We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lagoon Breeze Villas Rarotonga” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lagoon Breeze Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lagoon Breeze Villas to your Saves list
Lagoon Breeze Villas
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Main Road, Aroa | Rarotonga, Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Lagoon Lodges)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lagoon Breeze Villas Rarotonga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a lengthy review but hopefully it answers all your questions about Lagoon Breeze.

We just returned back from a 26 day vacation at the Lagoon Breeze in Rarotonga, Cook Islands. We were met at the airport by a shuttle bus pulling a small trailer for luggage - a quick and efficient method. The bus then transported us to the resort. Once there the driver deposited each guest at their guest cottage/bungalow. Once inside you were greeted by a letter welcoming you and instructing you to make yourself at home and then head over to the dining room for breakfast. After breakfast you could head over to reception and register. What a pleasant surprise. Usually everyone mills around in the reception area, waiting their turn to register, in sweltering heat and still overdressed for the weather. This was so much more pleasurable and makes you wonder why no else thought of this.
The resort is small, about 18 units, and its size makes it possible to meet other guests and make new friends. Everyone had breakfast together (Between 8 -9:30 A.M.) and at Happy Hour (4:30-6:30 P.M.) all the tables were usually pushed together to accommodate the growing group, many addresses were exchanged to continue these new friendships.
Each of the guest cottages is self contained and stocked with almost everyhting you would need. We stayed in one of the smaller garden studios, but there were also 1 and 2 bedroom units available.Our unit was similar in design to a studio apartment - with a large room that contained a twin bed, rattan love seat and coffee table as well as a queen bed and nightstand. In one corner of the room there was a small dining area and a kitchen that was stocked with dishes ,pots and pans, tea towels, dish clothes and soap, a kettle, French Press for making coffee (bring your own coffee grounds or buy locally) a basket that contained instant coffee, tea bags, coffee whitener and sugar, utensils for eating as well as cooking, salt and pepper - even bug spray and insect coils and matches. The kitchen in the unit has a 2 burner stove, microwave and electric kettle for preparing meals, but there were gazebo covered BBQ's for guest use that saw plenty of action. The bathroom consisted of a toilet, shower stall, and a sink/vanity/mirror. It was stocked with soaps, shampoo and body wash as well as a bathmat, bath towels, hand towels and face clothes.
You can buy a token for $5 NZD to use the washing machine. The washer has a soap dispenser attached to it that automatically dispensed soap and there was a whitening agent to use for whites. No need to bring your own detergent and bounce sheets from home, like I did.
The pool and grounds are meticulously cleaned every day and the gardens are very beautiful.
The owners, Garth and Debbie, live on the property and are a very vital part of the resort life. They have breakfast with the guests each morning and make themselves available for any inquiries , such as recommended restaurants and shops or to chitchat about island life. The owners bought the resort 18 months ago and have managed to transform the resort into a beautiful, garden lush retreat with units that are clean and fresh. They have promised even more surprises in the future and we are planning on returning in 2 years to see what changes they have made.
The office is run by 2 women - Vicki and Jaimie- both extremely helpful and always available to arrange car or scooter rentals, restaurant reservations or deal with whatever guests throw at them.I can't forget to mention one of our favorites - a lady named Tui that worked in the restaurant for breakfast, the bar at Happy Hour and cleaned the rooms.
This was truly an enjoyable, relaxing holiday, with great snorkeling and diving (an abundance of sea life)cross country hikes, shopping and restaurants on an island that is only 32 kms around. The pace of life is relaxed and stress free, the speed limit for scooters is 35 kph and cars is 50- but often these speeds were never reached. No traffic jams, just a leisurely drive around the island where there was a lot to see and do.
The only real noise on the island is made by an abundance of roosters and chickens that are wild on the island. My sister in law complained about the roosters waking her early in the morning, but after stopping in Los Vegas for a few days on the way back had her wishing for roosters.
We would highly recommend this Resort and this island for a holiday destination - a piece of paradise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure having you all to stay at Lagoon Breeze Villas. We are delighted that all the little details we try to provide were noted and appreciated. Thank you so much for all the helpful information your review covered and I am sure they will be useful for future guests. Regards Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    54
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
88
80
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a really great time at this resort.It was our first time to Rarotonga, and definately won't be our last. The owners Garth and Debbie were FANTASTIC HOSTS. always there with a smile and a story to make us laugh. they went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable , the staff, specifically tooie (hope the spelling is right) Elizabeth, Annie , papa, and Vickie. can't wait to go back. Alan and Jane M. Rainy River Ont.

Room Tip: the studios are not as roomy as the other villas, when we go back, I will be sure to get a larger su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your great comments about Lagoon Breeze Villas in your review. You were all a great bunch to have stay for so long, it felt like saying 'goodbye' to family. Although our Garden Studios are spacious, we do agree if you are staying 26 nights and travelling with other guests then the 1 Bedroom Villa which offers a seperate bedroom, would give you more space to spread out in the lounge and dining areas. All the staff send their regards and complain, that breakfast is too quiet now that you have all gone. We do hope to see you again in the future. Kindest regards, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I arrived at 8:30 am drenched at the hotel reception asking Vikki the hotel manager if there was a room for the next four nights. Before even consulting her computer she asked Ivy to get me a towel so I could dry up :) The whole team at this hotel CARES. It is reflected in the housekeeping, gardening, buffet breakfast, security, etc. As a female travelling alone, it is reassuring and very much appreciated! I recommend this place because of the warmth, friendliness of the staff, the lovely rooms, the cleanliness, the chickens, dogs, cats... Thank-you Lagoon Breezes for making me feel so welcome! Tehui, Ivy, Mama Pu, Vikki, and all the others, MERCI!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Bonjour pour notre ami préféré canadienne-française, thank you so much for taking the time to review Lagoon Breeze Villas. The team here thoroughly enjoyed looking after you during your stay and we are all thrilled you rearranged your return travel out of NZ to include a stopover in Rarotonga on your way. It was indeed our pleasure to show you our Rarotongan hospitality. Regards Debbie, Garth, Vikki, Jaimee, Tehui, Ivy, Mama & Papa Pu and Kore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

If you have a hankering for an unspoiled tropical paradise where the diving is great, the pace is slow, the people are nice and where most everything works, the Cook Islands should be on your list. The international gateway to the 15-island archipelago is Rarotonga, which features a small capital city with a superb Saturday market and a terrific bus service. There are no fast food joints or aggressive pedlars.

There are many self-catering operations on the island but the Lagoon Breeze Villas is exceptionally good. The property features two-story, two bedroom (one up-one down) villas, two bedroom bungalows, and studio semi-detached bungalows. A well-equipped kitchen is part of the package. The decor is simple and attractive and a good tropical breakfast is included.

The staff are exceptionally capable and helpful and the gorgeous garden compares well to the island's botanical garden. The best snorkelling on the island is just across the road and a mini-golf operation is nearby. It's easy to pick up groceries at supermarkets in Avurua, but Wigmore's store has a good supply of local produce. Good restaurants nearby include Vaima and Yellow Hibiscous. There are many evening cultural shows with dinner on the island. One of the best, Highland Paradise, is nearby.

The Lagoon Breeze Villas would be a good selection for divers, couples, or people with pre-teen children.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
You definitely got the essence of the Cooks! Thank you so much for your informative review of Lagoon Breeze Villas and Rarotonga. You obviously found getting out and about very easy and you certainly took advantage of the sites and restaurants on the island. In Rarotonga, the whole island is your resort, so even if you have a self catering villa you can also enjoy the many wonderful eateries/activities on the island. Garth and I are thrilled you enjoyed your villa and hope to see you again soon. Regards Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Gorgeous place to stay, it is just across the road from "the best snorkeling beach in rarotonga" according to some other couples who had snorkeled all over the world. Vicki in the office is a star, she is super friendly, and willing to suggest tours as well as give honest reviews about them - all you have to do is ask. While we were there we had a great group of people from different parts of the world, soon over happy hour they became friends and the villa's became like a family away from home. The villa's are a generous size, there is an air conditioner in the main bedroom and it is equipped with basic cooking necessities.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about our staff. They all glowed with pride when we showed them your review. Garth and I want our guests to remember Lagoon Breeze Villas for it's friendliness and home away from home experience. Breakfast and Happy Hour are a lovely way to meet knew people and make friends. We do hope you will join us again at Lagoon Breeze Villas in the near future. Regards Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great location. Beautiful resort. I think it has the nicest gardens on the island. Clean, comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Beautiful generous and fresh tropical breakfast. Convenient that the lagoon was so close by (just across the road). And maybe a 3 minute walk to a great snorkeling location. Yes, Fruits of Rarotonga/Muri beach have the nice sandy beach and it's about a 15 minute drive there; however, the snorkeling in the lagoon across from the resort was much better!

Vicki was very helpful, and had lots of recommendations of things to do, and we loved everything she had us do!

Yes, the roosters could be annoying at first, but I got used to them and never even noticed them after a few days. (It's the same pretty much all over the island).

Loved Coco and friends (the dog and 2 cats) who were very friendly.

Despite the rain the first couple of days, we had no real issues with mosquitoes - kept the door closed, and wore mosquito repellent in the evenings when out, but didn't find them any different than what I am used to at home. We didn't even use the mosquito coils that were provided.

We had a garden studio and it was clean and tidy and it was nice having a kitchenette for when we wanted a simple meal in. I found the rooms to be adequate, however I hear they will be upgraded in the near future so am anxious to see how they look the next time we visit.

Pool was refreshing. Lots of equipment available for use.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room "10" was perfectly located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Kia Orana and thank you for your wonderful comments about the properties gardens and facilities. We are especially lucky that our beach is situated on the beautiful Aroa Marine Reserve and therefore offers a beautiful array of colourful fish straight off the beach. Our staff have been with the property for many years and pride themselves on their personal service and even our gardeners enjoy explaining about all the plants they lovingly nurture. You are right about the upgrade, we have already completed a soft refurbishment throughout all room categories, however the bathrooms in the Garden Studios and 1 Bedroom Villas will definitely be upgraded over the next month, so next time you visit you will notice the difference. Until next time, Meitaki Maata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I staqyed at Lgoon Breeze Villas in Feb 2013. They made it a wondeerful experience. Vikki, Jamie the rest of the staff were helpful and friendly, and had excellent information about the island. They also had great suggestions about local activities and eating, and booked on our behalf. We were pleased with the accommodation (and the roosters kept their distance). We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Perhaps, choose a romm away from the roosters?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
The team at Lagoon Breeze Villas are thrilled you have taken the time to comment on their personal service and hospitality. We all strive to give our guests a memorable stay at Lagoon Breeze Villas. We do hope to have the opportunity to look after you again soon.
Regards Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
2.2 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
2.1 mi away
Manuia Beach Resort
Manuia Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0.4 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 4 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoon Breeze Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Breeze Villas

Address: Main Road, Aroa | Rarotonga, Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Lagoon Lodges)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lagoon Breeze Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagoon Breeze Villas is a privately owned self catering property located on the south-west coast of Rarotonga. The 4 acre property offers 18 spacious villas set in a lush garden setting, just across the road from its own stunning white sand beach. The villas present spacious home away from home living with full kitchens and air conditioning. The Breakfast Cafe serves daily tropical breakfast and provides a happy hour bar service in the evenings. The fresh water swimming pool with a smaller paddling pool for young children provides a quiet spot to relax. Lagoon Breeze Villas is a great option for families, couples and groups of friends seeking a safe, secluded and self catering accommodation on Rarotonga. The property is located just a few minutes walk from shops, restaurants and the nearby mini-putt golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Lagoon Breeze Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Breeze Villas Hotel Arorangi
Lagoon Breeze Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lagoon Breeze Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.