We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay at Soma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hospedaje Soma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moyogalpa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hospedaje Soma
Save
You added Hospedaje Soma to your Saves list
Frente del Instituto J.R. Smith, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe 00000, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Moyogalpa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Relaxing stay at Soma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I came from Canada to Nicaragua for 3 weeks for a school placement and went to Ometepe Island for a break! The hotel worker, Javier, was amazing! He was so knowledgeable, kind, upbeat, eager, and you could tell he wanted everyone to have a fantastic stay. The meals were delicious, the rooms were clean, the staff was kind, and I would definitely recommend Soma as a place to go and unwind! Great experience!

Room Tip: Make sure you know the fans have 5 speeds -- 5 is the lowest and 1 is the highest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    67
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
126
56
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moyogalpa, Nicaragua
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hostel was above average. It was located about 10 minutes walk out of Moyogalpa along the road towards Concepcion. I stayed in the dorm for three nights. The beds were comfortable (not bunks). They had large lockers and individual reading lights. My first bed broke but I was able to move into another one. There were no curtains or blinds in the dorm making it hard to lie in. Also there was noise from building works in the mornings.
If you stayed in the dorm you had to pay extra for breakfast and it wasn't worth it, There were better value places to eat in town.
The hostel was quiet but sociable, and the owner was friendly. The dog however seemed rather aggressive, and once ran towards me barking when it was off the leash. It didn't actually bite me though.
There were some nice hammocks down the bottom of the garden. After ascending Concepcion I spent a whole day chilling out and reading, which was nice.
Overall, solidly above average for a backpacker place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I did quite some research on where to stay in Ometepe and chose Soma for it's convenient position for hiking and doing things. I was not dissappointed: Soma is a great place!

- rooms and dorms (stayed in both) are new and extremely clean.
- atmosphere is great and relaxing with a beautifull garden, hammocks & Nice chill area
- fast Wifi
- cheap beers

Best of all: the owner Zkini (?). He Goes the extra mile on service, is relaxed, knows everything and has a great sense of humour.

I Will never forget the Soma quote:
"Unattended children get free ice Cream and puppies"

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my girlfriend. We had a very nice and spacious private bedroom. The property is beautiful and a short walk from downtown Moyogalpa. I love the honor system to keep track of your own beers/drinks and settle up at checkout. We arranged for a Volcano hike on our 2nd day through the Hotel that was excellent. The staff is great, and cook delicious breakfasts and dinners. The 3rd day we rented a scooter and drove it across the island to Opo de Agua, a natural water springs to go swimming. Overall we had a great trip to Ometepe and Hospedaje Soma was the perfect spot to relax after a day of adventures. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Hospedaje is 500 meters from the center of town and harbour but that is no problem. It is very well organized (nice breakfast included , local beers in the fridge, good reggae music) . In the evening you can join dinner with the other guest at 150 cordobas . Normally there is a choice between 2 meals (chicken curry , chili con carne , pasta con verduras, etc) . There is very good value and big room in the garden at 12 dollars pp (breakfast included) with shared bathroom. It is only 30 minutes walk to the start of the climb of the Conception volcano.

Room Tip: take teh big private room at the groundfloor in the garden with shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great food, great atmosphere, staff is very helpfull and can organise anything what is available on the island. Laid back place without TV in the rooms or the restaurant. A stone throw away from the main port. The cabanas are super and the rooms a bit spartan but very clean.
Zkiny the owner will do the extra to make it all workout. Very recommended.
I will return for sure!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My son, a friend and I stayed at Soma for almost a week. We had cabin #2 and we were very comfortable. It came with an efficient AC and hot water (too hot - not a complaint lol). My son was there for the Fuego y Agua Survivor race so we really appreciated the quiet surroundings so he could get good sleep. The grounds are beautifully kept. Their Continental breakfast consisted of delicious fresh cut fruit, eggs, cheese, excellent coffee, toast and jam. Drinks were set up on an honour system which says a lot about the owner. Overall drinks were about $1 a beer / shots etc.. Zkini and Javier were very gracious hosts. We had supper there one night and it was delicious. We would have eaten there more often but wanted to enjoy the local food as much as possible during our short stay. They arranged for anything we needed. We went fishing for a morning which was arranged by Zkini. We had a driver and a van for 8 hours ($60). We toured the island with our extra time. If my son runs the Survivor Race next year, I'm definitely staying at Soma. Thank you to Tricky, Javier, Zkini and his staff. Mike

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hospedaje Soma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Soma

Address: Frente del Instituto J.R. Smith, Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe 00000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Moyogalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Moyogalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodations are located on the edge of Moyogalpa, about 10 minutes from the main port on Ometepe. You will find different types of accommodations such as one-room bungalows, private rooms with shared and private bathrooms and a 6 bed dormitory, forming part of our large and lush garden setting which gives Hospedaje Soma its relaxed and chilled-out atmosphere. All private accommodations are Bed & Breakfast. Dinner, including vegetarian options, is served on request in our communal area every night. We organize individual tours & hikes on Ometepe Island and provide private transportation on the main land. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Soma Moyogalpa, Nicaragua - Isla De Ometepe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospedaje Soma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.