We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Sunday roast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Archer Public House

The Archer Public House
2 Sandwich Rd, Whitfield, Dover CT16 3LG, England
+44 1304 825890
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Whitfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: American, Pizza & Pasta, English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Friendly Pub and Restaurant welcoming all. With excellent value and great tasting food, Live Entertainment and Live Sports via Sky Sports HD are shown. Free BT Infinity WIFI is also available. Please check our website for functions and events in case the dining area is unavailable.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Sunday roast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This would be the second time at the Archer for a Sunday roast and on both occasions have thoroughly enjoyed it.
Very reasonable drinks prices.
The meat is cooked to perfection and there is plenty of it. I have a combination of all four meats (a wise choice) and you get a huge bowl of veg for to share which we all tucked into and the cauliflower cheese is awesome.
Very reasonable priced menu and will definitely be back.
Only thing I would like to see is a card machine behind the bar to pay with. There is a cash machine but I like to use card when eating out.
Thanks all and see you soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    33
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houghton le Spring, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were staying overnight in Whitfield before going off to France. The pub is really convenient just off the main road to the port. You won't be disappointed the service was warm and friendly and the food excellent. It was good to see a menu of home cooked food with a good choice. The portions were generous and piping hot. Definitely worth giving it a try

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not bad at all !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

my husband and i dropped into the Archer as we had read that it was no 1 on Tripadvisor...well it was good!! The wine very reasonable and good choice on the menu, my husband had their chicken burger and i had chicken in a gorganzola sauce which was ok but could"nt taste any gorganzola but tasty all the same. We will be going back again to find out what the atmosphere and food is like when they have live music as it is meant to be great so for now i am voting the Archer as very good ,and i hope next time we visit we will find it will be excellant !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I went to the Ancher with my fiancé and everything was fantastic. Food very tasty and generous portion. Staff was very friendly. Live music and great atmosphere. Great value for££. Will definitely be back. I highly recommend the Archer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pub Serving restraunt quality food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I found this on Trip Advisor and it was rated the best place in dover to eat and it lived up to that.
the menu is quite varied, the staff are very knowledgable and pleased to help people with food allergies like me. It is also worth noting that this pub serves good cider i.e. not only Strongbow you get in most places which annoys me, being a celiac i cant drink beer, I normaly have cider, but i dont like dry cider. i would recomend this place to others and i will be going back my self.

This restraunt does not serve breakfast as listed on here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Archer Public House also viewed

 

Been to The Archer Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Archer Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.