We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place in every way! We will keep coming back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Edgewater Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Arorangi
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful place in every way! We will keep coming back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were concerned to read the very negative review (posted by TRing_13 on 2nd July) about how poorly the visitor described his/her stay. My husband and I (in our sixties) recently returned from three weeks at Edgewater and are keen to get back next year. Last year we spent ten days in a garden room and upgraded this year to a beautifully fresh, beachfront villa on the third floor due to my suffering with severe asthma from being close to the damp ground which can predispose some garden rooms to becoming musty. If the visitor had any concerns about their accommodation, they only needed to call Reception, especially asking to speak to a Duty Manager, for friendly and very helpful attention. Sheets at Edgewater are generous in size but are tucked under the end of the mattress rather than folded over at the top. As for pillows, everyone has different preferences and needs. I always travel with my own pillow due to a neck problem, while my husband asks for a thick pillow if there is none in the room or uses two thinner ones placed on top of each other. Mattresses are spring-based at Edgewater and will move under body weight, or two people sleeping near each other. They are not firm, latex or pillow-topped. As for bed bugs, there are none! Any bites might be from a stray mosquito that follows you into your room. In the tropics, it is always wise to pack personal insect repellent. There is also a fast knockdown, low irritant insect spray in every room at Edgewater as there are tiny ants around (keep food and drink covered or in the fridge) but are not a sign of poor cleanliness, just Nature. We were shocked to read about the criticism of the breakfast, a well-known highlight of a stay at Edgewater. With their mounds of freshly baked muffins, assorted (dark rye, fruit, white and gluten free) breads, variety of spreads, heaps of cereals, and the loaded tropical and canned fruit bay with yogurt and Burcher muesli, teas, brewed coffee and juices, no one can reasonably complain about lack of variety or tastelessness. Of course, you can have all of this breakfast free, as well as ordering a full cooked breakfast for a modest price. We will keep coming back to Edgewater for their incredible value, service, cleanliness, warm heartedness of all staff, and the healing calm of the location.

Room Tip: Beachfront villas are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    338
    154
    57
    48
See reviews for
246
344
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, New Zealand
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was our third trip to Rarotonga with another couple, we spent 5 nights at Muri then 5 nights at The Edgewater to experience both the sunrise and sunset sides of the island.
The Edgewater is made up of older blocks of rooms as well as newer more expensive blocks of rooms. We stayed at the Aitutaki block which is older and showing signs of wear, but interior was nice. Our friends had a ground floor room and so a wall around their balcony for privacy. We had a third floor room which we were very happy with, the view out over the lagoon and of sunsets was great (room 411). The included tropical breakfast is cereal, fruit, toast, yoghurt, and muffins. There is one pool, which is quite small relative to the size of the resort which has 280 rooms. The pool was usually full of children, there is a small slide, it's great for kids. We did not use the pool due to lack of quiet space in it.
The beachfront has a barrier of huge rocks possibly to prevent erosion as we were told that loads of sand had just been brought in the previous week.
We walked along the beach at night to neighbouring properties and next time will choose a smaller property.The Edgewater is great for families with it's kids club.
The staff were very friendly with their Kia Orana's and smiles.
The on-site car rental can be very busy and they had no scooters available for us but a walk to the end of the drive enabled us to secure scooters cheaper than at the resort without queuing.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 411 and the view from balcony. This room is on the end on top level so no other gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I recently stayed at The Edgewater Resort & Spa with 3 other family members. I had never been to Rarotonga before, but based on my Flight Centre agent Claire's recommendation was assured that it would tick all the boxes for a relaxing 'Girls Only' mid Winter break where we could simply land at a nice tropical island only 31/2 hours from Auckland and be at our nice resort/spa accommodation within 20 mins of arriving. She was so right! We got a special deal on one of their recently refurbished garden villas, which included 3 bedrooms including en-suite and an open plan kitchen, lounge and dining room. This also included a back deck (very nice for drinks in the evening) and a front porch for enjoying the morning 'traffic' mostly chooks.
Breakfast was included with our deal and while busy we all managed to find spoons and bowls when needed. The selection included a wonderful selection of seasonal fruit, cereals, breads including a yummy fruit bread and a very nice porridge and juices. A cooked breakfast menu was also available at an extra cost.
I also tried lunch at the resort and the raw fish salad is wonderful as are the island chips.
People did recommend going to Muri beach for snorkling, but while scenic I found the snorkling at The Edgewater to be great and the fish are very friendly because they get fed regularly by the guests.
Some hints include -
Water booster switch. They use solar power in the islands so you do need to use the switch on cloudy winter days. This is usually a dial on the wall by the meter box. This produces endless hot water.
Ear plugs - They grow on you eventually, but roosters and the islands go hand in hand. Use your ear plugs or just go with the flow and Island time and sleep in.
Reef shoes - coral cuts and there are also stone fish which sting. Wear your reef shoes when in the sea. I preferred my Tevas as these being strappy dried out quickly.
Snorkle gear - The free/shared gear is often cheap with poor seals. Take your own with flippers for endless snorkling time you wont regret it.
Relax - the best thing about Rarotonga is that the locals are friendly and the place is relaxed and unpretentious.

Room Tip: You don't need to be beach front to enjoy the resort. We found the garden villas to be the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

When we arrived at the resort we were ushered to what we thought were staff quarters, there was a dusty dirty car park out the front and a concrete car park out the back, no outside light of the unit and a pile of dirty disposable nappies outside the front of the room next door. The unit itself was sparse, dated and smelly, the bed was concave, the sheet threadbare and it didn’t even reach the top of the bed let alone be able to be folded over, the pillows were as thin as pancakes and dirty and the next morning my husband had bites all up the inside of his arms, beg bugs! I wonder if we paid extra for those! The so called tropical breakfast consisted of a few slices of bread, a few slices of fruit and a couple different varieties of cereal, very ordinary and tasteless. I would highly recommend you avoid this place like the plague, on line it almost looks believable, but after staying there I could only compare it to a 1 Star hotel, very disappointed, luckily we only had to stay one night en-route to Aitutaki.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Kia Orana
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your one night stay before departing to Aitutaki, with us here in July. We are disappointed your expectations were not met, We have prior to this posting responded to your concerns. So it is surprising to see this turn up on Trip advisor however I shall respond in the following manner in regards to your room. We pride ourselves on providing an excellent value for money holiday with a range of accommodation to suit all types of travellers and budgets, from our lead-in garden rooms to our beachfront deluxe suites and 3 bedroom self-catering villas.
In regards to your comments on arrival, with the rubbish outside the room, our housekeeping staff service rooms from 8am – 4pm and all rubbish is disposed of accordingly within these hours. As for the carparks you mention there are concrete driveways to the front and back of the units and as you say a carpark facing the building on the one side and on the other the carpark is the other side of the road. As for your comment that they are dusty the one car park is on grass and the one at the back is on coral.
As for the comments on the beds and pillows and the concave bed we have no comment to make except that we can never please everyone with the bed comforts as no bed is like the one we are used to in our own homes. The room been smelly again we have no comment.
As for the comment on bed bugs we have inspected the beds and have found no trace of these and can also comment that the resort has never had issues with bed bugs.
In respect to the comments made about the breakfast I find it hard to reply, as we get great comments from other guests. Breakfast runs from 7-10am each morning and the only time that stocks will have run down is if they have come after the official breakfast time was over. The Resort is a 3.5 star resort and we have satisfied guests returning year after year and we are sorry that you guest did not enjoy their experience with us. Nor did they mention their concerns with Reception or Management while they were at the resort, Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review and we wish you well in your future travels.
Kia Manuia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimate, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Second time in Rarotonga but first time at Edgewater, and will definitely be my last. Our villa was dirty, and full of ants. The majority of the staff were very unfriendly and looked like they didn't want to be there, but Esther was great. The breakfast buffet was very disappointing and having to wait for plates and food every morning was a real pain

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Anyone travelling to Rarotonga NEEDS to check out The Edgewater Resort. We travelled as quite a large group in Nov 2012 and all stayed in different room types yet all of us were equally pleased with them. I would suggest paying that little bit extra and getting the 3bedroom Beachfront Villa. It has beautiful views, and it is almost like having your own private beach down away from the main reception area.
Breakfast each morning outside looking over the ocean is a nice relaxing day to start the day, whether you want a hot cooked meal or a light breakfast of fruit it is all readily avaliable and well stocked no matter what time you arrive.
I would suggest hiring a scooter from across the road of the hotel rather than there (Less lines)
Happy Hour each night means you definatley want to make sure you get back to the hotel for the AMAZING cocktails. The bar staff are really helpful, quick to serve and have no problems setting up extra tables if you are a large group.

All in all the Edgewater accomodates for everyone in every situation. It is beautifully located and the staff are some of the best I have come across. Would reccomend to all, although if you are going to do the Island Night I would suggest getting out of the resort and heading to Te Vara Nui the show is AMAZING and a true Island experience.
Will definatley be going back to Edgewater in the future

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I write this review as I sit in the resort overlooking the tropical lagoon....travelled with my wife (pregnant) & 4yr old son for a family holiday.
Stayed in garden view room, asked for an upgrade but resort was full so not available-glad we didn't as our room still looked out over the lagoon, was far enough away from the restaurant that any nighttime noise was dulled, and essentially the interior of all the rooms was the same. We were on the first floor-better than ground as there is limited traffic past the room.
Overall cleanliness of the rooms can be improved-if your a germophobe bring some antibacterial wipes!
We ate it evening meals in the resort - 1 night at the spaghetti house, the rest at the brasserie. All the food was fairly average priced-not cheap but not expensive (remember your eating overlooking the lagoon and sunset-not bad). Recommend the BBQ night as there is heaps of food and kids under 5 eat free.
Service in both the brasserie and spaghetti house is a bit missing-sometimes they're quick,sometimes slow. Spaghetti house was not all it was cracked up to be-food was average and service was not good, we were one of the first there but food for the 2 adults still took over an hour-in that time lots of takeaway ppl came and ordered and left with food...hmmm,...they didn't charge us for the kids meal in return.
Breakfast was easy and plentiful-there was definately no race for food as read in other reviews-we ate most morning at about 9am. Foods and drinks were always being replaced. Again overlooking that tropical lagoon thing-sounds tough right!!!
Highly recommend the orientation tour @10am-great down to earth info and the guys in the activity hit are a good source of knowledge if your looking to do a tour or something.
Our son loved the kids club - even counted down the minutes till it opened and there was a good variety of ages and activities to keep them entertained.
The resort had a mix of everyone-families with kids, couples, older couples and groups. Didn't see anyone complain.

If your taking the island bus for a tour of the island-there is generally one guy that has a headset microphone-very funny and informative-the other is just a bus driver!

Would I stay here again-yes and probably in a garden view room again

Room Tip: Garden view is fine-not worth paying the extra for beachfront. Some garden view rooms have views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.