We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful & Unique Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca del Sol
Save
You added Finca del Sol to your Saves list
350 meters from the beach, Santa Cruz, Isla de Ometepe Rivas, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Beautiful & Unique Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

What a beautiful and special place to ring in the new year! We stayed at Finca del Sol for three nights over the holiday and it was the highlight of our trip to Nicaragua. Finca del Sol is located in the foothills of Maderas with great views of Concepcion (be warned: though always a lovely sight its top is often obscured by clouds.) Sheri and Cristiano are attentive and caring hosts. In addition to helping book taxis and tour guides they provide in each room a binder full of typed up tour and restaurant information--not the pile of brochures you find at most places. They also have a huge DVD collection from which you can borrow from and watch on your room's DVD player.

We loved meeting other travelers around the breakfast table in the morning. The food was really yummy. My favorite was an omelet made with fresh basil and rosemary. We also had a great quiche on January 1st. Sheri said she wanted to make something special that day as it would be the first thing we ate in the new year.

Though there are tons of fun activities you can pack your entire day with, we really enjoyed relaxing on the finca in the afternoon, sitting in the hammock reading a book and watching the tropical sheep and birds outside our door. We stayed in Casa la Luna (the blue cabin). The bed was nice and had a mosquito net that we never used as we found the island to be bug free. The composting toilet was clean and hassle free. It was cloudy so we didn't get much warm water--our showers were cool but not frigid.

The location is great for exploring the island. The trail up Maderas begins right behind the property. We opted for the hike to the mirador rather than the 6-8 hour trek to the top. Sheri arranged a great guide Alexis who spoke English and was very knowledgeable, pointing out all the unique animal and plant life. We saw howler and white-faced monkeys, parrots, and even a (non-poisonous) yellow-bellied vine snake. The previous day we kayaked Rio Istian. We saw amazing bird life, a crocodile, some monkeys and again our guide Willie was excellent. Order food at the restaurant before your trip. The fish was great and I think their fresh juice was the best I had in all of Nicaragua.

The town of Santa Cruz is a short walk from the finca. It is small but we were able to eat at a different place each night. Definitely bring a flashlight especially if you are eating at the El Encanto which is a 300 meter trail from the road.

Overall a wonderful and unique place, great for couples and families!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    47
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
184
20
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Yes...the buildings are gorgeous, the food is plentiful and delicious, and the hosts are lovely. Every morning Volcan Concepcion is the first thing you see and then a festive welcome from the sweet dogs. The property is well situated, convenient for both Balgue and Santa Cruz and the beach. We stayed for five nights and would have happily stayed many more. I appreciated how much Sheri wants tourism to benefit everyone on Ometepe; she has a passion for community and generous spirit. This island is fantastic and Finca del Sol is a very special part of it.

Room Tip: Bamboo Lodge will make you feel like a rockstar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was my first experience of eco-tourism, and I should say I'm really impressed. Not only the cabins are incredible, with lots of space, great beds and beautiful design, but the only thought that they were constructed by Cristiano and Sheri with almost no help makes them even more valuable. It is also amazing how the guys developed eco-friendly environment at their place — solar power, water filters, compost toilletes — it makes you think about your own attitude towards nature and what you may change about it. And the views from finca are great — one of the best moments during whole trip was sitting in front of our cabin at night and watch stars. You can see the Milky Way!

My only advise — don't forget a flashlight.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Sheri and Christiano have put a lot of work into this little B&B and it shows. If you're into eco tourism, this place is great. Everything is solar powered, the toilets (I'll admit I was nervous as their website only described them as environmentally friendly) are very clean, there is no smell and I never had a problem using them. You can only get hot water later in the day but really who cares, that's when you don't want to be outside anyway. It's a bit of a walk in (we stayed in the loft so we had to go 500m from the entrance to the loft each time!) which is kind of a pain because I'm a frequent/urgent urinator lol! Really beautiful property, great adventures Sheri and Christiano are extremely helpful and will go out of your way to make you comfortable. I would recommend ditching the breakfast because for the same price you can get way more food down the street at other restaurants and it meat if you want it. Other than that, great place!

Room Tip: If you have problems sleeping with white noise, skip out on the loft above the laundry room. Lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snpOmetepe, Owner at Finca del Sol, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Hello Saniya,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here! It was a pleasure to serve you. We agree with that with US$5.50 you can get a bigger breakfast in the local restaurant, however sometimes healthier is better than cheaper. We do not use highly processed food with chemicals, dyes, etc....and truly believe eating healthy is more important than providing cheep food.

We really try our best to give a whole food product, something healthy and are able to cater to people with gluten, dairy and egg allergies (provided we know ahead of time)...as our main goal is to provide a wholesome start to the day.

We provide details on our website, that mention the types of vegetarian breakfasts we make. ( There is no supermarket in Ometepe that sells bacon, ham, breakfast meats, etc)

We bake our own whole wheat bread in a wood fire oven, make our own jams, use real butter, organic free range chicken eggs, make pancakes from scratch ( No prefab mixes here!), make our homemade yogurt from fresh cows milk (our neighbor has a cow) & roast and grind the fantastic organic coffee we buy from micro organic coffee growers in our area.

In addition, if someone is still hungry and would like a little extra food ( fruit salad, home baked bread, or pancakes) we are always happy to serve it free of charge.

We hope to see you again sometime!

Kindest regards, Sheri and Cristiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I will not lie: I hesitate to tell people about this place because I want to keep it a secret for myself and my boyfriend! But anyway... we stayed here two nights. The owners Sheri and Cristiano are awesome people, which is an understatement. The room we stayed in (cabin el sol) was very spacious, clean, and felt right at home as soon as we closed the door. The grounds are beautiful and breakfasts were awesome! We didn't have hot water because we always chose to shower at night when the sun was down, but neither my boyfriend nor myself found this to be an inconvenience... It's awesome to stay at an ecolodge, and I think staying here helped me learn quite a bit about the island just in the few days we were there.

I'd never stayed at an ecolodge before.. I thought we'd have a ton of bugs in our room, but during our stay we only encountered a couple in the bathroom. It appeared that they could not climb on the paint on the walls, so it was really easy to avoid the couple that were there. And just for a reference, we encountered fewer insects in our cabin at Finca del Sol than the fancy villa we stayed in during our visit to San Juan del Sur. Finca del Sol is very, very well managed.

For those of you curious about Maderas, Sheri arranged for us to hike Maderas while we were there; the guide met up with us after breakfast and we were able to walk to directly from Finca del Sol to the trail. Breakfast was delicious and good hiking fuel, and the lunches they packed for us were decent, too.

They are extremely accommodating and friendly. I'm not exaggerating when I say that I already missed Finca del Sol when we were on the ferry leaving Ometepe... It was my favorite place that we stayed at during our trip.

Room Tip: The cabin el sol is the closest to the entrance and easiest for parking a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My partner and i stayed here for three nights in December. Sheri and Christiano have put their heart and soul into this finca, and they are the most wonderful hosts we have encountered during our trip. The meals were delicious, the place is close to everything you need. The whole concept on living with solar and compostable toilets is amazing and something to be experienced. I would recommend this place to everyone who isnt afraid of being close to nature

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in November. We're avid hikers and tried to see as much of the island as we could, but would have been perfectly happy staying on the property during the day. The property is located in an ideal location between Concepcion and Maderas and close to other sites. Sherri and Christiano are wonderful hosts and were very helpful in planning our days. We stayed in Cabin el Sol but all have nice patios to relax with a glass of Flor De Canas, with views of the water and volcano!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca del Sol

Address: 350 meters from the beach, Santa Cruz, Isla de Ometepe Rivas, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca del Sol is pleased to offer private, spacious, eco friendly cabins in peaceful surroundings ! Our property is 12.5 Acres, and has approximately 20% of 3rd generation forest growth, with a maximum of 10 guests on the grounds at one time - reducing our environmental footprint on Mother Earth. Located in the tropical dry forest within the national reserve. Here you have an opportunity to view howler monkey, parrots and a variety of other interesting critters, flora and fauna! We welcome you to our refuge created in harmony within nature. An excellent location for those interested in exploring nature & the beauty that surrounds us, from the volcano to the river, to the beach, the possibilities are endless.The cabins are Eco friendly with comfortable with double or queen beds, mosquito netting and private bathrooms with warm water. Each cabin has its own private porch and garden setting with comfortable chairs and hammocks boasting fantastic views of Volcano Conception and Lake Cocibolca! Our cabins are equipped with 21' screen with a DVD player and huge selection of films in English, Spanish and Italian, night light, fan, security box, daily maid service, purified drinking water, clean and hygienic composting toilet system and 100% solar powered.Included in the rate is access to WIFI, complimentary beach towels,and concierge services. Our organic breakfast is optional, boasting things like homemade bread, yogurt and granola. Your hosts speak English, Spanish and Italian. We are centrally located in the village of Santa Cruz, within walking distance to 10 small restaurants and bicycle rentals. We are steps away from the trail to Volcano Madaras, and 10 minutes walk from the sandy beach. We are on the public bus route making it easy to get around for all your explorations while you are on the island.If you are looking for something a little different than the usual hotel experience, opt for the adventure, break the mold and dive into all that Ometepe Island and Finca del Sol has for you! See you on Ometepe!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Del Sol Hotel Santa Cruz
Finca Del Sol Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.