We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Edgewater Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Arorangi
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My partner and I recently went to Edgewater Resort for some time out. We were on the third floor looking out over the lagoon. It was amazing. The continental breakfast that was part of the deal called (my time) was delicious and we got to eat it out looking out over the lagoon. The service was great and nothing was a problem. Food was delicious and you were able to also rent scooters and bikes right at the resort. The place was kid friendly and there were plenty of activities to do through the day if you wanted to. I definitely will be going back, probably next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor as you get a fantastic view in the garden rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Kia Orana atreeby
Thank you for taking the time and posting your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your view from your room being right on the beachfront and hope while you were here you got to see some whales swim by while sitting on your deck. The breakfast is a highlight for many of our guests also with our fruits, muffins and variation of breads and cereals. The activities team love interacting with our guests and showing the many cultural activities we have available.
We hope in the near future you can return and stay with us again.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    349
    158
    60
    48
See reviews for
253
355
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My partner and I have recently returned from a 7 night stay at the Edgewater. We were in a garden view room, which we expected to have an "okay' view. In fact the view was much better than expected as we were in the complex behind the pool area on the top floor so we could see the sea. The rooms were clean and tidy and perfect for what we needed. We found the staff really friendly and really enjoyed the various activities the resort put on - especially the fish feeding and snorkeling. A lot of people prefer Muri beach, however when we were there there were strong southern winds so Muri wasn't that great. Edgewater however was extremely sheltered and we found had better snorkeling right outside the resort. The restaurant and bar was great and we liked that it was quite open. We even got to view humpback whales from the dining area at breakfast and dinner!! All in all we would definitely recommend Edgewater and will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Kia Orana holls87
Thank you for taking the time to post your fantastic review. Our activities are designed to cater for all age groups and we are glad that you enjoyed the fish feeding, snorkeling, and experiencing the friendliness of our staff. You are very lucky to have encountered humpback whales while seating at the restaurant on the beachfront, and with the reef being so close you can get a superb view of the whales. We hope you decide to come back and stay with us in the near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 8 nights and loved it! We stayed in a beach front deluxe unit which was large and clean and an awesome view to wake up to each day. Every meal we had was really nice, you couldn't fault it and the service was great. Breakfast was good and who wouldn't be happy eating breakfast outside with a view of the gorgeous lagoon! Any staff that we encountered were helpful and friendly, and having the Polynesian rentals on site to book activities was a bonus. Totally recommend Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruises and Te Vara Nui village island night. This was our first trip to Rarotonga and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Kia Orana ktp60890
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your holiday experience with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, with your gorgeous sea views from your room, to your tropical breakfast. We are very lucky to be situated on the western side of the island, where we have beautiful sunsets. We hope you decide to come back and visit our shores.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at this resort. It is possibly the biggest on the Island. A little older but well kept and very clean. The cleaners and general staff all know their roles and do a top job. Has a lovely beach and pool with Island shows and many other activities. You never get bored at this place. On the sheltered side of the Island so always pleasant. The only problem was the air-con which did not work very well so got rather hot at night. The hotel restaurant is one of the best. I have tried most of them over the years in Rarotonga but eating at edgewater is great value with an all day menu and it changes constantly. There is entertainment most nights as well. Even though I hired a car to go out at night it stayed parked up because the resort was so good.A nice complimentary breakfast was appreciated every morning also. Maybe a drawback is that there are lots of people but lots of fun on the other hand makes this a great place and the rates are good.

Room Tip: Get a superior garden room. Cheaper and cooler yet close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Kia Orana thirtyfour
We thank you for posting your fantastic review, while you stayed with us here at, The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are glad that you enjoyed our famous island night, the daily cultural activities we have organised for our guests, and your dining experience at our restaurant, thanks for also acknowledging our staff as we take pride in our friendly island hospitality. We appreciate you making mention on the air con unit in your room we would like to contact you to get more information so we can get this rectified. We look forward to welcoming you back to our shores in the near future .
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for 6 days (booked and paid for 5 but a flight delay gave us a 6th day at Air NZ's cost) and had a fantastic time.

Our Garden Superior room was spacious and comfortable and having a fridge was very handy. The air-con was rather loud, but effective. We turned it off at the unit at night and slept with just the ceiling fan which was much quieter. It is recommended to boil water or to buy bottled - we used the jug to boil ours. The bed had some sort of design to specially transmit and amplify every movement across to your sleeping partner, resulting in some disturbed sleep, but it is only 3 1/2 star and we weren't expecting 5 star luxury! The Beachfront rooms had better views but nowhere is more than a minute or so walk to the beach, and the garden rooms offer some very nice quiet secluded locations (although hubby was woken by the roosters).

Almost all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately one staff member in the restaurant was consistently grumpy. eg while having dinner at indoor seating in the restaurant we approached her and asked if we could get a menu. She waved towards the outdoor seating and said "they're on the tables outside." We went for a look outside but there were no menus on any of the nearby tables there either. We eventually borrowed one off another diner.

However this woman was the exception and everyone else was fantastic.

Breakfast was good with a selection of cereals (ricies, cornflakes, cocoa pops, weet bix, two types of museli and a couple of others) and fruit (mostly looked to be out of tins but some was fresh), yoghurt, one type of muffin (different each day), bread/toast, and juices. There were probably hot drinks available although I didn't notice. Sometimes there was a lack of cutlery but this was always quickly rectified on approaching the staff. Other meals at the on site restaurant were also OK although I didn't think anything was fantastic except for the wedges and smoothies. The other restaurant on site, the Spaghetti House, was pretty good and we ate there a couple of times.

We didn't swim in the pool, which was usually occupied by kids while the adults relaxed at the restaurant tables nearby. The kids were certainly having a good time.

It was very handy having Polynesian Rentals right on site. We took a scooter out on three different days to explore the island. Except for a few small grocery/liquor shops and some restaurants there is not a lot in walking distance of Edgewater, although we enjoyed a walk up Hospital Hill.

The beach was fantastic for snorkelling and watching fish, with loads of colourful tropical species within 5 metres of the waterline. It wasn't all that far out to the reef and the end of the swimming area, and at low tide most of the swimming area was quite shallow (about waist depth; I am 160cm). (We also tried out a beach at the western end of the south coast which had more room for swimming and also lots of fish, although you had to go a little bit further out to find them. Both were better than Muri Beach in our opinion, where we saw virtually no fish until we got out past the islands. However Muri did offer more in the way of other activities eg kayak and SUP hire and lagoon/snorkelling tours.)

Overall we had a great trip and if returning to Rarotonga I would certainly consider staying at Edgewater again.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room away from the bar and pool if this is important to you. They host a lot of wedd...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Kia Orana Sam5697
We thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor while you stayed with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. Our garden superior room you stayed in is nestled in our tropical gardens, with not more than a five minute walk to our lagoon from your room that is filled with colorful fish as you experienced while snorkeling in front of the resort, and having a variation of room categories that cater for all budgets, if you would like to experience the lagoon views your next stay with us. Our staff as you advised are happy and welcoming with an exception of one staff member, this will be discussed this with our staff, to ensure our team provides the hospitality we are known for.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our shores.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is our 4th time back and what a disappointment! We love this resort and that is why we keep coming back. We arrived at 4.30am and were barely greeted at reception, first day we waited 3/4 hour our tuna steak salad lunch only to find out the waiter hadn't even put our order in! (When it finally arrived it was yum though however we ordered again for dinner the next night and had to send it back as it wasn't cooked properly and was horrible plus only half a steak each, only to have the same steaks returned overcooked!). On 2 occasions we ordered coffee and had to wait for over 1/2 hour first time as staff who took order went on break and didn't put our order in first, and then second time 20 min wait in a near empty restaurant! The staff mostly seem uninterested and unhappy - not like we are used to. I am all for greeting in the wonderful island way - Kia Orana. However mostly this was returned with Hello or Hi ... where has the island spirit gone from this resort???!!! Housekeeping was fantastic and a big thankyou to our housekeeper Vaine - she always greeted us with the biggest of smiles and lovely warm Kia Orana! Fab to see that our lovely friend Tiki Daniels is still Activity's Director and doing an awesome job as per usual (with his wonderful greeting of "Welcome Home" to us)!! Lovely to catch up again with Lina and her friendly helpful manner and the lovely William who is always so lovely. Lia is new to the resort but she definitely did her best to make sure that when she was around we got the service, smile, friendliness and warmth that we were accustomed to from Edgewater. The warmth has gone from the tropics!! Bring it back PLEASE!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get put in the 9000 or 900 block - the 4000 block is lovely and so are the 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Kia Orana WaikatoBorn
Thank you for posting your review while staying with us again, and this being your fourth visit to our shores, we consider you part of the, Edgewater family. We appreciate you bringing to our attention the service received while dining at the restaurant as we do take this seriously and will look into this further with our management team, we want everyone leaving our shores knowing that they had experienced our great hospitality, that you received from Tiki, Vaine, Lina and Lia as mentioned in your review. We look forward to hosting you again, and would like to ask if you are registered in our Coral Club. Please contact us to register if you are not already a member.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here, the room was basic but clean. The beach was nice and the snorkling was very good too. They have plenty of activities to enjoy at the resort. The staff are friendly. If your in the NZDF or police take advantage of the extra deal the resort offers found on their website.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Kia Orana MeianA
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, experiencing all the fun cultural activities we have to offer as well interacting with our friendly staff. Our rooms are well serviced by our housekeeping team, and we have a variation of room categories that are suitable for all budgets.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our shores in the near future
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.