We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon bliss at Aroa Kainga” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aroa Kainga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arorangi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aroa Kainga
Save
You added Aroa Kainga to your Saves list
Aroa Beach, Arorangi, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Arorangi B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Honeymoon bliss at Aroa Kainga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We spent our honeymoon at Aroa kainga during April 2011 and had the most marvellous time. It is spotlessly clean and tidy with a well laid out interior and spacious bathroom. Lovely bed linen and towels are always a pleasure. Snorkelling gear provided and many lazy days on the deck loungers, in between walking down the road 200 m to the best snorkelling on the island! Even though our host was away during our stay her local friends took excellent care of us- thanks Kathy & Mata, and were always kind and helpful with their information about where to go and what to do. it was quiet and peaceful and beautiful all round and we would certainly recommend this for couples who want a home away from home. Debbie & David

Room Tip: Ask for the road-front bungalow if you want more seclusion....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed in one of the bungalows for 12 nights and loved every moment here. Sandy who was our host at the time (as Trish was away) was amazing! Full of handy local knowledge and always there if we needed something, she was great and it was sad to leave!Our bungalow was perfect for our needs and only 2 minutes walk from the beach. The snorkelling directly out front of the road where we were situated was the best! So many fish, and the beach is just gorgeous.
Would recommend Aroa Kainga to everyone, we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed at Aroa Kainga for 7 nights, doing Rarotonga. It was just perfect for our needs: big apartment, with seperate kitchen, big bedroom and big bathroom.

It's very clean, well maintained and high standard.

We stayed in the apartment that is actually in the private house of the owner, but it still was very private and we didn't hear a thing from the top floor.

It's 3 min walking down to the Aroa Beach (great snorkling!), 5 min to the closest dive operator and bike rentals.

For staying on Rarotonga, the valua was excellent, it's a bit pricy to stay in a big resort, and this gives you so much more freedom.

Nice garden on the doorstep, with papaya, passion fruit and avacado - just for you to pick.

It's a bit off from restaurants, but with a moped, you get everywhere on this island in 20-30 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed at one of the bungalows for 12 nights and absolutely loved it. Very clean and quiet, only moments from the beach. Great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauna, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

The bungalow we had was perfect for us. Quiet location, very relaxing, and Tricia was willing to help us with anything we needed. Very clean, nice gardens, spacious bathroom, fully equipped kitchen. A friendly cat too. We hated to leave.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

It is in a great location, 2 mins from a great snorkelling spot(Rarotongan Beach Resort and Spa) and as it is off the main road it is pretty quite. It is a self contained unit, with a good size kitchen, with a great assortment of essential cooking items. The bathroom was clean as was the whole place. It was a very neat place. On arrival we had a bowl of fruit (bananas, passionfruit, oranges), bread, condiments, milk and juice which was a lovely touch and much appreciated. We also had a phone, so were able to make local phone calls which was extremly helpful as both our mobiles did not work in the Cook Islands. We had our own resident cat named Pumpkin who was very cute. The owner was overseas while we were there, however, we were well looked after by her friend. Would stay here again without doubt.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed here after our wedding on Raro, for our honeymoon. What a charming place! It has a full kitchen, little living room, separate bedroom area, ceiling fans, and is fairly private. Tricia was really great - even driving us to the hospital and waiting around while my hubby had a thing on his foot taken care of.

It's off the main road, which is nice too. It's an easy 5 min. walk to a beautiful beach - we went there for nearly every sunset. The property is lush and beautiful. We even picked a huge avocado that went in our salad. One of my favorite things was riding our bikes up to the back road - no traffic, just friendly people and breathtaking views of the mountains and surrounding scenery. The only negative I could say would be that the mosquitoes kept me off the lanai deck out back, and the shower is a little flimsy.

All in all a great value - I'd highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aroa Kainga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aroa Kainga

Address: Aroa Beach, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arorangi
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Aroa Kainga Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aroa Kainga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.