We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to Write” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kikau Hut Restaurant

Kikau Hut Restaurant
Aorangi, Arorangi, Cook Islands
0682 26860
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 restaurants in Arorangi
Cuisines: European, Vegetarian, Pacific Rim, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A small intimate restaurant. The relaxed atmosphere, local art, beautiful gardens combined with excellent service give it a special ambience for all diners. European food with island flair, gluten free and vegetarian options along with a childrens menu and transfers by arrangement make Kikau Hut special.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Had to Write”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

I had to write after reading review of terrible sickening. We were in Raro for 6 days prior to coming to Aitutaki we ate at the Kikau Hut twice in that time and the food was exceellant the curried scallops were wonderful. Never written a review before just had to after reading terrible sickenings review. Going back in 10 days and look forward to eating thier again before heading back to Canada. Also the BYO is fantastic as you can have a wonderful bottle of wine without breaking the bank, not like at home. Barry Canada

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kikauteam, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
Hi Barry Thanks for your review on Kikau hut and look forward to seeing you both next time at Kikau hut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    299
    83
    19
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent food in a casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We ate here three times in one week. The food compares well with Tamarind House, which has been lauded as best on the Island. Atmosphere is "kick back" casual. Kevin and Cathy make you feel at home. "Catch of the day" is a must try, as are the desserts. You can even phone ahead for take out, or BYOB for a corkage fee.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kikauteam, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
Thank you for your kind words and the team at Kikau hut hope to see you again in the very special Cook Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
“Excellence & Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Having spent 12 days in Raro and just returned we spend 2 exellent evenings dining at Kikau. On both visits the food was excellent, service was quick, efficient and friendly and it was overall excellent value. It is not haute quisine but very very good food, well prepared and well presented. The previous negative reviewer should not make a judgement on one visit. It was the best meal[s] we had during our visit!!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful, terrible,sickening”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

The first sign of trouble was the chef himself picking us up an hour late from our hotel on the other side of the island. He still had his dirty apron on and informed us during the drive that there would be no entertainment because the new owners were still in New Zealand and "we need at least 10 people to pay for the music". It was opening night after two weeks of closure and the two week-old opened wine certainly bore testament to that fact. The other sign of trouble was the neighbouring diner's untouched "Alan's Chicken Surprise" after half an hour. The "rib-eye steak" was in fact a fatty rump steak and the re-heated potatoes were as inedidible as they were cold. The stale bread soldiers that accompanied the frozen scallops were ideal accompaniments for prison fare but not for a restaurant that wallows in good reviews from a previous era.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best food on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

I've been dreaming of going back to this restaurant ever since we left! One of the owners picked us up at our hotel and drove us to the best food on the Island. There is no ocean view in the place which we were disappointed by, but it was quickly made up for in excellent service, amazing live music, great food and personalized attention. Kevin and Cathy both spent time at our table and pulled up a chair to tell us about what not to miss, the history of their establishment and even the other best restaurants to eat at. We brought our own wine and they were happy to pair it with their great food. Good here the first dinner on the island and you'll be set for the rest of your trip.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kikau Hut Restaurant also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Kikau Hut Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kikau Hut Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.