We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable base for a Rarotonga holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lagoon Breeze Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lagoon Breeze Villas to your Saves list
Lagoon Breeze Villas
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Main Road, Aroa | Rarotonga, Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Lagoon Lodges)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“Very comfortable base for a Rarotonga holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were wondering if there would be any problems with our complimentary pick-up from the airport as we flew in on a small inter-island flight rather than the more usual international one, but we were picked up and dropped right at our villa - check-in at the front office when you are ready - a very relaxed approach.

We were in Villa 14 towards the back of the property and it was extremely roomy and comfortable. Probably about 3 & a half star, nudging 4 star quality in my view. Very comfortable bed, fully equipped kitchenette and plenty of space to spread out. Not a huge amount of cupboard space, but a good amount of hanging space in the main bedroom. Since there were 2 extra single beds in the main part of the villa that we weren't using we just opened our cases up on those.

The main bedroom is air conditioned (set to 25C) - the nights were a bit cooler than that when we were there so we didn't have it on, just used the ceiling fan.

Bathroom was fairly large, with a separate toilet and a wet area style shower. Bathroom seemed to be the only part of the villa that hadn't been refurbished fairly recently.

We particularly enjoyed meeting the other guests at the included breakfast and at the 4.30pm "happy hour" when cocktails were on offer - very generous measures in those cocktails!

A couple of cafes & restaurants close by and the bus stop is right outside the property. Good snorkelling right across the road and the marine reserve stars about 200 metres along the beach.

Vicky, the office manager was very helpful with advice on what to see & do & arranging things. All the staff were very friendly and helpful - happy to chat if you showed an interest in doing so. Even have friendly cats & dog on site!

WiFi internet for a fee. TV in the breakfast area, but only on at breakfast & cocktail time.

A very quiet place to stay* (* if you don't mind feral roosters and barking geckos)

A great base to enjoy Rarotonga, I'd be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We thank you for your review and generous star rating. The 1 Bedroom Villa you stayed in is very popular with couples and small families who enjoy the space. Your comments on the bathroom are correct we are currently upgrading all the bathrooms in this room category to reflect the rest of the refurbishments. Again thank you and we look forward to having you stay again. Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    45
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
69
61
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Lagoon Breeze villas for our wedding anniversary and had such a great time. It was our first time to Raro so we didn't know where was the best beaches etc. but we were really happy with the location as it was just across the road from such a nice beach & the lagoon in my opinion had the best snorkelling on the island - not too shallow. The pool was really nice too, just laid on the sun loungers, swam & read books - was very relaxing! We had a studio room which was really clean & had everything we needed. The staff were super friendly as well :) we can't wait to come and stay again! Thanks

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
The management and staff thank you for your lovely comments and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have just returned from six nights at Lagoon Breeze Villas, and we were really impressed with the resort and would definitely recommend it if you want a relaxing holiday and it's a great place for families (although it's not overun with children). Last year we stayed at Muri Beach Resort and Lagoon Breeze Villas was much better. We had the two bedroom villa (single story) which was spacious and well equipped. We loved the big covered deck to relax in the shade and enjoy our drinks and meals. The pool was lovely, nice and clean and a great set up for young children with a paddling pool next to the main pool plus two wide steps for children to play on. Lots of loungers, seats and umbrellas were available. Plus the endless supply of beach towels and well maintained snorkelling gear was great (and much better than other places we've stayed). The included continental breakfast was excellent and nice and fresh each day. The staff were very friendly, except Tui! The beach across the road was nice and quiet and provided great snorkelling and paddle boarding. We will definitely be back again. It was the most relaxing holiday we've ever had!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments we are thrilled and proud you had such a memorable stay. We look forward to looking after you all again soon. Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Outstanding budget-friendly accommodation in the garden studio unit. Great location with a nice beach across the road. Far enough away from the tourist hub of Muri but 10 minutes' bike ride away if that's your thing. Get the mask and snorkel out - the reef is top drawer. Bus stop outside; bike hire five minutes' walk away. One of those places where, once you've stayed there, you won't need to go looking for other places on future trips.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
It is great to hear you enjoyed our side of the island. You are right we do have some of the best snorkeling on the island as we are on the Aroa Marine Reserve. Sometimes you are the only people on the beach and the kayaking is great. Garth and I appreciate your comments and we especially love to read that we were able to satisfy all your needs. We look forward to a visit from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We've just got back from 6 nights at Lagoon Breeze Villas - our 6th visit to Rarotonga and we always stay here. Each time we have planned a visit we think about staying somewhere else, but inevitably we come back to Lagoon Breeze, for a number of reasons: the friendly welcoming staff, the beautiful gardens, lovely pool, high standard of accommodation (not luxurious but very comfortable, well designed and with everything you need to self cater), and its excellent location. Swimming and snorkelling nearby is the best in the island we think! Add the sunsets and that is why we just keep coming back :-)

Room Tip: Villas nearer the beach are more spacious and have lovely decks, but all have at least a small deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your continured support of lagoon Breeze Villas. Garth and I are working hard to improve the property so that when our return guests visit they leave with a renewed passion for the property and Rarotonga. We look forward to seeing you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Awesome spot, very friendly environment, was over with a large group and so very glad we were lucky enough to stay at lagoon breeze villas. Had our own free standing two bedroom with its own deck etc- far better than being cramped up in the larger resorts!! Friendly staff, free use of snorkelling gear etc - we loved it! Thanks again Debbie , Garth, Vicky and the rest of the team- out first raro experience was great. We will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. Garth and I are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in our 2 Bedroom Ground Level Polynesian Villa. We have just replaced the bench tops in the kitchen and we will be putting in a new bathroom and repainting inside over then next month. By the time you come back the villa will look all new and refreshed. We look forward to having you stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This motel is located in one of the best beach of Rarotonga. The motel is tidy but outdated. We enjoyed there, because of the quiet atmosphere and the friendly service. The transportation is very convenient, as the bus stop is just by the side maid road of the motel.We loved the snorkeling in the sea, there are lots of tropical fishes in the beautiful lagoon(marine reserve).There are not many restaurant around this motel, but if you are not fussy about food, you can go to the neighbor hotel restaurant (the Rarotangan resort and spa). I won't recommend the take away restaurant next door, the food is not good and also not cheap! Overall, we had a really good time in Arorangi( I think it is better than Muri beach, quieter and better snorkeling!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Yes we are lucky that our private beach is located right on the Aroa Marine Reserve and therefore it is a wonderful spot for snorkeling, kayaking and swimming. Unfortunately your stay was just prior to the soft refurb we have nearly completed in all the rooms, which will give the rooms a more modern, light and refreshing facelift. Again, updated bathrooms are on our list of priorities. With regard to takeways, there are two in very close proximaty to us, one is better than other, however we highly recommend Coco Putt, which has a great restaurant open for lunch and dinner and it is only 5 minutes walk. Many local restaurants are happy to pick our guests up for a minimal fee offering an alternative to cooking in. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lagoon Breeze Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Breeze Villas

Address: Main Road, Aroa | Rarotonga, Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Lagoon Lodges)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lagoon Breeze Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagoon Breeze Villas is a self catering property located on the south‐west coast of Rarotonga. The 3.5 acre property offers 18 spacious villas set in a lush garden setting, just across the road from its own stunning white sand beach. The villas present spacious home away from home living with full kitchens and air conditioning. The Breakfast Cafe serves daily tropical breakfast and provides a happy hour bar service in the evenings. The fresh water swimming pool with a smaller paddling pool for young children provides a quiet spot to relax. Lagoon Breeze Villas is a great option for families, couples and groups of friends seeking a safe, secluded and self catering accommodation on Rarotonga. The property is located just a few minutes walk from shops, restaurants and the nearby mini-putt golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lagoon Breeze Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Breeze Villas Hotel Arorangi
Lagoon Breeze Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lagoon Breeze Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.