We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you go on an empty stomach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alberto's Restaurant

Alberto's Restaurant
Arorangi, Cook Islands
23597
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 restaurants in Arorangi
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
1 review
“Make sure you go on an empty stomach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Attentive and excellent service. Meals are very large, so make sure you go on an empty stomach and don't fill up on entrées, as you won't finish your main!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    112
    43
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Alberto's Restaurant, Rarotonga, Cook Islands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We can definitely recommend the Swordfish Steaks, absolutely delicious! Busy place, so recommend booking. The service was a little too prompt, we got our Starters & the Main course served all together, (and before we'd had chance to help ourselves to our salads), which made it hard to fit everything on the table, & to decide how to eat it all.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“You have to be hungry to go to Alberto's!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was a lovely restaurant on the west side of Rarotonga, the menu was extensive and you would struggle hard not to find something you'd enjoy. I went there twice and both times had great fresh fish meals but wow they are large, lovely help yourself salad bar in a friendly atmosphere. Good value for money and well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good - A Real Time Warp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our resort. Expected it to be an Italian place to eat, but it was a lot more. The place is very laid back, no need to dress up here. The place was like stepping back into a mid 70's restaurant - all the classic old dishes - prawn cocktail, garlic prawns, Hungarian soup, carpet bag steak, steak and mushrooms, and of course the garlic bread. It even had the separate self serve salad bar. All the food we had was very good, a great piece of kingfish, well grilled. My wifes steak was also excellent. Well done.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent Value for Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We've just completed a week's holiday on Rarotonga in the Cook Islands. This was one of the memorable dining experiences for our stay.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alberto's Restaurant also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Arorangi, Rarotonga
 

Been to Alberto's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alberto's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.