We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lagoon Breeze Villas

Save Saved
You added Lagoon Breeze Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lagoon Breeze Villas
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Main Road, Aroa | Rarotonga, Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Lagoon Lodges)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Saskatoon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

If you have a hankering for an unspoiled tropical paradise where the diving is great, the pace is slow, the people are nice and where most everything works, the Cook Islands should be on your list. The international gateway to the 15-island archipelago is Rarotonga, which features a small capital city with a superb Saturday market and a terrific bus service. There are no fast food joints or aggressive pedlars.

There are many self-catering operations on the island but the Lagoon Breeze Villas is exceptionally good. The property features two-story, two bedroom (one up-one down) villas, two bedroom bungalows, and studio semi-detached bungalows. A well-equipped kitchen is part of the package. The decor is simple and attractive and a good tropical breakfast is included.

The staff are exceptionally capable and helpful and the gorgeous garden compares well to the island's botanical garden. The best snorkelling on the island is just across the road and a mini-golf operation is nearby. It's easy to pick up groceries at supermarkets in Avurua, but Wigmore's store has a good supply of local produce. Good restaurants nearby include Vaima and Yellow Hibiscous. There are many evening cultural shows with dinner on the island. One of the best, Highland Paradise, is nearby.

The Lagoon Breeze Villas would be a good selection for divers, couples, or people with pre-teen children.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
You definitely got the essence of the Cooks! Thank you so much for your informative review of Lagoon Breeze Villas and Rarotonga. You obviously found getting out and about very easy and you certainly took advantage of the sites and restaurants on the island. In Rarotonga, the whole island is your resort, so even if you have a self catering villa you can also enjoy the many wonderful eateries/activities on the island. Garth and I are thrilled you enjoyed your villa and hope to see you again soon. Regards Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    42
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
58
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Gorgeous place to stay, it is just across the road from "the best snorkeling beach in rarotonga" according to some other couples who had snorkeled all over the world. Vicki in the office is a star, she is super friendly, and willing to suggest tours as well as give honest reviews about them - all you have to do is ask. While we were there we had a great group of people from different parts of the world, soon over happy hour they became friends and the villa's became like a family away from home. The villa's are a generous size, there is an air conditioner in the main bedroom and it is equipped with basic cooking necessities.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about our staff. They all glowed with pride when we showed them your review. Garth and I want our guests to remember Lagoon Breeze Villas for it's friendliness and home away from home experience. Breakfast and Happy Hour are a lovely way to meet knew people and make friends. We do hope you will join us again at Lagoon Breeze Villas in the near future. Regards Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great location. Beautiful resort. I think it has the nicest gardens on the island. Clean, comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Beautiful generous and fresh tropical breakfast. Convenient that the lagoon was so close by (just across the road). And maybe a 3 minute walk to a great snorkeling location. Yes, Fruits of Rarotonga/Muri beach have the nice sandy beach and it's about a 15 minute drive there; however, the snorkeling in the lagoon across from the resort was much better!

Vicki was very helpful, and had lots of recommendations of things to do, and we loved everything she had us do!

Yes, the roosters could be annoying at first, but I got used to them and never even noticed them after a few days. (It's the same pretty much all over the island).

Loved Coco and friends (the dog and 2 cats) who were very friendly.

Despite the rain the first couple of days, we had no real issues with mosquitoes - kept the door closed, and wore mosquito repellent in the evenings when out, but didn't find them any different than what I am used to at home. We didn't even use the mosquito coils that were provided.

We had a garden studio and it was clean and tidy and it was nice having a kitchenette for when we wanted a simple meal in. I found the rooms to be adequate, however I hear they will be upgraded in the near future so am anxious to see how they look the next time we visit.

Pool was refreshing. Lots of equipment available for use.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room "10" was perfectly located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Kia Orana and thank you for your wonderful comments about the properties gardens and facilities. We are especially lucky that our beach is situated on the beautiful Aroa Marine Reserve and therefore offers a beautiful array of colourful fish straight off the beach. Our staff have been with the property for many years and pride themselves on their personal service and even our gardeners enjoy explaining about all the plants they lovingly nurture. You are right about the upgrade, we have already completed a soft refurbishment throughout all room categories, however the bathrooms in the Garden Studios and 1 Bedroom Villas will definitely be upgraded over the next month, so next time you visit you will notice the difference. Until next time, Meitaki Maata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I staqyed at Lgoon Breeze Villas in Feb 2013. They made it a wondeerful experience. Vikki, Jamie the rest of the staff were helpful and friendly, and had excellent information about the island. They also had great suggestions about local activities and eating, and booked on our behalf. We were pleased with the accommodation (and the roosters kept their distance). We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Perhaps, choose a romm away from the roosters?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
The team at Lagoon Breeze Villas are thrilled you have taken the time to comment on their personal service and hospitality. We all strive to give our guests a memorable stay at Lagoon Breeze Villas. We do hope to have the opportunity to look after you again soon.
Regards Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Vikki in the office is awesome and all the staff are welcoming and friendly. Loved Coco and the cats dropping in for a visit. Found the rooms to be cool, comfortable and clean and well priced.
During my stay I was in the 2 level villa which was really nice and I was just a short stroll to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your accommodation in the 2 Bedroom Polynesian Villa. Our family of pets love the guests too and enjoy all the attention. We hope you will visit us again soon. Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have just come back from a week at here and found the accommodation to be good. Units were clean and tidy and had everything we were looking for in a self catering unit. We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit and this had air con in both bedrooms which was great.
The only thing I would say it if you are going for a relaxing holiday then take earplugs as the roosters that live on the grounds start crowing from about 4am which woke us every morning, apart from that it was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled you found the 2 Bedroom Polynesian villas comfortable. We look forward to your return in the future.
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were wondering if there would be any problems with our complimentary pick-up from the airport as we flew in on a small inter-island flight rather than the more usual international one, but we were picked up and dropped right at our villa - check-in at the front office when you are ready - a very relaxed approach.

We were in Villa 14 towards the back of the property and it was extremely roomy and comfortable. Probably about 3 & a half star, nudging 4 star quality in my view. Very comfortable bed, fully equipped kitchenette and plenty of space to spread out. Not a huge amount of cupboard space, but a good amount of hanging space in the main bedroom. Since there were 2 extra single beds in the main part of the villa that we weren't using we just opened our cases up on those.

The main bedroom is air conditioned (set to 25C) - the nights were a bit cooler than that when we were there so we didn't have it on, just used the ceiling fan.

Bathroom was fairly large, with a separate toilet and a wet area style shower. Bathroom seemed to be the only part of the villa that hadn't been refurbished fairly recently.

We particularly enjoyed meeting the other guests at the included breakfast and at the 4.30pm "happy hour" when cocktails were on offer - very generous measures in those cocktails!

A couple of cafes & restaurants close by and the bus stop is right outside the property. Good snorkelling right across the road and the marine reserve stars about 200 metres along the beach.

Vicky, the office manager was very helpful with advice on what to see & do & arranging things. All the staff were very friendly and helpful - happy to chat if you showed an interest in doing so. Even have friendly cats & dog on site!

WiFi internet for a fee. TV in the breakfast area, but only on at breakfast & cocktail time.

A very quiet place to stay* (* if you don't mind feral roosters and barking geckos)

A great base to enjoy Rarotonga, I'd be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We thank you for your review and generous star rating. The 1 Bedroom Villa you stayed in is very popular with couples and small families who enjoy the space. Your comments on the bathroom are correct we are currently upgrading all the bathrooms in this room category to reflect the rest of the refurbishments. Again thank you and we look forward to having you stay again. Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lagoon Breeze Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Breeze Villas

Address: Main Road, Aroa | Rarotonga, Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Lagoon Lodges)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lagoon Breeze Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagoon Breeze Villas is a self catering property located on the south‐west coast of Rarotonga. The 3.5 acre property offers 18 spacious villas set in a lush garden setting, just across the road from its own stunning white sand beach. The villas present spacious home away from home living with full kitchens and air conditioning. The Breakfast Cafe serves daily tropical breakfast and provides a happy hour bar service in the evenings. The fresh water swimming pool with a smaller paddling pool for young children provides a quiet spot to relax. Lagoon Breeze Villas is a great option for families, couples and groups of friends seeking a safe, secluded and self catering accommodation on Rarotonga. The property is located just a few minutes walk from shops, restaurants and the nearby mini-putt golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Lagoon Breeze Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Breeze Villas Hotel Arorangi
Lagoon Breeze Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lagoon Breeze Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.