We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frozen veges” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oceans Restaurant & Bar

Oceans Restaurant & Bar
Crown Beach Resort & Spa | Beach Road, Arorangi 682, Cook Islands
+68223953
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Arorangi
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: Polynesian, Californian, Pacific Rim, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Oceans Restaurant & Bar is located on the waterfront with indoor and beach dining under a billion stars and sand between your toes. Sunsets guaranteed daily. Daily triple happy hours three times per day where you 'buy one, get one free'. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, including hugely popular theme nights including Island Feast & Cultural Show on Mon + Thu, Steak & BBQ Ribs & Salad Buffet on Fri. Beautiful setting. Gracious Polynesian service.
Hamilton, NZ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Frozen veges”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We came here for dinner whilst staying in Rarotonga, the meals we received were extremely substandard and very disappointing. I ordered an asian seafood platter which consisted of 3 of each of mini spring rolls, samosas and prawn twisters. There was meant to be an asian dipping sauce but what i got was a bowl of watered down sweet and sour sauce with mixed frozen veges in it. Not impressed at all, especially as the prices reflect that of a decent restaurant. The only plus is that the staff were nice.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbrmanager, Manager at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your review of your snack meal at Oceans Restaurant & Bar.

Our Asian DFS (deep fried stuff) Platter features deep fried spring rolls, samosas, Bhajia and fries with a dipping sauce - which is only available between 3-6pm, our snack hours during happy hour on the beach.

The Seafood Platter you talk about is a totally different meal featuring fresh, pan-fried & grilled seafood selections which has received rave reviews from all our guests & dinners who have had this meal for 2.

Importantly, we don't do frozen vegetables in our restaurants - everything is fresh from our suppliers around the island.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the service from our team.

Kia Manuia,

Mii Pauka
Manager - Oceans Restaurant & Bar
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    42
    16
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was looking for a really special meal for my last night and was not disappointed. The service was exceptional and I really enjoyed the view over the lagoon

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We booked in at Oceans Restaurant for a birthday treat for my sister. On arrival the pathway through the garden was magnificent therefore you had a sense that the restaurant must be the same too and it definitely was looking straight out to the blue sea. Many people were enjoying happy hour cocktails, watching a stunning sunset. We had heard so much about the ribs on the menu and was really disappointed when there was none or sold out. But the rest of the menu did not disappoint. We ordered fish and chips, gourmet burger, pork belly and the lamb curry which arrived promptly hot, tasty and nicely presented. The service staff was helpful and the music really sealed the night. Wow we will be back for the cocktails, the food and the music. Highly recommended to any traveler who visit the shores of Rarotonga.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great dinner, average pub grub lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Good food and service. Dinner on the beach watching the sunset was great, lovely cocktail happy hour from 3-6pm but lunches were the usual greasy burger or pizza and chips. Nothing healthy on the lunch menu at all which was a shame.
Dinner was towards the pricey side but no more so than other restaurants and at least there's a great view.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Superb Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had breakfast here on each morning and was always blown away by the service and the food on offer..not to much to make you confused on what you wanted ..menu also had cooked breakfast available which were prepared and delivered in quick time....on a aside brought back some fresh tuna from a fishing trip for lunch and chef prepared the tuna as sushimi and also grilled with a fresh salad .....fantastic hard to explain..pictures to follow.

Happy hour of course from 3-6 pm has to be the best on the Island..and you can while away the time watching the sunset and taking in the view.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesthechef, Head Chef at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Kia Orana:) Thank you very much for that note. Hope to see you back with us in a near future:) Take care James:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceans Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Oceans Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceans Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.