We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rarotonga Memories ((-:” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Edgewater Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Arorangi
Wairoa, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rarotonga Memories ((-:”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our small family stayed at the Edgewater resort in June & stayed in the Lagoon view room. This is the first time we have visited a tropical island & were overwhelmed by the beautiful beaches & lovely warm weather that greeted us on our arrival. We loved the resort, it was everything we expected. It was soooo neat to have everything just within metres of our room..pool, restaurant, bar, activities, "COCONUT CLUB", vehicle & scooter hirage, public transport AND we can't forget the SPECTACULAR LAGOON for swimming & snorkling. Our Children LOVED the coconut club & the breakfast!!!. I decided to do one activity on our last day & thoroughly enjoyed it & wished I had of attended more. There is so much to do at the resort that you could spend a couple of days without stepping a foot out the boundaries & have a fun packed time!. However on a few occasions when we required information from staff we felt like we were brushed off, or felt like they would not going out of their way to help us which I found very surprising & frustrating!, BUT there are loads of helpful, efficient & caring staff that you soon forget the dramas.
We ate at the restaurant a few times & found it nice but it can became expensive if you had to eat there every night. We found the roadside stalls selling food a real winner. We sampled some pretty delicious food at these stalls which we took back to our room for dinner. My favourite would have to be the a family selling umu (hangi version) out the front of their house about 1.5 - 2km down from edgewater every Wednesday 4pm for $10, complete meal for 2 adults (pork & chicked falling off the bone, island veges & a sachet of coconut cream..beautiful...) or my partners favourite the roadhouse which is about 100 metres up the road from edgewater $5 burger & $4 beers.
All I can say is forget your NZ ways & relax & remember your on island time!. We have decided to go back there again next year... I LOVED this place!

Room Tip: This trip was our first, we stayed in a lagoon view overlooking the lagoon not the pool (Atutaki blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    338
    151
    56
    47
See reviews for
244
341
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

And older but still popular hotel.
After our room was upgraded from the average garden room to a beach front view, we were much happier. Service was ok, but not too overly smily, but the staff were curteous. Not a luxury hotel but good enough base for exploring. Beach was nice, but the nicest beach part was in front of the beach front rooms. Hotel is not too far from the main town, about 15min scooter ride, hiring a scooter is a must and is alot of fun!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My partner and I went to Rarotonga for the first time recently. We stayed 5 nights at the Edgewater Resort and loved it. We are both 24. We arrived at the resort and were welcomed by friendly staff and shown to our room. We stayed in a Lagoon View room very close to the restaurant. We loved this room, we could sit on the balcony overlooking the pool and restaurant area and also had the most stunning view of the lagoon and ocean. The noise didn't bother us, it was quiet most of the time but we enjoyed feeling like we were in the middle of what was going on. The water by the resort is stunning (don't forget reef shoes). Lots of comfy chairs for sunbathing and absolutely stunning sunsets from this resort. Get in early to hire snorkel equipment on good weather days or you may have to wait a while. We were impressed with the standard of the room, it had absolutely everything we needed and was very clean. We found the bed to be very comfortable. The shower was great too. It was nice to have a TV with a selection of good channels for the one night we were too exhausted to go out. The food at the resort was delicious, loved the beef burger and prices are really affordable although drinks are weirdly expensive (fizzy drinks). The staff were all lovely and the activities hut staff were especially funny. Great bus service from the resort every hour and if you're lucky you will have the hilarious bus driver who talks over a microphone. We had several great games of tennis, table tennis and pool in the games room. The snorkelling outside the resort was amazing, we also went to Muri and found that Edgewater was a lot less windy and the fish were just as great. Free snorkel gear and beach towels is great. We loved the happy hour cocktails and found the breakfast to be fantastic - the bread was delicious and loved the abundance of paw paw!! The only thing that wasn't quite as good as we hoped was the massage we booked (anti stress massage). The health and beauty spa isn't very nice inside and the massages were not the best but maybe we should have gone for the more relaxing aromatherapy massage. If we could go back in time we would have gone to orientation as we missed out on a lot of good tips and finding out what was going on different days (we missed the party bus on Wed night which we would have loved). Also a good idea to book all activities very early, i.e. the first day you arrive as they book up fast (we did Koka Lagoon cruise and Raro safari tour on 4wd which were both AMAZING) and we missed out on a quad biking which we were keen to do. We also didn't book the Island night on Tuesday which was a buffet off Island food and a drumming show so we missed out on sitting in the dining room to watch the performance which was disappointing - so definitely BOOK everything early!! Also a good idea to buy a concession bus pass on the first day, we ended up just paying for all the bus trips which was a bit silly on our part. Overall we absolutely loved Edgewater and will definitely return again next year! After looking around the rest of the Island we felt lucky to be where we were at it really seemed to be one of the nicest places. Whenever we came back from town it felt like coming home! If you are young and looking for a party place, this isn't really it. The guests were mostly families but they had night life tours on Wed and Fri for when you want to party!

We loved Edgewater!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were concerned to read the very negative review (posted by TRing_13 on 2nd July) about how poorly the visitor described his/her stay. My husband and I (in our sixties) recently returned from three weeks at Edgewater and are keen to get back next year. Last year we spent ten days in a garden room and upgraded this year to a beautifully fresh, beachfront villa on the third floor due to my suffering with severe asthma from being close to the damp ground which can predispose some garden rooms to becoming musty. If the visitor had any concerns about their accommodation, they only needed to call Reception, especially asking to speak to a Duty Manager, for friendly and very helpful attention. Sheets at Edgewater are generous in size but are tucked under the end of the mattress rather than folded over at the top. As for pillows, everyone has different preferences and needs. I always travel with my own pillow due to a neck problem, while my husband asks for a thick pillow if there is none in the room or uses two thinner ones placed on top of each other. Mattresses are spring-based at Edgewater and will move under body weight, or two people sleeping near each other. They are not firm, latex or pillow-topped. As for bed bugs, there are none! Any bites might be from a stray mosquito that follows you into your room. In the tropics, it is always wise to pack personal insect repellent. There is also a fast knockdown, low irritant insect spray in every room at Edgewater as there are tiny ants around (keep food and drink covered or in the fridge) but are not a sign of poor cleanliness, just Nature. We were shocked to read about the criticism of the breakfast, a well-known highlight of a stay at Edgewater. With their mounds of freshly baked muffins, assorted (dark rye, fruit, white and gluten free) breads, variety of spreads, heaps of cereals, and the loaded tropical and canned fruit bay with yogurt and Burcher muesli, teas, brewed coffee and juices, no one can reasonably complain about lack of variety or tastelessness. Of course, you can have all of this breakfast free, as well as ordering a full cooked breakfast for a modest price. We will keep coming back to Edgewater for their incredible value, service, cleanliness, warm heartedness of all staff, and the healing calm of the location.

Room Tip: Beachfront villas are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was our third trip to Rarotonga with another couple, we spent 5 nights at Muri then 5 nights at The Edgewater to experience both the sunrise and sunset sides of the island.
The Edgewater is made up of older blocks of rooms as well as newer more expensive blocks of rooms. We stayed at the Aitutaki block which is older and showing signs of wear, but interior was nice. Our friends had a ground floor room and so a wall around their balcony for privacy. We had a third floor room which we were very happy with, the view out over the lagoon and of sunsets was great (room 411). The included tropical breakfast is cereal, fruit, toast, yoghurt, and muffins. There is one pool, which is quite small relative to the size of the resort which has 280 rooms. The pool was usually full of children, there is a small slide, it's great for kids. We did not use the pool due to lack of quiet space in it.
The beachfront has a barrier of huge rocks possibly to prevent erosion as we were told that loads of sand had just been brought in the previous week.
We walked along the beach at night to neighbouring properties and next time will choose a smaller property.The Edgewater is great for families with it's kids club.
The staff were very friendly with their Kia Orana's and smiles.
The on-site car rental can be very busy and they had no scooters available for us but a walk to the end of the drive enabled us to secure scooters cheaper than at the resort without queuing.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 411 and the view from balcony. This room is on the end on top level so no other gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I recently stayed at The Edgewater Resort & Spa with 3 other family members. I had never been to Rarotonga before, but based on my Flight Centre agent Claire's recommendation was assured that it would tick all the boxes for a relaxing 'Girls Only' mid Winter break where we could simply land at a nice tropical island only 31/2 hours from Auckland and be at our nice resort/spa accommodation within 20 mins of arriving. She was so right! We got a special deal on one of their recently refurbished garden villas, which included 3 bedrooms including en-suite and an open plan kitchen, lounge and dining room. This also included a back deck (very nice for drinks in the evening) and a front porch for enjoying the morning 'traffic' mostly chooks.
Breakfast was included with our deal and while busy we all managed to find spoons and bowls when needed. The selection included a wonderful selection of seasonal fruit, cereals, breads including a yummy fruit bread and a very nice porridge and juices. A cooked breakfast menu was also available at an extra cost.
I also tried lunch at the resort and the raw fish salad is wonderful as are the island chips.
People did recommend going to Muri beach for snorkling, but while scenic I found the snorkling at The Edgewater to be great and the fish are very friendly because they get fed regularly by the guests.
Some hints include -
Water booster switch. They use solar power in the islands so you do need to use the switch on cloudy winter days. This is usually a dial on the wall by the meter box. This produces endless hot water.
Ear plugs - They grow on you eventually, but roosters and the islands go hand in hand. Use your ear plugs or just go with the flow and Island time and sleep in.
Reef shoes - coral cuts and there are also stone fish which sting. Wear your reef shoes when in the sea. I preferred my Tevas as these being strappy dried out quickly.
Snorkle gear - The free/shared gear is often cheap with poor seals. Take your own with flippers for endless snorkling time you wont regret it.
Relax - the best thing about Rarotonga is that the locals are friendly and the place is relaxed and unpretentious.

Room Tip: You don't need to be beach front to enjoy the resort. We found the garden villas to be the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

When we arrived at the resort we were ushered to what we thought were staff quarters, there was a dusty dirty car park out the front and a concrete car park out the back, no outside light of the unit and a pile of dirty disposable nappies outside the front of the room next door. The unit itself was sparse, dated and smelly, the bed was concave, the sheet threadbare and it didn’t even reach the top of the bed let alone be able to be folded over, the pillows were as thin as pancakes and dirty and the next morning my husband had bites all up the inside of his arms, beg bugs! I wonder if we paid extra for those! The so called tropical breakfast consisted of a few slices of bread, a few slices of fruit and a couple different varieties of cereal, very ordinary and tasteless. I would highly recommend you avoid this place like the plague, on line it almost looks believable, but after staying there I could only compare it to a 1 Star hotel, very disappointed, luckily we only had to stay one night en-route to Aitutaki.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Kia Orana
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your one night stay before departing to Aitutaki, with us here in July. We are disappointed your expectations were not met, We have prior to this posting responded to your concerns. So it is surprising to see this turn up on Trip advisor however I shall respond in the following manner in regards to your room. We pride ourselves on providing an excellent value for money holiday with a range of accommodation to suit all types of travellers and budgets, from our lead-in garden rooms to our beachfront deluxe suites and 3 bedroom self-catering villas.
In regards to your comments on arrival, with the rubbish outside the room, our housekeeping staff service rooms from 8am – 4pm and all rubbish is disposed of accordingly within these hours. As for the carparks you mention there are concrete driveways to the front and back of the units and as you say a carpark facing the building on the one side and on the other the carpark is the other side of the road. As for your comment that they are dusty the one car park is on grass and the one at the back is on coral.
As for the comments on the beds and pillows and the concave bed we have no comment to make except that we can never please everyone with the bed comforts as no bed is like the one we are used to in our own homes. The room been smelly again we have no comment.
As for the comment on bed bugs we have inspected the beds and have found no trace of these and can also comment that the resort has never had issues with bed bugs.
In respect to the comments made about the breakfast I find it hard to reply, as we get great comments from other guests. Breakfast runs from 7-10am each morning and the only time that stocks will have run down is if they have come after the official breakfast time was over. The Resort is a 3.5 star resort and we have satisfied guests returning year after year and we are sorry that you guest did not enjoy their experience with us. Nor did they mention their concerns with Reception or Management while they were at the resort, Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review and we wish you well in your future travels.
Kia Manuia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.