We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what was required” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rolles Court

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rolles Court
Save
You added Rolles Court to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Church Whitfield Road, Whitfield, Dover CT16 3HY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Whitfield B&B and Inns
Buckinghamshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just what was required”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked Rolles Court using a recent voucher scheme run by a certain red top newspaper. We chose Rolles Court as we were looking for a quaint peaceful country retreat in a part of england that we hadn't really explored before, and didn't want to hand our money over to a huge multi-national hotel chain and become yet another anonymous customer.

Firstly, the proprietors Jill and Ian were very hospitable hosts. They had presented our spacious bedroom very well and all was extremely clean and tidy, and the interior of the room, and the house in general was full of original features and character. Their choice of mattress ensured a good nights sleep for us both too!

Jill's breakfasts were certainly something to get up for in the mornings, and Ian was a dab hand at pushing the plunger on the cafetiere for the lovely morning coffee. Even the cats tended to show up when we came down for breakfast, which was a welcome surprise, and just shows the high regard in which breakfast is held. The large selection of home made conserves were very tasty, which caused me to force more toast into my stomach than I normally would, especially after a fry up!

Both Ian and Jill were very knowledgeable on their surroundings and are well qualified to suggest places to visit, or offer additional information regarding places you state you are planning on visiting. Despite this, there are a multitude of leaflets available in the conservatory for perusal if need be.

Sadly, the weather was such that it we didn't get an opportunity to appreciate the large gardens or the pool, but these would be a welcome addition given the right circumstances.

All in all, if you're looking for a nice well kept family run bed and breakfast with considerate owners who look after their customers and seem keen to ensure they have an enjoyable stay, then I would thoroughly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill M, Owner at Rolles Court, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review we really appreciate this.

The cafetiere 'plunging' has already been noted by a recent guest and Ian is thinking of putting it on Youtube! We are about to start on the new jam production as the strawberries and gooseberries are nearly ready for picking and this year there are greengages again.

We had our inspection last week and retained our 4* which made our efforts worthwhile as we work hard to keep the rooms up to a high standard of cleanliness and our mattresses were praised for their quality.

The pool should be up and running next week if the hotter weather arrives and the charis will be out in all the suntrap areas of the garden.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
21
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leigh on Sea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed at Rolles Court on 13 April 2013 as I was attending a function at the Ramada at Whitfield. A wild, wet and stormy night. Jill and Ian were the perfect hosts. Excellent room and breakfast. Ian even insisted on running me to and back from the Ramada (the return after Midnight) saving me £10 each way on taxi fares. Service does not come better than that and at the third of the price the Ramada wanted for a room for the night. I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough.

Room Tip: The only reason the sleep quality was below excellent was due to the wind and driving rain crashing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill M, Owner at Rolles Court, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It was a shame that you had such bad weather when you stayed as it is now 'slowly' improving and on good days is so pleasant in the garden with the constant bird song as background noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The place is excellent. The beds are a decent size and comfortable. There is plenty of space and the owners are very accommodating. We had a takeout dinner from the Rajmahal up the road which was also very good.
The breakfast is also good quality and plentiful.
We stayed one night and will definitely stay there as a first choice if we are anywhere near Dover.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatDover_Kent, Owner at Rolles Court, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put a review on Trip Advisor. We were pleased our takeaway suggestion was appreciated, the Raj is usually a good choice. It was good to have the private keyboard recital and if you visit again we'd like to hear more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

had a great overnight stay at rolles. lovely room. excellent breakfast. even had my boat trailer repaired while i was there. jill & ian at rolles. great place.great people. just outside of town.nice village with good pub and restaurant. only 5 minutes drive from the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatDover_Kent, Owner at Rolles Court, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and could relax after all the stresses of the damaged boat trailer. It was a lucky choice for you as Ian is very experienced as a trailer retailer/repairer. I do hope your onward journey was without any further problems and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent a night here on 15 August 2012 before getting the ferry to France. We usually stay at a Premier Inn but decided this time to give a local B & B the business instead. We were not disappointed! We had a lovely large bay windowed bedroom. Very very clean and comfortable with hot drink making facilities, biscuits and even bottled water in the room. Toiletries provided in the en suite plus cotton wool, tissues and a hairdryer. Jill and Ian were very welcoming hosts and very interesting to chat to. A very good full English breakfast as well with excellent coffee. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I had a great stay at Rolles Court. My room was gorgeous and it was a great room to relax in. The amenities are modern and attractive and the view of the nearby farmland is gorgeous. They put a lot of effort in small touches including the potpourri in the bathroom, nice toiletries, bottled water, etc. It is also very close to Dover. Thanks to the owners!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Jill and Ian are very friendly and helpful hosts. Due to our dietary requirements it is normally difficult for other B & Bs to meet our requests. Jill and Ian took the time to prepare a lovely healthy vegan style breakfast. We had given Jill and Ian some advance warning about
our healthy way of living and they had taken the time and trouble to serve a lovely breakfast. Our stay was just one night but just perfect for a relaxing night's sleep. We look forward to our next stay and the hospitality of Jill and Ian.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rolles Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolles Court

Address: Church Whitfield Road, Whitfield, Dover CT16 3HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > Whitfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whitfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rolles Court 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rolles Court, Church Whitfield, is the perfect accommodation for a relaxing break. Just five miles from the Port of Dover it is ideal for travelers to Europe and as a base for walkers or cyclists. The en suite rooms are spacious, comfortable and have excellent views. There is a large garden and swimming pool. Breakfast comprises a buffet with a full English breakfast or lighter hot choices. Private parking and lock-up for cycles and motorbikes. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rolles Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.