We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Edgewater Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great for a relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I recently stayed at The Edgewater Resort & Spa with 3 other family members. I had never been to Rarotonga before, but based on my Flight Centre agent Claire's recommendation was assured that it would tick all the boxes for a relaxing 'Girls Only' mid Winter break where we could simply land at a nice tropical island only 31/2 hours from Auckland and be at our nice resort/spa accommodation within 20 mins of arriving. She was so right! We got a special deal on one of their recently refurbished garden villas, which included 3 bedrooms including en-suite and an open plan kitchen, lounge and dining room. This also included a back deck (very nice for drinks in the evening) and a front porch for enjoying the morning 'traffic' mostly chooks.
Breakfast was included with our deal and while busy we all managed to find spoons and bowls when needed. The selection included a wonderful selection of seasonal fruit, cereals, breads including a yummy fruit bread and a very nice porridge and juices. A cooked breakfast menu was also available at an extra cost.
I also tried lunch at the resort and the raw fish salad is wonderful as are the island chips.
People did recommend going to Muri beach for snorkling, but while scenic I found the snorkling at The Edgewater to be great and the fish are very friendly because they get fed regularly by the guests.
Some hints include -
Water booster switch. They use solar power in the islands so you do need to use the switch on cloudy winter days. This is usually a dial on the wall by the meter box. This produces endless hot water.
Ear plugs - They grow on you eventually, but roosters and the islands go hand in hand. Use your ear plugs or just go with the flow and Island time and sleep in.
Reef shoes - coral cuts and there are also stone fish which sting. Wear your reef shoes when in the sea. I preferred my Tevas as these being strappy dried out quickly.
Snorkle gear - The free/shared gear is often cheap with poor seals. Take your own with flippers for endless snorkling time you wont regret it.
Relax - the best thing about Rarotonga is that the locals are friendly and the place is relaxed and unpretentious.

Room Tip: You don't need to be beach front to enjoy the resort. We found the garden villas to be the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    391
    172
    65
    50
See reviews for
278
391
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waimate, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Second time in Rarotonga but first time at Edgewater, and will definitely be my last. Our villa was dirty, and full of ants. The majority of the staff were very unfriendly and looked like they didn't want to be there, but Esther was great. The breakfast buffet was very disappointing and having to wait for plates and food every morning was a real pain

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Anyone travelling to Rarotonga NEEDS to check out The Edgewater Resort. We travelled as quite a large group in Nov 2012 and all stayed in different room types yet all of us were equally pleased with them. I would suggest paying that little bit extra and getting the 3bedroom Beachfront Villa. It has beautiful views, and it is almost like having your own private beach down away from the main reception area.
Breakfast each morning outside looking over the ocean is a nice relaxing day to start the day, whether you want a hot cooked meal or a light breakfast of fruit it is all readily avaliable and well stocked no matter what time you arrive.
I would suggest hiring a scooter from across the road of the hotel rather than there (Less lines)
Happy Hour each night means you definatley want to make sure you get back to the hotel for the AMAZING cocktails. The bar staff are really helpful, quick to serve and have no problems setting up extra tables if you are a large group.

All in all the Edgewater accomodates for everyone in every situation. It is beautifully located and the staff are some of the best I have come across. Would reccomend to all, although if you are going to do the Island Night I would suggest getting out of the resort and heading to Te Vara Nui the show is AMAZING and a true Island experience.
Will definatley be going back to Edgewater in the future

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I write this review as I sit in the resort overlooking the tropical lagoon....travelled with my wife (pregnant) & 4yr old son for a family holiday.
Stayed in garden view room, asked for an upgrade but resort was full so not available-glad we didn't as our room still looked out over the lagoon, was far enough away from the restaurant that any nighttime noise was dulled, and essentially the interior of all the rooms was the same. We were on the first floor-better than ground as there is limited traffic past the room.
Overall cleanliness of the rooms can be improved-if your a germophobe bring some antibacterial wipes!
We ate it evening meals in the resort - 1 night at the spaghetti house, the rest at the brasserie. All the food was fairly average priced-not cheap but not expensive (remember your eating overlooking the lagoon and sunset-not bad). Recommend the BBQ night as there is heaps of food and kids under 5 eat free.
Service in both the brasserie and spaghetti house is a bit missing-sometimes they're quick,sometimes slow. Spaghetti house was not all it was cracked up to be-food was average and service was not good, we were one of the first there but food for the 2 adults still took over an hour-in that time lots of takeaway ppl came and ordered and left with food...hmmm,...they didn't charge us for the kids meal in return.
Breakfast was easy and plentiful-there was definately no race for food as read in other reviews-we ate most morning at about 9am. Foods and drinks were always being replaced. Again overlooking that tropical lagoon thing-sounds tough right!!!
Highly recommend the orientation tour @10am-great down to earth info and the guys in the activity hit are a good source of knowledge if your looking to do a tour or something.
Our son loved the kids club - even counted down the minutes till it opened and there was a good variety of ages and activities to keep them entertained.
The resort had a mix of everyone-families with kids, couples, older couples and groups. Didn't see anyone complain.

If your taking the island bus for a tour of the island-there is generally one guy that has a headset microphone-very funny and informative-the other is just a bus driver!

Would I stay here again-yes and probably in a garden view room again

Room Tip: Garden view is fine-not worth paying the extra for beachfront. Some garden view rooms have views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Edgewater Resort between 08/06/13 and 14/06/13. We had booked a three bedroom villa, as we are a family of 5, with two under 10's and one infant. On all counts this is a fantastic place to take your family. The resort is well laid out and kids had no trouble navigating between the Villa and the restaurants/ recreation room, tennis courts on their own. The facilities are clean and sufficiently modern. The 'village' like charm was very appealing with the chook's providing endless entertainment for the kids as did the Coconut Kids Club. The daily activities were well planned and provided fun for all ages. Snorkel gear being available most of the time ensured many hours spent in the lagoon. Best of all were the staff, truly made us comfortable and took extra care of the little ones, they just always seemed to be there when we needed something. We did not really have to go anywhere else. Thanks Edgewater for a very memorable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmerston north
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hubby & I stayed in a garden view room, it had both a queen & single bed in it, plenty of drawers & wardrobe space and a nice spacious bathroom. The room is serviced whenever you leave the "please service my room" door hanger thing out - otherwise just the towels are replenished daily.

The resort has everything you could possibly need for a holiday in Rarotonga.
Pool, 2 restaurants, gift shop, activities booking office (to book lagoon cruises, culture nights etc), scooter & car hire, free snorkel gear, reef shoes & towels, kids club, day spa & laundry facilities a westpac ATM machine...ALL ONSITE! Plus no waiting out on the road for the bus, it comes right up to reception.
We found the activities booking office especially handy. The morning after we arrrived we made our way to the activities office-booked our lagoon cruise, culture night and rented our scooters. After doing a short practical skills test on the scooter, we were issued with temporary licenses then we were OFF! It was great to get everything organised so we could get down to exploring the island.

I was told Muri & Titikaveka beaches were the best snokelling places, but i actually really enjoyed snorkelling at Edgewater. Don't get me wrong, Muri & Titikaveka are BEAUTIFUL, but it was quite windy at both places and was quite a trek from the resort.
Avarua AKA "town" is close by (say 10 minutes on a scooter.) And there are a number of excellent restaurants within walking distance of the resort.

We paid $685 for 5 nights (through expedia) this included a great tropical breakfast every morning we also paid an additional $40 each for return airport transfers. Overall we had a great stay at Edgewater. We had no issues with roosters waking us up in the morning, but the air con unit was pretty loud & check in was a bit slow (understandable considering it was 2.30am)

If we don't rent a house i would have no qualms about staying at Edgewater next time we visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te awamutu NZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed with two families each with 2 young children. We had two 3 bedroom villas. the Villas are fantastic, roomy, clean and with everything you need, especially appreciated the washing machine! Villa 9 is great with kids as it backs onto the small playground. The air-conditioning doesn't really cool the room but with both doors open you get a lovely breeze. It was very loud at nights with the roadhouse pub across the road playing very loud music late into the night.
The restaurant is ok, the tropical breakfast was nice with good selection, however the meals in the restaurant although very well priced were a bit of a let down, often cold. The staff are helpful but don't go out of their way to help. Although we had one lady at the restaurant who loved our little boy and it was great chatting to her every day.
The pool is very cold but was nice and re-freshing and the kids loved it.
Not many people seemed to take advantage of the activities on offer and often it didn't look like they actually happened.
Our kids were very excited to attend the kids club as we had read on the internet all the fun activities on offer, but what a disappointment - it was just like a dumping ground for kids with a DVD playing very loudly and a messy room and tired play area, with disinterested staff that would disappear. None of the activities listed for the afternoon we went were done.
The beach is not much of a beach (much nicer around the other side of the island), however there were a lot of fish that you could see from just ankle deep water and feeding them with our left over toast was a highlight for the kids.
Overall the resort is ok a lot of the rooms look very tired and the staff are a bit indifferent but I guess that is what you get with such a big place. I highly rate the Villas if you have a family but the rest of the resort is just average.

Room Tip: The villas are fantastic for families, very roomy and everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.