We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lagoon Breeze Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lagoon Breeze Villas to your Saves list
Lagoon Breeze Villas
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Main Road, Aroa | Rarotonga, Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Lagoon Lodges)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Weve just come back from a week spent at Lagoon Breeze and it was great. We loved everything about it. We travelled with our 19 month old son and it was really kid friendly and we felt like we didnt have to worry about him at all. We could open our doors and he could run from our villa up to the kids play area (we could still see him of course) and it was great.

I loved that most of the other people staying there were either families or older people, so you didnt have to worry about any excess noise at night and to me the resort had a really safe feeling about it, like you didnt have to worry to much if you left your doors unlocked or anything like that.

The rooms were clean and tidy and the grounds beautiful. The beach across the road as well was awesome, loved the pure white sand and great snorkelling.

Just wanted to make special mention of Tui who looked after our son one night and also the lady who cleaned our room every day and was so patient with him while he 'helped' her.

Also to Vicki, the office manager, we had a problem with a restaurant one night, that was no-ones fault except the patrons of the restaurant, and when Vicki heard about this, she went above and beyond what we expected and made it right for us, which just showed us how important it was to her that we were happy which is a really lovely thing.

And finally, Im not much of a dog person, but if I could clone Coco I would, she was so great with our son as well, we loved all the different animals around there, but especially Coco.

We are definitely going to come back to Rarotonga and we will be looking to stay at Lagoon Breeze again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of your stay with us at Lagoon Breeze Villas. Garth and I are especially thrilled to hear you felt comfortable and safe and that you found our staff helpful and friendly. We all try hard to give our guests a home away from home experience that they will remember. I am sorry that Garth and I were off the island during your stay and therefore were not able to catch up with you at breakfast, however we do hope to see you again at Lagoon Breeze Villas in the near future.
Kind regards, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    50
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
78
72
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Have just spent 9 wonderful days at Lagoon Breeze Villas - the perfect place to unwind. The villa we stayed in was the one bedroom garden setting- three of us had plenty of room to relax. The beautiful sandy beach across the road was a small piece of heaven. Breakfast & Happy Hour brought guests together, staff were just wonderful & nothing we asked for help with was a problem.
I will be returning.

Room Tip: The Villas are all positioned for your own privacy - and have various options for the number of gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
What a wonderful review, it sounds like you made the most of the facilities we offer at Lagoon Breeze Villas. The one bedroom villas are certainly ideal for 3 or 4 pax and the kitchen facilities give you another meal option. Thank you for your review, our staff will get a thrill out of being mentioned.
Kind regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Have just got back from 9days staying at Lagoon breeze villas. The villas are in a garden setting with plenty of lawn around them. Villa was clean & tidy, the staff very friendly & helpful. Breakfast was included in room rate & was a chance to meet other guests. The white sandy beach across the road was pristine & picturesque. Had a lovely relaxing holiday & will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the facilities. I am sure you would agree a 9 day stay is perfect for enjoying the island and unwinding. We look forward to having you stay again in the future.
Kind regards Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We just spent a wonderful week at the Lagoon Breeze. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Making our bookings for our entertainment was no trouble and we appreciated their recommendations. The unit was clean and tidy and very comfortable. It was great to have our own deck to sit on and enjoy a pleasant evening. We just had to walk across the road for some amazing snorkelling. We definitely will return. Regards Keith and Christine

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Garth, the staff and I are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were positively able to add to your Rarotongan experience. We thank you for taking the time to write a review and we all look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Lagoon Breeze Villas was everything it promised to be.
We were lucky enough to be staying in the two-double bedroom ground floor Polynesian villa which had heaps of space for us and our three littllies. There was plenty of space for hanging up clothes, chilling on the deck and watching the kids run around outside in the grounds. There was even a tree swing right outside our villa so we became the place to be for several of the kids in the resort, much to the delight of our two older kids.
The staff couldn't do enough to help us. The breakfasts were good. The swimming pool a tad cold, but heh, it was wonderful. The beautiful beach was just across the road. It had great snorkelling and lots of shady patches to hang out. We went looking for coconut crabs with the kids at night; caught the bus to the market; and hired a car and toured around a bit, The Rarotongan and a couple of cafes/takeaways were walking difference, so it was easy to get something to eat at lunch or dinner. But it was also great to be able to cook our own food - though the gas stove had a mind of its own!
Happy hour particularly was a real delight for us and the kids. The BBQ worked wonderfully and the kids loved running around and playing on the playground while we were chilling in the bar or cooking on the BBQ. And the staff were happy to put a movie on for our little terrors in the bar in the afternoon, which they just loved.
Thank you.

Room Tip: If you want plenty of space for the kids chose the two bedroom groundfloor Polynesian Villa - with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us recently. We are delighted you enjoyed the facilities we have to offer. The 2 Bedroom Villa you stayed in is great for families and the dishwasher is great for mum. We look forward to having you and the family stay again with us in the future.
Kind regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for a week in August 2013 with my family, and really enjoyed our stay. The villas are very close to a nice beach with good snorkelling (equipment provided), they are well maintained and the grounds are lovely. A range of fresh fruit and cereals were provided for breakfast each day, and the bar sold beers for good prices during happy hour. Chickens, a dog and cats roam the property during the day, which adds to the atmosphere.

We stayed in one of the 'two storey two bedroom polynesian villas', which feel private and have great spaces for relaxing. We also stayed in one of the garden villas, which was older and more basic, felt more open and was more affected by noise from the neighbours. During our stay the neighbours played music until around 11pm on several occasions - the garden villas towards the north east of the property got the worst of it. We recognise this wasn't Lagoon Breeze's fault.

Vikki and the staff were very helpful and the cleaners did a great job every morning.

I recommend heading over the road to the beach to watch the sunset - it's stunning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at Lagoon Breeze Villas. We are pleased you enjoyed the Polynesian Villas with all the amenities and space they have to offer. Whilst the Garden Studios are older, they too have been recently renovated with new roofing, new paint inside and out and a soft reburbishment with the new bathrooms to be completed by Christmas. We apologise for the noise from our neighbours however we do our best to monitor the time they finish and the neighbours are usually very thoughtful. Once again on behalf of all the staff we thank you for your kind words and support.
Regards Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

As per most of the reviews I would have to agree that this is a very relaxed location, and the staff are all nice and friendly. We have been to Raro twice before and stayed in Muri which would probably still be my preferred location, but this is a great option, especially for families. If you have kids they are likely to make friends really quickly and have a ball of a time as this is a real family place.

Breakfast is great, good selection and dining area not crowded.

Only two small issues would be with the pool, yes should be heated a little as per another contributor, and the bus that brings new guests at night is a bit bloody loud.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Lagoon Breeze Villas. We are especially pleased you enjoyed the West side of the island and all it has to offer, sunsets, uncrowded beaches, peaceful and quiet, closer to town and of course the fantastic snorkeling on the Aroa Marine Reserve. The property is very busy with families, extended families and couples travelling together especially during the school holidays. Your comments regarding the shuttle company are very important to us and we are working closely with the company to reduce the noise levels. We thank you again for choosing Lagoon Breeze Villas.
Regards Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lagoon Breeze Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Breeze Villas

Address: Main Road, Aroa | Rarotonga, Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Lagoon Lodges)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lagoon Breeze Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagoon Breeze Villas is a privately owned self catering property located on the south-west coast of Rarotonga. The 4 acre property offers 18 spacious villas set in a lush garden setting, just across the road from its own stunning white sand beach. The villas present spacious home away from home living with full kitchens and air conditioning. The Breakfast Cafe serves daily tropical breakfast and provides a happy hour bar service in the evenings. The fresh water swimming pool with a smaller paddling pool for young children provides a quiet spot to relax. Lagoon Breeze Villas is a great option for families, couples and groups of friends seeking a safe, secluded and self catering accommodation on Rarotonga. The property is located just a few minutes walk from shops, restaurants and the nearby mini-putt golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lagoon Breeze Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Breeze Villas Hotel Arorangi
Lagoon Breeze Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lagoon Breeze Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.