We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Edgewater Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in a Garden 3 Bedroom Villa for a week. The villa was a small walk from the beach and the restaurant/bar etc. As a family of 4 we found the villa to be very spacious, clean and comfortable. We had all the amenities we needed from our own kitchen to our own washing machine (much needed with young kids).
We found the staff at the resort to be very friendly and helpful.
The resort was perfect for a young family. Safe swimming beach and a small pool area. The kids club was an added bonus, although we only used it once.
I would recommend the resort to other families.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Kia Orana RMW105,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed your "family holiday" and agree the villas are the perfect choice for a family, as well as having all the resort amenities to enjoy, including our popular Kids Club. Once again, thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other readers, and we look forward to being able to welcome you back to our Resort and Edgewater family again in the future.
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    366
    163
    62
    49
See reviews for
261
366
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at this resort in feb 2012 and found it very nice. the air conditioner worked well, when the door handle broke, repairs were very prompt, but no one came to help us use the safe so we gave up asking and coped fine, lucky apparently as some visitors have been burgled. This recent visit I attended a lunch at the resort and was not very happy with my steak burger, finding the meat overcooked. Friendly and welcoming service staff.

Room Tip: The more money you are prepared to spend of course the better the accommodation, Where I stayed was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here back in 2003 and were happy so this time we chose to stay again, split over 1 and 3 nights with Aitutaki inbetween we were glad we did. We were even upgraded to beachfront which was fantastic. We snorkelled out front, ate there, had cocktails at the happy hour, hired a car there, got the towels from the happy chaps down by the pool, attended the crab race, very funny and entertaining. In 10 years we didnt feel that it had changed much just got busier with alot more families this time round but it was school holidays. Also I believe they have a courtesy bus to church on Sunday, if you dont have transport take this up their singing is sublime, dont miss it. Thanks for a great holiday. Brett and Naomi

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Kia Orana mushyAustralia (Brett & Naomi),
Thank you for taking the time to post your great review on your second stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you just love the Cooks and everything about our Resort, and were also able to visit Aitutaki! We look forward to being able to welcome you both back again in the future! Please be sure to ask about our loyalty Coral Club membership next time you are here!
Meitaki Maata e Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

January 6th 2013, wow I have just spent 8 days in Rarotonga at the edgewater resort and spa. We had a beach front room, and it was unbelievable, the views where amazing, the lagoon was sparkling turquoise, and to those people who were talking about mozzies and stone fish, didn't see any. We had a Aitutaki day trip, we left for a tour with Vaka lagoon cruise, what great people, we stopped at 3 different islands as well as One foot island. Trust me in saying you will never see a beach and scenery like what we saw, it is truly a slice of heaven, the photos you see don't do it justice, it's that's spectacular. The resort had really good activities every day and very accommodating , the food was good and a lot of variety. Don't think about going, just get there you won't regret it. Sandy and Noel Phillips

Room Tip: Rooms very quiet, very spacious , our room had a massive spa, good hanging space for clothing, tea c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Kia Orana Sandy & Noel,
We thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you had a fantastic holiday and enjoyed all the great Activities we have on offer and also our fantastic location and stunning lagoon! We are also pleased you got the opportunity to visit spectacular Aitutaki! Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort again in the future!
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I had went with a group of 35 to the Edgewater Resort and Spa and we loved every moment of it. We had 5 three bedroom villa's 2 units and 1 beachfront deluxe unit and all of us well enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and so were the rest of the people on the island, also the cleaners that cleaned our room did an AMAZING job!!! we would go out for the day and on our return we would find our beds had been done, our towels re-stocked, our floors looked sparkling and there was sand on the floor from our jandals also we had all our valueable laying around and they placed them neatly on our draws aswell as our washing in a pile ready to be washed. 5stars for cleaning and staff. Loved my stay here... and i'll be coming back very soon :)

Room Tip: Well i can only speak for the rooms we had like the 3 bedroom garden villa's, the units by the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Kia Orana TomT,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you all loved every moment of your holiday and experienced the wonderful friendliness and efficiency of our staff. We have passed your comments on to our staff who enjoy reading these - especially our cleaning staff. Once again, thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you all back again in the future!
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed at the three bedroom villas with five other people, and although it was a full house, there was plenty of room inside as it was quite spacious. In regards to reading some of the other reviews and responses I noticed the dates were well before we arrived, but what caught my attention was the responses from Edgewater and their "rectified the situation" explanations. However the problems people spoke about were still in fact there, regarding poor tv satellite, and the sewerage smell that came at odd times. I guess the main goal was to keep the online presence in a good favor, eager to "rectify" any issues. Other than that my stay was fantastic, I had meant to leave a gift behind for whoever cleaned mine and the girls room as they had done an immaculate job and was a nice surprise to come home to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Kia Orana BBPhun,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are pleased you had a fantastic stay and enjoyed our spacious 3 bedroom villas and the high level of cleaning and service.
In regards to your comment on our responses to rectify situations, we assure you we take all comments very seriously and do in fact take quite an amount of time to investigate these. Regarding the TV satellite reception, on occasion there will be rooms where the reception is not right. It is very helpful if guests let us know if they are having problems with satellite reception while they are here so we are able to send someone to check and fix the problem immediately.
You mention a sewage smell that was mentioned in reviews previous to your visit. We can assure you we have rectified this problem. You stayed here in November and prior to that we had rectified the previous problem which was in August. You mention it came “at odd times” during your stay, however we have not had any issues that we are aware of. We are sure you can appreciate maintenance issues pop up now and then, and understandably we need a day or two to address them.
Again, thank you for your review and we are pleased that you did have a fantastic stay and look forward to being able to welcome you all back again in the future.
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Firstly, everywhere on this small island called Raro is beautiful! 34 kms to get around the whole place and just 1 ring road. The Edgewater - upgrade as much as you can afford I believe is the key. We stayed in a 'Beachfront Delux Suite' and had a spacious, very clean, 2 queen bed accommodation - but we gathered from friends in the other rooms that like ours, the rooms were all in need of a refresh. If its too noisy or your not happy it seems they will move you without a fuss (told by our friends) and all staff were helpful and friendly. I think it's the largest resort on the island and lots of families and little ones around. We saw a couple of weddings and they were amazing. We attended a wedding a the nearby 'Sunset' - now that was gorgeous accommodation and had the cost attached to go with it. My first island wedding I'd attended and can see why people go there. Wouldn't suggest it at their hottest time though, no one wanted to be in a dress or a shirt in the heat. Or get married later in the day like after 5pm! Nov it was humid and 28-32*.Definately go to the Italian Restaurant 'Spaghetti House' at the entrance to the Edgewater, best meal we had on the island! Generally food at the main restaurant was average and could be better. Breakfasts pretty good and you could pay for a cooked brekkie if you wanted. Go to the Police station to get your licence (nice photo souvenir) and we hired a convertable which had probably never had a service, sounded rough but didn't let us down either. NZ dollar is the currency (which was good for us Kiwis'), expensive to food shop but you can take almost anything non-liquid in with you so for a family I suggest a chilly bin cabin size, chip/packet mix dips, cheese, olives, biscuits, bread, tea, coffee, juice mixes, crackers, pâtés. Safari into the mountain area, lagoon cruise and Nada Island Night, all recommended attractions. It even has a golf course! Definately a must do once (if not more) destination. The Edgewater - jolly good value as you get what you pay for here I believe.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can. You must have working air con. Lots of the cheaper rooms are up lots of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Kia Orana Carol K,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comprehensive review on your recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa.
We are delighted you had a wonderful time and enjoyed all aspects of your holiday, both here at the Resort and on our beautiful island. We appreciate you taking the time to let other readers know about all our services and facilities and agree we are jolly good value, which also comes with friendly smiles, great service and a fantastic cultural experience!
Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort and our Edgewater family again in the future!
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.