several meals out on our large deck. There is regular bus service but we chose to rent a scooter at about $20/day and did not regret it, we traveled all the back roads sightseeing, and there was very adequate storage under the seat to haul groceries, beer, swim gear etc, plus you can park it anywhere.

Room Tip: You can hear the road from the units closest to the front, not so from the ones further back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We all thank you for your kind comments and we are especially thrilled you enjoyed your upgrade. the view from the villas is stunning and close to the beach. We aim to provide our guests, who wish to be self sufficient, with all the information they require. Vikki is especially helpful with where to shop and where to get the best prices for fresh produce, meat and fish.
Scooters are a great way to get around and to experience the island life style, with the freedom of stopping off at the beach or cafe while exploring.
We look forward to having you stay again in the future.
Kind regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lagoon Breeze Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Breeze Villas

Address: Main Road, Aroa | Rarotonga, Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Lagoon Lodges)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lagoon Breeze Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagoon Breeze Villas is a privately owned self catering property located on the south-west coast of Rarotonga. The 4 acre property offers 18 spacious villas set in a lush garden setting, just across the road from its own stunning white sand beach. The villas present spacious home away from home living with full kitchens and air conditioning. The Breakfast Cafe serves daily tropical breakfast and provides a happy hour bar service in the evenings. The fresh water swimming pool with a smaller paddling pool for young children provides a quiet spot to relax. Lagoon Breeze Villas is a great option for families, couples and groups of friends seeking a safe, secluded and self catering accommodation on Rarotonga. The property is located just a few minutes walk from shops, restaurants and the nearby mini-putt golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lagoon Breeze Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Breeze Villas Hotel Arorangi
Lagoon Breeze Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lagoon Breeze Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.