We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Edgewater Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great family resort.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed recently in a Garden Room. While the bathroom was a little dated the room was a great size, the outlook wonderful. Our son and his family were staying in the Oneroa Villas overlooking the wedding "square". A wonderful place for kids... saw our grandchildren at meal time. The activities for the kids were, for the most part, an education in themselves.
Our only negative - it can get a bit noisy at night when guests sit out on their balconies after 10pm talking loudly. Sound does carry by the water and we had several nights of disturbed sleep due to inconsiderate guests talking loudly. A noise policy would have improved our stay and would not be unexpected in areas where families are sleeping.

Room Tip: A lagoon room would be preferable as you wouldn't get the noise of 2am passengers arriving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Kia Orana Tokeraunana
We appreciate you taking the time for posting your comments on tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday here with your family, and the kids club is a highlight for the children when they come here, interacting with our staff and other children travelling with our many activities we have in place . With our noise policies we do have a noise restriction in place and only need to have our front office notified.
We do hope in the near future you return to our shores
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    366
    163
    62
    49
See reviews for
261
366
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Edgewater for our son in laws 40th birthday there were 16 of us. We stayed in the 3 bedroom villas which were very spacious but the some of the furnishings a bit dated. We were told our linen would be changed every 3 days but in our villa we only had one change in 9 days. The staff were friendly but lacking in supervision and the dining area could do with a bit of TLC. The food was good particularly the buffets, happy hour with half price cocktails was sometimes a bit of a bun fight with the staff run off their feet but it was still service with a smile. Overall we had a great time and will go back.

Room Tip: The 3 bedroom villas are ideal for families as the are fully self contained and as is it says only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Kia Orana TwosomeT
We thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us and being in the three bedroom villas that is fully self contained for families is your home away from home. We appreciate your comments regarding the linen change in your villa and will be sure to discuss this further with our housekeeping team. Our buffets are a highlight for many guests as well as the cocktail hour, this is our busiest time at the restaurant and the staff do try their best to provide speedy service. We do hope you enjoyed the fabulous sunsets we get while drinking your cocktail and enjoying the overlapping waves on the beach.
We hope to see you and your family in the near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We upgraded to a lagoon view as our travel agent told us the garden view rooms were terrible and were very pleased we did. Room was basic, no frills (good sized bathroom though) but the view from the balcony was stunning - the water was right there in front of us and the sunsets were absolutely stunning.

Place had everything that you would expect in a 3 star resort so no surprises. It was all a bit tired - chipped paving, scruffy chairs but you get what you pay for! We enjoyed the happy hour and funnily enough the restaurant menu was a lot less expensive then some of the local restaurants. We receommend The Spaghetti House as well at the end of the drive for a good atmosphere and a well priced Italian(y) meal.

Breakfast was incredibly basic and if you turned up after 9 it was usually well picked over and the staff didn;t seem to be coping with replenshing the food. You would think that they had worked out by now what they needed. If you asked for anything diffferent, we found the staff would melt away and not reappear until you had left - without whatever you had asked for!

Front desk generally unhelpful - just going through the motions. Great opportunity lost to promote Raro activites and really make the guests feel at home and relaxed. There was the odd exception with the staff - our housekeeper (from Fiji) was extremely friendly and chatty - thank you.

I fell off my scooter and badly grazed my arm and leg. My dughter went to the Front Desk for some first aid - a funny old tin appeared and she was offered 3 plasters and a tube of antiseptic to borrow! Needless to say we used it all so I'm sorry for the next person who truned up looking for some help. We were staggered that there wasn't more concern and a better stocked kit.

Snorkel gear was generally falling apart - I was given 2 left feet reef shoes in the first day with holes in the toes and a snorkel that was leaking. My daughter was OK though - her gear worked and we did enjoy the shorkelling off the beach at high tide - better than elsewhere around the island.

Overall we loved Raro and will definitely go back. It's great for a shrot haul break, not expensive and so laid back you just have to relax! We would probably try another hotel - pay a little more or even a self contained chalet but we would go back to Edgewater if the price was right as we know what we are getting.

Room Tip: Defintely ask and pay for a lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Kia Orana Annabel L
We thank Annabel L for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are very pleased that overall you enjoyed their holiday on Rarotonga, along with the resorts lagoon views and the amazing sunsets. We are always trying to improve our systems and standards whether it be in food & beverage, housekeeping or activities, so we appreciate your feedback and take it all very seriously, we worry about our guests driving scooters and our first aid kits are equipped with basic supplies for minor injures, not that of wounds from an accident, with more serious injuries sustained we prefer to transfer our guests to the hospital and would of been more than happy to assist in hospital transfers. Once again thanks for taking the time for posting your review and hope in the near future we welcome you back to our shores.
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

When our group arrived at the Edgewater (at 2 in the morning) the staff were very friendly but our rooms had all been booked miles apart, which at that time of the morning was a huge ordeal and we weren't very impressed. However, as advised, we went to reception in the morning and spoke to the duty manager who then explained the situation and kindly moved us all into the same block of units on the ground level as requested. So the only hiccup we had our entire trip was quickly and happily sorted out the morning of our arrival - we even had help from the staff to shift all of our belongings. The rest of our stay was fantastic!! All of the staff were super friendly and helpful - whether they be a cleaner, restaurant/bar staff, reception - everyone had a smile on their face and were only too happy to help. Some of the staff even got to know us by name and could recall what each of our drink preferences were!! Our rooms were always cleaned to a high standard, the food is great, the entertainment/themed nights are awesome, lovely beach with some of the best snorkelling, very social restaurant/bar area where we met some great new friends. We cant wait to go back and stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Kia Orana LadyThomo
We thank you for your review posting of The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We thrive on hospitality and were only to happy to oblige with your group request, and dealt with this as soon as it was raised to the front office. Our staff are helpful and friendly and this is a reason why many guests return back to our shores. We are happy to have hosted you and your group and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Edgewater Resort & Spa in the near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I travelled to the Edgewater Resort in August with my son and his wife and my two grandchildren. We stayed in a garden villa, huge 3 bedroom bungalow with a large private yard. Overall the staff were extremely friendly, the food good and resort clean. The dinner show/buffet was excellent. Enjoyed snorkelling in the lagoon and amazed at all the beautiful fish. What a beautiful place to relax and unwind. Can hardly wait to return with my husband and stay in a beach view room..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Kia orana mariegAlberta
We appreciate you posting your review of The Edgewater Resort & Spa, and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay, indulging in our beautiful snorkeling in front of the resort and participating in our famous Island Night Show & Dinner. We look forward to hosting you back on our shores when you return in the near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Edgewater at the end of August to attend our son's wedding. And firstly I must congratulate the staff involved in arranging the event. The day was beautiful (as was the weather) and flowed in a casual and relaxed way up to and including the marriage ceremony. The resort would be perfect for families, though the pool is a little on the small side, the lagoon is gorgeous and the snorkelling excellent, although the equipment available maybe not so good. I would recommend a Lagoon View Room as the view is incredible. I also recommend Room 2005 as this was spacious with at least a queen or king size bed and chairs and a sofa, also a writing desk. Another couple had a room that was cramped as it included a double bed, single bed, divan bed, and no desk. Perhaps better for a family than just two people. The daily room service was a bit hit and miss, but the ladies were so happy and friendly it didn't really matter too much. I was disappointed with the restaurant and thought the breakfast average. The meals at night sometimes cold, late arriving and bland. I also noticed that a few of the waitresses and bar men glum and not open and friendly. However, I thought that Spaghetti House was excellent and would recommend a visit. Overall ?? 3.5 out of 5. Location 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Kia Orana 408MichelleG
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We love weddings at the Edgewater Resort & Spa, and hosting your sons wedding was a pleasure for all our staff, we like to make our couples and family members have a relaxed, easy and comfortable environment. Our many room catergories cater for all budgets. The views from our Lagoon and Beachfront rooms are lovely, however all rooms have access to the beach shore line for everyone to enjoy. Our staff are happy and cheerful and thanks for advising of the few staff you encountered were glum and your meal being cold, we will be sure to discuss this with our food & beverage staff, and thank you for your feedback this is much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our shores.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Everything was perfectly adequate here; it's a busy complex and well suited to families. Our room was away from the pool area so nice and quiet. Spacious, basic but fine. The food was ok, we only ate there for breakfast, one dinner and a snack. The location was handy to airport and town; beach a bit rocky but the northern end a bit sandier. The pool wasn't that warm so only a few brave souls and kids were using it. All fine but if you're after luxury then one of the others may suit better. I had a spa/massage which again was fine though not the luxury the brochure pictures show!! Just watch the phone charges if you call NZ, the reception staff didn't give me the right info and I got a hefty bill (which I insisted they refund, they did refund part of the cost but not all and weren't that happy about it). Nice restful break.

Room Tip: The beach front ones have superb views but nearer the pool are noisier. Tradeoff beween quiet and vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Kia Orana ElaineDawn2013
Thank you for posting your review on Edgewater Resort & Spa, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us here on Rarotonga. Our location is great being close to our main town of Avarua, and the airport, also the great proximity of restaurants and shops within walking distance, the snorkeling in our rocky lagoon is great with the multitude of various fish and sea urchins for all to enjoy. We are glad the international phone charge that was brought to our attention was rectified and look forward to hosting you at, The Edgewater Resort & Spa in the near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.