We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to drop in and chill out - with a hot waffle of course !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simbahollin Cafe

Simbahollin Cafe
Fjardargata, 5, Thingeyri, Iceland
003548695654
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Thingeyri
Price range: $2 - $34
Cuisines: Bar, Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Description: Simbahöllin is a cozy, old-style coffeehouse in the middle of the fishing village Thingeyri in the Westfjords of Iceland.We are located in an old grocery store from 1915 and most interior is still intact today. The house featured in the popular Icelandic movie "Noi the Albino" (2003), but it has an important history that goes much further back in time.Today Simbahöllin is owned by a Danish/Belgian couple that has restored the house. We opened the doors of the coffeehouse in the summer of 2009.Simbahöllin's Belgian waffle with homemade rhubarb jam and cream became legendary already after the first summer. Other popular things on our menu are coffee from our espresso machine, baked goods fresh out of our kitchen, soups, homemade bread and lamb tajine served in the evenings during high season.From our coffeehouse we also run a horse- and mountain bike rental. Be very welcome to drop by!!
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to drop in and chill out - with a hot waffle of course !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Four of us were travelling round the West Fjords of Iceland, and stopped by this cafe / restaurant during our stay in Thingeyri. I think the best words to sum this up would include homely, relaxed, friendly and delicious waffles :-). If you are already in the West Fjords, you will appreciate that the setting is simply stunning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Simple but welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Supercute little coffee/lunch/waffle/pastry shop where you wouldn't expect one. It was a pleasure to sit and relax here for 45 minutes. The waffles were fantastic, so was the leek soup and I'm pretty sure everything else on the menu was yummy. Very friendly staff and even though they had to stress because of a busload of German oldtimers that arrived right after us, they kept on smiling and continued to be super friendly. For that reason 5 stars instead of 4!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great for Coffee and Cakes / Waffles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We were very late for lunch, but the savouries do not appeal. So we went head first into Lattes and cake / Waffles with jam and cream. Fresh and sumptuous and the coffee was very good.

It was though the old building and the renovation and style that probably is worth the highest mention and leads to a super relaxed time for adults and kids. Deserves to do well, but would love more savouries - maybe we were just too late...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cuppa tea and waffle with excellent view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

When passing this place stop for a minute to enjoy a nice cuppa tea or coffee with excellent Belgium Waffles. The staff is very friendly and the place is just homely inside with stunning views over the nearby fjord.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great soup, real belgian waffles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Do not drive past this one without stopping, great coffee and food, friendly hosts with lots of travel tips and advice.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simbahollin Cafe also viewed

Isafjordur, Westfjords Region
Patreksfjordur, Westfjords Region
 
Isafjordur, Westfjords Region
Isafjordur, Westfjords Region
 

Been to Simbahollin Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simbahollin Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.