We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort for young families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Edgewater Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good resort for young families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at the Edgewater for one night on our honeymoon. We had been staying at quieter boutique resorts but chose to stay at a cheaper resort for our last night as we had an early flight.
The resort looked well catered for with regards facilities and activities - especially if travelling with kids as there is not a great deal for kids to do around the islands that doesnt involve the sea.
Had a pleasant dinner and stay. Only comment would be regarding our room - a bit tired and dated and could do with a renovation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    391
    172
    65
    50
See reviews for
278
391
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Conveniently located, the Edgewater Resort has much to recommend it to couples, families and large parties. Each day we stayed there was a wedding performed on the beach, followed by a a reception in a private dining area. The Resort has many organised activities for those who like to keep busy, including a nitelife tour of the bars and transport to Sunday church services to hear the Islanders singing There is a well supervised Kids club and babysitting services. Meals can be delivered to the rooms for a small fee, but better still is the dining in open-air areas, Mal's Bar and the restaraunt which looks over the lagoon. A spectacular place to sit and enjoy a leisurely tropical breakfast, to have a snack or to watch the amazing sunsets at dinner time while enjoying one of the many cocktails or savouring beautiful fresh seafoods. All day dining is available. A Cultural Island night is run twice weekly - a buffet meal of traditional foods followed by a mezmerizing display of dancing and music. International crab racing provided many laughs and an opportunity to have a little flutter. There is only one swimming pool which in holiday time can become very crowded with children. Snorkling gear, reef shoes and beach towels are available daily for those who want to watch the multitude of marine life which abounds in the lagoon on the resorts doorstep.
Local buses, one clockwise and one anti-clockwise call, into the resort to pickup passengers in a hop-on, hop-off circuit of the Island.
The only thing missing from this Resort was a gym for those wanting to keep up their fitness regimes.

Room Tip: Lagoon Front Rooms are best, well appointed and fresh. All feature queen/king bed and a single or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

STAYED for 9 nights was a birthday treat for husband (15 March - 23rd March 2013 )ACCOMMODATION AND CLEANING STAFF could not be faulted but almost everything was related to ALCOHOL The fruits drinks were the same price which we thought were too high!!!! Also parents were drinking and not watching children in pool. The breakfast was good every morning but missed the last one cause we had to be up at 4am for airport and we were still charged for it Hiring the car was a nightmare We booked and paid for it day before at the Edgewaters site and there was no car for us Wasted a whole morning trying to get another one from another site The food was expensive and meals were cold at both eateries Purchased MILK in town Fonterra 1litre over $7 and we moan about the price here in NZ . PETROL was expensive too Linen in restaurant dirty 30 odd people were invited to have cocktails and nibbles with management wasn't enough food or drink for 10 people!!!!!!!MY TIME - WASTE OF TIME what a joke only used one coupon

Room Tip: Beachside was the best We were upgraded we were put nearer couples and it was a lovely view but we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a lovely time at Rarotonga's largest and busiest resort. We chose this resort because they had a kids club for our 6 year old, their own beach and good pool facilities, activities for all and because of its proximity to town. And largely we weren't disappointed...
The problem with Rarotonga are flights in and out are always in the middle of the night, which can be hard on kids. But transfers from the airport were well handled, we were promptly seen to our room, and the air-conditioning worked well.
We attended the cultural evening our first night, having been to the Saturday morning markets our first morning, and it was enjoyable, although probably a bit overpriced. Food and drink in general was satisfactory and reasonably priced by resort standards, although we opted to visit some of the local restaurants most evenings.
The staff are wonderful... more laid-back then we have experienced in (for example) Fiji, but very accommodating. Our child was well looked after at Kids Club, although their facilities are pretty poor and could do with substantial investment. The daily activities such as coconut-husking, hermit crab racing etc. kept us amused
We met lots of wonderful people from NZ, Aussie and the US.
Overall, we determined that we would happily return to Rarotonga and the Edgewater because it is very relaxed and we had a great time.

Room Tip: All rooms are largely the same, although we opted for the far side of the resort to stay away from n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

yummy yummy fresh brekkie healthy fresh, light and yummy...
Did i mention it was yummy..Our brekkie was included in with our accomodation
the staff where lovely and helpful and that view to wake up to is just beautiful.
The advocados and paw paw with coconut just gorgous...I love to wake up and have a yummy
brekkie with that amazying view everything there was soooo nice you do not need million dollar
furnishing when you have such a beautiful suroundings..Thank you to the staff at the edgewater
and the manager there was so helpful and approachable..cheers guys..keep up the great work

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed 23rd of Feb for 6 nights and had a wonderful time. We stayed in two of the gardens rooms which were cleaned daily. The restaurant and bar were excellent and the staff at the resort were always so friendly.Cocktails and food all delicious. The snorkelling and swimming was good. The activities they had at the resort were wonderful and run by an excellent crew. Edgewater has everything there that you would want to get around the island and transfers to the different excursion you want to do daily. We absolutely loved it there and our first time there to so we will definitely will be going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have just returned from 6-days holiday in Rarotonga. First time in Cook islands and most likely the last one for us. Weather was great, personnel really friendly and helpful. We bought this vacation as a special Expo promotion and what we received for the money we paid was certainly worth it. On arrival we were given promotional vouchers for dinner, which took care of three evening meals for us, invitation to managers cocktail and lots of other small perks on "My time" promo. This hotel seems to be a great place for families with children and retirees. NZ Gold card holders get special treatment. Daily activities are very helpful to occupy children of all ages. There is also a Coconut Kids Club where you could leave your child during the day and we looked at it once but were not impressed with the child-minder at the time, who totally ignored us. We stayed in a studio-apartments (2A) which was run down, dated, with dirty floors and with kitchenette not really equipped for cooking. Bed linen is very old and grey in colour. We were not impressed with food at all if you are used to good quality food - you won't find it here! Supermarket we visited in town had bare minimum, fruits and veges were very expensive. Swimming on the beach not easy as sea bed is made of corals, you really need to have a footwear on to walk. Footwear is available at the resort for free. Overall we enjoyed our time as family together but beware NO FRILLS here :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.