We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sketches Mountain Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ravensbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sketches Mountain Resort
Save
You added Sketches Mountain Resort to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   3143 Hampton-Esk Road, Ravensbourne, Queensland 4352, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed here recently and the place was just beautiful. It was a 3 bedroom with large living area, outdoor spa and sauna. We enjoyed using the facilities like the tennis court, spa and sauna. Wish the gold course was more maintained, very hard to play with no green. Apparently the jets in the spa kept up some of the people staying with me which is a bummer but the beds were very comfortable, the place was very clean. Only set back was the shower floor felt unsteady and the acoustics in the main area were very poor to play a movie. But enjoyed out getaway very much!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed this second time in Black bean whereas previously we were in Kookaburra. Again we booked it through ravensbournescapse as others have done. The houses are in a great location and well kept. It is easy to find (I'm not sure why other have had difficulties) and they are well furnished. We preferred Kookaburra to Black bean as it has a little more character and a much nicer balcony and view from the main room. Black bean just seemed to be lacking some character.

Overall though we had a good time and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My partner and I have recently returned from a night at Tree Tops Cottage at Sketches Resort, which we booked directly through Ravensbourne Escapes.com.

Sketches Resort was easy to find, being located directly on the Esk-Hampton main road. It is in an idyllic location, nestled at the top of the mountains, and a short drive from both Ravensbourne and Crows Nest National Parks. The cottage itself was harder to locate, due to a lack of signage on-site.

Once inside, Tree Tops was tidy and well-appointed, and we especially enjoyed the private outdoor Jacuzzi and extra-comfortable queen bed. The kitchen facilities were limited (just two electric burners – no oven), and we were disappointed with the lack of basic provisions (salt/pepper/oil/fresh milk) which are usually included with properties of this price and standard. We also weren’t sure whether the tap water was suitable for drinking - it seemed to be pumping directly from the rainwater tank - so we ended up purchasing bottled water. The cottage manual was basic and didn’t include any information on facilities outside the resort i.e. local attractions/nearest grocery stores. Three light bulbs had also blown – easy to remedy, but there was nowhere to leave feedback or repair requests.

Another thing to note - a sign at the entrance to the resort advised that the business has recently gone into receivership, and this became apparent as we walked through the property. The original reception building, outdoor bar and function area had all been closed for some time, and are now in a state of disrepair. There were also multiple signs relating to a Golf Course onsite, although this obviously hasn’t functioned in years. Fortunately, this didn’t affect our stay at Tree Tops as the cottage is slightly removed from these areas – however, it did leave us feeling like the property had seen better days.

And one small thing, completely out of the owners control - there seemed to be trail-bike tracks on the other side of the valley, and we found the noise of revving engines and ‘hard riding’ up and down the hills less than peaceful.

In review, Tree Tops Cottage is a charming property that would benefit from some simple improvements, or a lower price tag.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Creek
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The cottage was just as described on the "Ravensbourne Escape" website. Very cosy and immaculately clean. The hot tub was great - we did not experience the spa jet noise problems described by previous reviewers so they may have rectified that problem. The bed was very comfortable and the cottage was nice and dark in the mornings which allowed for lazy sleep ins! It is a little tricky to find the "Treetops cottage" once inside the property - make sure you print the directions when they email them to you and have a look on a google map (photo) to get an idea of where the actual cottage is. The price was good too - we got a "pay for 3 nights and stay 4 special" so that was an added bonus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goondiwindi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at Tree Tops which we booked through Ravensbourne Escapes from 30/08/12 to the 1/09/12. The property was extremely hard to locate, directions where not great and the chalet did not have a number or name on it. The Chalet was neat, clean and lovely itself however the first night of staying there we had no hot water (we contacted the agent whom was fantastic however even she could not heat up a system that had only been turned on that day) The 2nd complaint was that the hot tub on the verander adjacent to the bedroom had a pump that went on and activated the jets of the tub every hour through the night, this ended up with one sleepless night as we kept jumping up to turn it off, (in the morning we contacted the agent whom once again was very helpful), the owner came around and checked the tub with the advice to turn it down to 18 dec overnight to stop the pump turning on through the night. Well that did not work, it still activated all of the 2nd night keeping us up. The views where beautiful however no hot shower and no sleep does not equal as restful escape. We have stayed in lovely Chalets close by which were amazingly beautiful, restful and on a whole so much better for the same $.

Room Tip: Turn off the hot tub if you want a peaceful sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We just stayed at the Tree Tops Cottage at Skecthes Resort, which we booked through Ravensbourne Escapes.com and it was perfect. Very clean and tidy. We loved the jacuzzi on the deck. It had everything we needed along with a relaxing setting overlooking the native bush whilst the beautiful coloured parrots fed on the season's berries. A perfect romantic weekend away.

Room Tip: We recommend the Tree Tops Cabin for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sketches Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sketches Mountain Resort

Address: 3143 Hampton-Esk Road, Ravensbourne, Queensland 4352, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Ravensbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ravensbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sketches Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sketches Mountain Resort is tucked into the eastern escarpment of the Great Dividing Range and bordered by Ravensbourne National Park. It is a 4.5 star country retreat managed by the Macrae Family. Sketches is in a class of its own on the Darling Downs with a variety of chalets available from intimate one bedroom love nests to expansive three bedroom lodges. No two chalets are the same and all have been finished with comfort and a sense of occasion. Artists, writers and daydreamers alike find inspiration in the peace and serenity of this 85 hectare property as do those who simply wish to relax on the verandah, in the spa or in front of the fire with a glass of wine, contemplating the view and enjoying the bird life as they flitter musically through the trees. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sketches Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.