We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edgewater Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Edgewater Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Kanwal NSW
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Edgewater Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just back from staying at Edgewater Resort 6 nights in a studio apartment, one of the older rooms on the resort, no view but you only had to walk to around the corner and you were at the beautiful beach where we spent most of our time at the resort.
Room was clean and tidy, staff were great, would stay here again, but would upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    437
    192
    71
    52
See reviews for
324
434
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa, which suited us, very spacious, but thought it was expensive.
Had not light in our ensuite for 3 days, very slow in sorting it, the other bathroom was great very large.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Recently returned from a wonderful week at the Edgewater Resort and Spa in Rarotonga. Our room was on the beach front so we had amazing views of the ocean and the fantastic sunsets.
We had an upgrade room with sitting area, fridge and plenty of closet space. The bathroom was large and well equipped with a great shower, Jacuzzi tub, and all the necessary amenities. The room was always very well cleaned and all the staff we meet were extremely friendly, welcoming and accommodating. Continental breakfast was included with our room and it was more than adequate with a good variety of food to choose from, including fresh fruits. Snorkeling was a great experience and there seemed to be plenty to do for all ages. Great Spa area to get pampered. Easy access to the downtown shops and we found the buses very convenient to move around the island. Would not hesitate to recommend this resort. A great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in a Villa with 2 other couples, our shower hose was lying on the floor of the shower due to the hook being broken, air conditioning was working extremely hard to keep the temperature comfortable, unfortunately this was not successful it made a shuttle difference to the lounge area only. Overall a very average experience, the included buffet breakfast is a nice idea but also very basic. A definite 2.5- 3 star in our view.

Room Tip: Actually travelled in March 2011. But no option for this
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerrabomberra
Level Contributor
200 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

A large resort with everything that you would expect. Staff were friendly and helpful - Cook Islanders, Filipinos and Fijiians.
We had a garden room and it was large, clean and comfortable - with a balcony overlooking a very pleasant tropical garden and sea views to the side.
The resort is close to the airport and main town area, with great sunsets and many free activities such as fish feeding, sarong tying and coconut lore available (if you like that sort of thing).
Swimming is OK, with clean water - but you need reef shoes for the coral. The beach is clean and lengthy but with coral pieces as well as sand underfoot. OK for kids and average swimmers.
The price for food was not bad and there are some excellent restaurants within close walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful week at Edgewater Resort in Rarotonga. The resort is located right on the beach front and has fantastic views of the sunset, reef and lagoon with good snorkeling out among the fish. Laze the day away with a book on one of the many sun loungers, swim in the pool with the view of the sea right there or enjoy a meal or drink at the restaurant. We were kept entertained by the many activities put on by the friendly activities staff where we learnt how to weave a hat, make a pareu and how to make our own Ika Mata (raw fish). The kids loved the pool and kids club was a great end to our holiday. We were entertained with live music in the restaurant most nights and watched the cultural show which was entertaining. The villa we stayed in was very clean and spacious with a good air conditioning unit to keep it cool. We found the location really handy to going to the market in town or walking to the nearby shop. Would absolutely stay here again. Thanks again for making our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

What more could one want with a lagoon view room.These are very comfortable units and nice and quite.
We had a ground floor unit which was excellent as all was needed to get to the water was to climb over the front divider wall and onto the sand.
Sitting in the deck chairs one could just look out to the lagoon.
In all very good value ,clean rooms,very friendly staff and a good break.
Edgewater Resort is with in walking distance of several good eating places,also has its own resturant and bar right beside the swimming pool. A very nice setting.
Breakfast each morning more than enough to choose from to satisfy the hunger pains,and fresh each day.
Staff more than happy to organize any tours that you would like booked.
The Island bus service calls into the Resort on its rounds of the Island.
More than happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ground floor in the lagoon units easier to get to the water, if you are a water baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
3.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.3 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
2.9 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 4 in Avarua
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.