We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Edgewater!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Edgewater Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We loved Edgewater!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My partner and I went to Rarotonga for the first time recently. We stayed 5 nights at the Edgewater Resort and loved it. We are both 24. We arrived at the resort and were welcomed by friendly staff and shown to our room. We stayed in a Lagoon View room very close to the restaurant. We loved this room, we could sit on the balcony overlooking the pool and restaurant area and also had the most stunning view of the lagoon and ocean. The noise didn't bother us, it was quiet most of the time but we enjoyed feeling like we were in the middle of what was going on. The water by the resort is stunning (don't forget reef shoes). Lots of comfy chairs for sunbathing and absolutely stunning sunsets from this resort. Get in early to hire snorkel equipment on good weather days or you may have to wait a while. We were impressed with the standard of the room, it had absolutely everything we needed and was very clean. We found the bed to be very comfortable. The shower was great too. It was nice to have a TV with a selection of good channels for the one night we were too exhausted to go out. The food at the resort was delicious, loved the beef burger and prices are really affordable although drinks are weirdly expensive (fizzy drinks). The staff were all lovely and the activities hut staff were especially funny. Great bus service from the resort every hour and if you're lucky you will have the hilarious bus driver who talks over a microphone. We had several great games of tennis, table tennis and pool in the games room. The snorkelling outside the resort was amazing, we also went to Muri and found that Edgewater was a lot less windy and the fish were just as great. Free snorkel gear and beach towels is great. We loved the happy hour cocktails and found the breakfast to be fantastic - the bread was delicious and loved the abundance of paw paw!! The only thing that wasn't quite as good as we hoped was the massage we booked (anti stress massage). The health and beauty spa isn't very nice inside and the massages were not the best but maybe we should have gone for the more relaxing aromatherapy massage. If we could go back in time we would have gone to orientation as we missed out on a lot of good tips and finding out what was going on different days (we missed the party bus on Wed night which we would have loved). Also a good idea to book all activities very early, i.e. the first day you arrive as they book up fast (we did Koka Lagoon cruise and Raro safari tour on 4wd which were both AMAZING) and we missed out on a quad biking which we were keen to do. We also didn't book the Island night on Tuesday which was a buffet off Island food and a drumming show so we missed out on sitting in the dining room to watch the performance which was disappointing - so definitely BOOK everything early!! Also a good idea to buy a concession bus pass on the first day, we ended up just paying for all the bus trips which was a bit silly on our part. Overall we absolutely loved Edgewater and will definitely return again next year! After looking around the rest of the Island we felt lucky to be where we were at it really seemed to be one of the nicest places. Whenever we came back from town it felt like coming home! If you are young and looking for a party place, this isn't really it. The guests were mostly families but they had night life tours on Wed and Fri for when you want to party!

We loved Edgewater!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    391
    172
    65
    50
See reviews for
278
391
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were concerned to read the very negative review (posted by TRing_13 on 2nd July) about how poorly the visitor described his/her stay. My husband and I (in our sixties) recently returned from three weeks at Edgewater and are keen to get back next year. Last year we spent ten days in a garden room and upgraded this year to a beautifully fresh, beachfront villa on the third floor due to my suffering with severe asthma from being close to the damp ground which can predispose some garden rooms to becoming musty. If the visitor had any concerns about their accommodation, they only needed to call Reception, especially asking to speak to a Duty Manager, for friendly and very helpful attention. Sheets at Edgewater are generous in size but are tucked under the end of the mattress rather than folded over at the top. As for pillows, everyone has different preferences and needs. I always travel with my own pillow due to a neck problem, while my husband asks for a thick pillow if there is none in the room or uses two thinner ones placed on top of each other. Mattresses are spring-based at Edgewater and will move under body weight, or two people sleeping near each other. They are not firm, latex or pillow-topped. As for bed bugs, there are none! Any bites might be from a stray mosquito that follows you into your room. In the tropics, it is always wise to pack personal insect repellent. There is also a fast knockdown, low irritant insect spray in every room at Edgewater as there are tiny ants around (keep food and drink covered or in the fridge) but are not a sign of poor cleanliness, just Nature. We were shocked to read about the criticism of the breakfast, a well-known highlight of a stay at Edgewater. With their mounds of freshly baked muffins, assorted (dark rye, fruit, white and gluten free) breads, variety of spreads, heaps of cereals, and the loaded tropical and canned fruit bay with yogurt and Burcher muesli, teas, brewed coffee and juices, no one can reasonably complain about lack of variety or tastelessness. Of course, you can have all of this breakfast free, as well as ordering a full cooked breakfast for a modest price. We will keep coming back to Edgewater for their incredible value, service, cleanliness, warm heartedness of all staff, and the healing calm of the location.

Room Tip: Beachfront villas are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was our third trip to Rarotonga with another couple, we spent 5 nights at Muri then 5 nights at The Edgewater to experience both the sunrise and sunset sides of the island.
The Edgewater is made up of older blocks of rooms as well as newer more expensive blocks of rooms. We stayed at the Aitutaki block which is older and showing signs of wear, but interior was nice. Our friends had a ground floor room and so a wall around their balcony for privacy. We had a third floor room which we were very happy with, the view out over the lagoon and of sunsets was great (room 411). The included tropical breakfast is cereal, fruit, toast, yoghurt, and muffins. There is one pool, which is quite small relative to the size of the resort which has 280 rooms. The pool was usually full of children, there is a small slide, it's great for kids. We did not use the pool due to lack of quiet space in it.
The beachfront has a barrier of huge rocks possibly to prevent erosion as we were told that loads of sand had just been brought in the previous week.
We walked along the beach at night to neighbouring properties and next time will choose a smaller property.The Edgewater is great for families with it's kids club.
The staff were very friendly with their Kia Orana's and smiles.
The on-site car rental can be very busy and they had no scooters available for us but a walk to the end of the drive enabled us to secure scooters cheaper than at the resort without queuing.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 411 and the view from balcony. This room is on the end on top level so no other gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I recently stayed at The Edgewater Resort & Spa with 3 other family members. I had never been to Rarotonga before, but based on my Flight Centre agent Claire's recommendation was assured that it would tick all the boxes for a relaxing 'Girls Only' mid Winter break where we could simply land at a nice tropical island only 31/2 hours from Auckland and be at our nice resort/spa accommodation within 20 mins of arriving. She was so right! We got a special deal on one of their recently refurbished garden villas, which included 3 bedrooms including en-suite and an open plan kitchen, lounge and dining room. This also included a back deck (very nice for drinks in the evening) and a front porch for enjoying the morning 'traffic' mostly chooks.
Breakfast was included with our deal and while busy we all managed to find spoons and bowls when needed. The selection included a wonderful selection of seasonal fruit, cereals, breads including a yummy fruit bread and a very nice porridge and juices. A cooked breakfast menu was also available at an extra cost.
I also tried lunch at the resort and the raw fish salad is wonderful as are the island chips.
People did recommend going to Muri beach for snorkling, but while scenic I found the snorkling at The Edgewater to be great and the fish are very friendly because they get fed regularly by the guests.
Some hints include -
Water booster switch. They use solar power in the islands so you do need to use the switch on cloudy winter days. This is usually a dial on the wall by the meter box. This produces endless hot water.
Ear plugs - They grow on you eventually, but roosters and the islands go hand in hand. Use your ear plugs or just go with the flow and Island time and sleep in.
Reef shoes - coral cuts and there are also stone fish which sting. Wear your reef shoes when in the sea. I preferred my Tevas as these being strappy dried out quickly.
Snorkle gear - The free/shared gear is often cheap with poor seals. Take your own with flippers for endless snorkling time you wont regret it.
Relax - the best thing about Rarotonga is that the locals are friendly and the place is relaxed and unpretentious.

Room Tip: You don't need to be beach front to enjoy the resort. We found the garden villas to be the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimate, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Second time in Rarotonga but first time at Edgewater, and will definitely be my last. Our villa was dirty, and full of ants. The majority of the staff were very unfriendly and looked like they didn't want to be there, but Esther was great. The breakfast buffet was very disappointing and having to wait for plates and food every morning was a real pain

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Anyone travelling to Rarotonga NEEDS to check out The Edgewater Resort. We travelled as quite a large group in Nov 2012 and all stayed in different room types yet all of us were equally pleased with them. I would suggest paying that little bit extra and getting the 3bedroom Beachfront Villa. It has beautiful views, and it is almost like having your own private beach down away from the main reception area.
Breakfast each morning outside looking over the ocean is a nice relaxing day to start the day, whether you want a hot cooked meal or a light breakfast of fruit it is all readily avaliable and well stocked no matter what time you arrive.
I would suggest hiring a scooter from across the road of the hotel rather than there (Less lines)
Happy Hour each night means you definatley want to make sure you get back to the hotel for the AMAZING cocktails. The bar staff are really helpful, quick to serve and have no problems setting up extra tables if you are a large group.

All in all the Edgewater accomodates for everyone in every situation. It is beautifully located and the staff are some of the best I have come across. Would reccomend to all, although if you are going to do the Island Night I would suggest getting out of the resort and heading to Te Vara Nui the show is AMAZING and a true Island experience.
Will definatley be going back to Edgewater in the future

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I write this review as I sit in the resort overlooking the tropical lagoon....travelled with my wife (pregnant) & 4yr old son for a family holiday.
Stayed in garden view room, asked for an upgrade but resort was full so not available-glad we didn't as our room still looked out over the lagoon, was far enough away from the restaurant that any nighttime noise was dulled, and essentially the interior of all the rooms was the same. We were on the first floor-better than ground as there is limited traffic past the room.
Overall cleanliness of the rooms can be improved-if your a germophobe bring some antibacterial wipes!
We ate it evening meals in the resort - 1 night at the spaghetti house, the rest at the brasserie. All the food was fairly average priced-not cheap but not expensive (remember your eating overlooking the lagoon and sunset-not bad). Recommend the BBQ night as there is heaps of food and kids under 5 eat free.
Service in both the brasserie and spaghetti house is a bit missing-sometimes they're quick,sometimes slow. Spaghetti house was not all it was cracked up to be-food was average and service was not good, we were one of the first there but food for the 2 adults still took over an hour-in that time lots of takeaway ppl came and ordered and left with food...hmmm,...they didn't charge us for the kids meal in return.
Breakfast was easy and plentiful-there was definately no race for food as read in other reviews-we ate most morning at about 9am. Foods and drinks were always being replaced. Again overlooking that tropical lagoon thing-sounds tough right!!!
Highly recommend the orientation tour @10am-great down to earth info and the guys in the activity hit are a good source of knowledge if your looking to do a tour or something.
Our son loved the kids club - even counted down the minutes till it opened and there was a good variety of ages and activities to keep them entertained.
The resort had a mix of everyone-families with kids, couples, older couples and groups. Didn't see anyone complain.

If your taking the island bus for a tour of the island-there is generally one guy that has a headset microphone-very funny and informative-the other is just a bus driver!

Would I stay here again-yes and probably in a garden view room again

Room Tip: Garden view is fine-not worth paying the extra for beachfront. Some garden view rooms have views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.