We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aroa Kainga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arorangi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aroa Kainga
Save
You added Aroa Kainga to your Saves list
Aroa Beach, Arorangi, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Arorangi B&B and Inns
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed at Aroa Kainga in June 2012 and had a great time. The bungalows were very tidy with a modern feel and in a great location on the island. The property is set a couple of hundred metres back from the beach down a side street. At the end of the street is a really nice stretch of beach perfect for relaxing under a palm tree or for snorkelling in the lagoon. 2 minutes walk from the end of the street is a car/scooter/bicycle rental shop (scootering is a definite must while on Raro!) Do not underestimate how handy this is when it comes to hiring and returning your ride! Across the street from the hire shop are The Rarotongan and Sanctuary resorts which have restaurants and bars open everyday of the week (a lot of Raro closes on the weekend, Sunday especially, which can mean finding eateries difficult). Kaena restaurant next to the hire shop has really nice burgers too. The Rarotongan seemed more than happy for us to use their swim up bar while we were buying beers and cocktails!

If you are after well priced accommodation in a great location then I would highly recommend Aroa Kainga. The owner Tricia is lovely and was really easy to deal with, she also had some brilliant recommendations for restaurants (the Waterline and Vaima restaurants are excellent). There is also a really laid back friendly cat name Pumpkin that resides at the house and bungalows. We had a fantastic time and no doubt will return, thanks Tricia.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ToddRich6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed here 16 - 21 Feb 2012. A lovely spot about a 200m from the beach. We had the bungalow (2nd one in), the room was spacious, with a good kitchen lots of lovely perks like, bread, coffee, tea, oil, salt, heaps of towels, snorkling gear. A great passionfruit vine which we ate off every day and a lovely host.

The owner was away and her friend took care of us. This was nice as it was off the main road, but I think you would possibly find something a bit better and be right on the water. rarotonga is great and there are so many places to stay so i suggest looking around. But we wanted to cook our meals so this was a good option.

If you coming from NZ, bring your own frozen meat and snacks - way cheaper.

We ate heaps from local shops - fresh donuts hmmmmm.

Anyway would i stay again - nah id check out a beach side place.

$120 a night

Room Tip: there are 2 x bungalows - i think they are very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briarley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

My friend and I loved staying at this bungalow while in Raro for a wedding. Tricia was there to greet us (even tho it was 1.30am!) and we were thrilled to find that our wee house was just perfect for our needs - both beds comfy, clean, spacious (esp the bathroom) and loved the outdoor decking area and Pumpkin the cat. Breakfast and tea/coffee/milk/spreads provided, also beach towels and snorkling gear which was appreciated. Tricia had been great with replying to emails when booking and was very kind and generous to me -( I'd come from a very badly earthquake damaged suburb in Christchurch and was in dire need of a break) and I greatly appreciated her kindness.We loved the "private" beach just a short walk away, and thought the bungalow was great value for money compared with the resort most of the other wedding guests were staying at. Would love to come back some time and thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This place blew our minds! We stayed here while preparing for our wedding, and the bungalows were surrounded by flora and fauna which provided us with a fantastic amount of privacy and beautiful scenery.

The location is a beauty, it is off the main tourist track so you don't have to worry about being crowded by foot traffic. It is still a two minute walk from the beach. Coco Putt is also a three minute walk away, which provides a lovely buffet meal on Sunday nights at $35 NZD per person. Well worth it!

Sandy was overseeing the property during our stay, she was beyond amazing. She offered to assist us in anyway possible, from needing a lift to anywhere, to letting us wash our clothes in her machine. She also provided us with helpful brochures to local hotspots, which made our stay fun and action packed. While we were away Sandy was always keeping an eye on the property, and we felt 100% safe from robbery. We were also introduced to the neighbors who were all so friendly, and willing to share their local knowledge. We felt right at home and found it incredibly hard leaving this place.

The amenities offered exceeded our expectations. A loaf of bread, fresh fruit, butter and toppings, cooking and eating utensils, shampoo and conditioner, soap, a decent amount of bottled water, television, telephone with free local calls, DVD player, radio, microwave, fridge and freezer, reef shoes, and snorkels.

The bungalow itself was immaculate in every way. We were thrilled with it. The bathroom was a superb size. The wardrobe was large enough to hold both of our suitcases so we didn't have to worry about unpacking everything. There aren't any clothing draws, but there is a shelf for clothing. The kitchen is a bit small, but the living room is adequate. The deck is a good size, and has two loungers upon it. There is also a BBQ on the deck. There isn't any signage, so there is absolutely no way you'd know this was accommodation for tourists which is done on purpose for security reasons.

In terms of our wedding photography this was a great spot. Both bungalows mirror each other - so shots of the bridal and groom preparation looked consistent, which was a very nice touch. Aroa Kainga made our stay in Rarotonga so incredible, it was great value for money, and we'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chanel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We loved our stay at Aroa Kainga. Tricia was most helpful with organising our booking and was quick and efficient at communicating weeks out from our arrival. We arrived and met Sandy who was wonderful and full of knowledge and smiles. Sandy offered her help with anything multiple times a day, gave us great advice on the best restaurants, shops and other things to do, and continually made sure we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Mata was also very friendly and helpful with organising the payment of our bill. And who could forget Pumpkin the cat?!

The bungalows are perfect with pretty much everything you need during your stay. They're light, airy, and have such a friendly and comfortable atmosphere, it was that hard to leave. Fresh fruit, cereal, coffee, tea, milk, plus a full-sized fridge, bbq, 2-element stove, iron, ironing board, tv, dvd player, radio, snorkelling gear, reef shoes, vacuum cleaner, towels, toilet paper....the list goes on and on!

We loved the privacy of the rear deck and gardens, the bed was comfortable and the modern bathroom and kitchen were both extremely tidy and in good working order.

The bungalows are close to all of the important things - vehicle rental shop, dairy, scuba, coco putt, T's Tattoos, and of course the beach!

The only negative thing we could think of is if Aroa Kainga gets too popular and will be booked out for our next trip...this place is a hidden gem and when we return to Rarotonga, no doubt we will be checking Aroa Kainga first for availability.

We can't stop talking about Aroa Kainga and we much preferred it when we went to Little Polynesian afterwards (which was extremely disappointing and a huge ripoff in comparison).

Kiaorana to Sandy, Tricia and Mata. Thanks for the lovely stay. Aroa Kainga sits at 100% on our scale of awesomeness!

Joe, Chanel, Tricia and Sam

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joeskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We spent our honeymoon at Aroa kainga during April 2011 and had the most marvellous time. It is spotlessly clean and tidy with a well laid out interior and spacious bathroom. Lovely bed linen and towels are always a pleasure. Snorkelling gear provided and many lazy days on the deck loungers, in between walking down the road 200 m to the best snorkelling on the island! Even though our host was away during our stay her local friends took excellent care of us- thanks Kathy & Mata, and were always kind and helpful with their information about where to go and what to do. it was quiet and peaceful and beautiful all round and we would certainly recommend this for couples who want a home away from home. Debbie & David

Room Tip: Ask for the road-front bungalow if you want more seclusion....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed in one of the bungalows for 12 nights and loved every moment here. Sandy who was our host at the time (as Trish was away) was amazing! Full of handy local knowledge and always there if we needed something, she was great and it was sad to leave!Our bungalow was perfect for our needs and only 2 minutes walk from the beach. The snorkelling directly out front of the road where we were situated was the best! So many fish, and the beach is just gorgeous.
Would recommend Aroa Kainga to everyone, we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beth756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
0.0 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.0 mi away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manuia Beach Resort
Manuia Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aroa Kainga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aroa Kainga

Address: Aroa Beach, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arorangi
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Aroa Kainga Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing