We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cornerhouse

The Cornerhouse
Moyogalpa main street | two blocks from the harbour, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 restaurants in Moyogalpa
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“Greatness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I was on a World Challenge trip and we came to this restaurant, a group of mates and myself. The service was good, good English, good coffee, very good iced coffee. Umm, all in all it was very good, very nice and I would return, when I can afford it and am old enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecornerhouse_nica, Owner at The Cornerhouse, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review - It was great to have your group in for breakfast! We really love what World Challenge does on the island and in Nicaragua in general and hope you have the opportunity to come back and visit. Thanks again and enjoy the rest of your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    108
    30
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“decent place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Just raised their prices this week. All the prices are now listed in dollars, and everything got more expensive, which is a bummer. The last few times ive been on Ometepe the place was great, but the last couple times its gone down. One day a friends omelette came out runny still. Another day one person asked for a fruit bowl without papaya and got a bowl of ONLY papaya. Not huge deals really, but it seemed every day there was something else. Getting correct change, and a correct bill has been nearly impossible as well. The last days we finally just got fed up with it and ate breakfast at a different place. Too bad, because the coffee and food have been great. But with so many other options now as it seems everyone is opening a place on the island, its hard to stick with a place where the prices are going up and the quality is going down.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecornerhouse_nica, Owner at The Cornerhouse, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Is it always helpful to hear where we can improve our products and services – had you provided your feedback when you were here in the restaurant, we would have been more than happy to correct the issues you had with your breakfasts.

As you mentioned, this week we changed our menu prices to US Dollars. When we first opened The Cornerhouse, the exchange rate was 20 cordobas to 1 USD – after only 3.5 years, it has further devalued to 25 cordobas to 1 USD. It was time to reflect that change in our menu prices and to take into account the rising food costs. We do not try to be the cheapest restaurant in town and understand that the ingredients we use (homemade whole-wheat bread, organic lettuce greens, export-grade beef, coffee sourced on the island and roasted by us) make our prices higher than the 60 cordoba you can pay for a plate of typical Nica food. That said, the most expensive item on our menu (filet steak sandwich with caramelized onions, served with an organic salad or roasted potatoes) is $6 and a delicious, fresh, 16oz fruit smoothie will still only set you back $2, well under the $5 you were happy to spend at Laguna de Apoyo. We put a lot of effort into ensuring we are serving a high quality product and that you, the customer, feel like you’re getting value for money. Since the change to US dollars, our staff have had to adjust to the new prices as well and we admit that there have been some honest mistakes when making the conversions and totaling the bills – this is a growing pain that we expect to resolve quickly and we apologize for that inconvenience.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you on your next visit to Ometepe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omepe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Why would anyone eat elsewhere in Mologolpa?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Best food in town, hands down. A real treat in a place where great food is scarce. Gary and Laura source the best food, drink, and atmosphere and offer it in their restaurant. Before the cornerhouse opened there just wasn't a quality place to eat when arriving on la Isla. Thanks and best of luck

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moyogalpa, Rivas, Nicaragua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“consistency is the key!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Seldom can you depend on quality in these changing times. These guys invested in "Quality and Consistency" and 4 years later the food and staff are still excellent. Well Done Gary and Laura, and the Staff.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great healthy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Loved the big salads and the iced coffee is very good! It's just a couple of blocks from the port so a great place to stop before or after ferry ride. The only thing that could make it better is air conditioning b/c it gets hot in hot months.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cornerhouse also viewed

Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe
Balgue, Isla de Ometepe
 
Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe
Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe
 

Been to The Cornerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cornerhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.