We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Power Rum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Morgan's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Morgan's
Santa Cruz, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Power Rum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This place was AWESOME!!!! From the cute little private houses to the great bar scene and food. Tes and Anton and especially Dragon made the experience incredible. You know who the coolest Irishman in all of Nicaragua is? MORGAN!!!! This truly is a place you can feel at home immediately. Not to mention his sister and his mom are total Babe's, capital B. When I go back again, which I will I can't wait to stay there again. Just be careful with the "power rum", it's a doozy. Love you guys!!!!

P.S. The sun setting behind Concepcion (volcano) seen from the mirador is an incredible site!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    21
    8
    10
    7
See reviews for
2
28
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Morgan's has a perfect social scene with big tables to drink beers with other travelers and a lookout tower with views of the sunset over conception volcano! You will never have a dull moment at this place so be prepared for a night of bottomless liters of Tona!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Spent 3 nights at Little Morgans and had an amazing time. Great time spent swimming down in the lake (a 2 min walk) with a bottle of rum, good food in the evenings and amazing views. One of the guides attached to the hostel, Alexis, is a great choice if you want to climb either of the volcanoes on the island. Felt really at home even though I wasn't there that long, thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We came from Granada to Ometepe, not having decided on anything until the morning before we left. We stumbled across Little Morgan's by accident, and thank god for that. Our original plan was to stay for two, maybe three nights tops. We left after a week although we would have stayed for so much longer. The location is just great, and with the amazingly helpful and friendly staff, cool dorms and incredible vibe, it was almost impossible to leave. It is somewhat of a party hostel though, so if you're looking for something more tranquil and to get in touch with nature, Little Morgan's might not be the place for you, but for backpackers or others who like to meet other travellers it is the perfect place. The bar area is super nice, and it's where everyone comes together at night to have dinner, meet people and have a drink or two (be careful with the power rums. They're lethal. Good, but lethal)
I know I'll be coming back some day, enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Morgan is a great host as are all the staff. Really homely feel. Short walk to the beach and we also did a fishing trip from the front of the property. Great place to stay

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Arrived with no plan and ended up staying here for four nights! The staff was absolutely great, very helpful and a lot of fun! Food was delicious (especially the big breakfast sandwich!), dorm room was beautiful, with comfy beds and big lockers. Room and bathroom where both clean. There are multiple places to hang out during the day and it's right at the lake. But don't forget that it is a place where there is a party every night, don't expect much sleep.. I had no difficulties with that, had a blast every night and read my book and watched movies with other guests and staff during the day. I Will definitely come back here some day!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Nice place, one of the best on the island. Many reasons for that :
- Great vibe, lots of backpackers, lots a party
- Clean rooms, big comfy beds, mosquito nets
- lots of hammocks, next to nice common places
- very good bathrooms /showers. As well a shower where you can watch the volcano in the same time as taking a shower
- Saying volcanoes - great view on the bay and the Vocan de Conception. Sunset watching is favorite time, everyone is on the watch tower
- the staff is very friendly

Cons :
- mosquitos and sand flyes, thats a huge problem, cant say that hostel can do anything about it anyway :)
- prices for food and drinks : I know that its an island and supplies are a bit more expensive, but as a budget traveller I would preffer to have cheaper meals and drinks than those in the hostel. There is an efford to be made there - just 300m away there are cheaper places to eat and have a beer. As well prices for dorms are a bit higher than the usual for Nicaraga

In total, despite prices, its a great place - went there for 2 days, stayed 4 or 5... a real party black hole

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Little Morgan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Morgan's

Address: Santa Cruz, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty lodging in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Morgan's is a beautiful place on the lake. With a range of accommodation options from private casitas to dormitories it can accommodate any kind of traveller. The unique natural style of the buildings makes this place feel like an island paradise. A bar and restaurant with pool table is open until late with great food and fun times. The mirador is an amazing place to relax and watch the sunset over the volcanoes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Morgan`s Hotel Santa Cruz
Little Morgan's Isla De Ometepe, Nicaragua - Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Morgan's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Little Morgan's to your Saves list