We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome - who expects Italian on Raro?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wind Jammer Restaurant

Wind Jammer Restaurant
Beach Road | Sunset Coast, Arorangi 682, Cook Islands
+68223953
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Cook Islands leading affordable fine dining restaurant with first class cuisine, international service and candle-lit setting. Modern Italian cuisine using the freshest produce and the highest-grade meats. Every meal is created from scratch. Desserts are top class using the best imported ingredients. An absolutely beautiful dining experience. Italian wines available too.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Awesome - who expects Italian on Raro?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We went there on our first night staying at the Crown Beach as we had been told its good. That was an understatement!

Yes - it is Italian food - and who wants to eat that on a south Pacific holiday? Trust me, compared to some of the food you get on the island, WindJammer is a must.

The restaurant has its own quaint ambiance. It is definilteyl clean and very tidy. The staff were fantatsic - couldn't help enough.

The food - you just MUST try their saffron flavoured seafood and tomato soup - mouthgasmic! I had the tagliatelli with mushrooms and ham (ask them to put onions in it) - beautifull. My wife had Lamb chops and loved them.

It was actually that good that we went back again. Go WindJammer!!!!!!!!!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    57
    24
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We dined at Windjammer with a group of friends, and really enjoyed it. Meals were of a really high standard and cooked to perfection. It is in front of Crown Beach resort, but an easy walk from the Edgewater or Manuia Beach Resort. We would have dined there more often but on a couple of occasions it was full. Highly recommend

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great Italian meal in Rarotonga.

We are frequent travellers to Italy and this was GREAT Italian food .
A perfect sale to start followed by the dish of the day Mahi Mahi (super)

Our maître d / waiter was superb and professional

Highly recommended

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The service is wonderful. The food is absolutely fantastic with great attention to detail and customer satisfaction. There were so many places to dine at in our 2 weeks but we made sure we came back our last night to dine here!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“An ok dining experience...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were staying at Crown Beach Resort and had read everywhere about this 'award winning restaurant' we booked for dinner and the restaurant appearance is quite nice, intimate and not many tables so the service is good. We had brushcetta for entree but were disappointed that it was simply toasted bread with cheese & pesto, not tomatoes in sight! I had the lasagne for my main meal which was quite pricey at $24 and wasn't served with any kind of side salad or similar. The lasagne itself was quite nice but with so many other italian restuarants in the local area for the price I did not feel it was the quality I was expecting...we left feeling underwhelmed & chose not to dine at Windjammer again unfortunately.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wind Jammer Restaurant also viewed

Arorangi, Rarotonga
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Wind Jammer Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wind Jammer Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.