We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Location and Upscale Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esperanza Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Esperanza Mansion to your Saves list
Esperanza Mansion
3456 Route 54A, Bluff Point, NY 14478   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bluff Point
Hampton Roads
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Exceptional Location and Upscale Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a lovely mansion with exceptional views of Keuka Lake in the beautiful Finger Lakes. That being said, the real star is the delicious, well prepared food.

The menu for our Rolling Through the Finger Lakes group was well received by our hungary group of motorcycle riders. The entrees included Lobster Ravioli, Chicken Francise, and Pork Loin with raspberry sauce. The ravioli was the standout dish of the meal, tender ravioli filled with moist lobster and cheeses. This was the best lobster ravioli I have eaten. Very yummy.

The meal started with some light, buttery rolls. I think I could have eaten a basket by myself - too bad they ran out so quickly. Then we were served a small cup of a hearty vegetable beef soup oozing with a deep meat flavor and savory seasonings. The buffet line was well stocked with the entrees mentioned above plus salad greens, rice, and steamed vegetables. Everything was well worth our long wait.

The wait staff had a bit a problem keeping up with drinks and clearing tables, but they appeared eager to please. Frankly, I think we overwhelmed the small number of servers with our 75+ people.

This place is high on my list of places to eat in the Finger Lakes.

Room Tip: Order the lobster ravioli!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    19
    32
    16
    16
See reviews for
13
66
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
EastCoast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Everything about the Mansion is beautiful; parts are historic (pre- Civil War era) and grand, others are more modern and efficient. So long as you have a car, beautiful Keuka State Park is minutes away, as are small towns of Branchport and Penn Yan.

Breakfast is a light buffet; dinners are superb. Live music on some nights was delightful, as is the view sitting on the front yard, gazing down at miles of Keuka Lake.

VERY friendly and helpful staff.

Look into weekday specials in August....best rates around!

Room Tip: Second floor is more private from parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had our parents 50th anniversary at the Esperanza Mansion which was hosted by the new restaurant there. The events was great and the food perfect. Our servers were terrific and the place is a perfect place for an event and the new restaurant has raisd the food levels so much

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Since a professional restaurant manager, The Union Block (Hammondsport NY), took over the restaurant management, there's been a huge improvement. This is a beautiful venue in an area where this very little choice for upscale meals. It's unfortunate the owner's son ran the place into the ground the last few years (heard directly from staff) so the new manager has a huge hole to climb out of. Considering new staff had to be hired and trained - he's doing a great job. Food was very good. The bar area is much improved w/ additional seating and a duo playing Sat. night. We really enjoyed our evening there.

Room Tip: I have not stayed in a room - just eaten at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Ugh! Wait staff were unkept with dirty hair. Our waitress was posing for playboy and flirting with my man. Playing with her breasts and throwing them up on bar. She should be at hooters. Food is outsourced from a restaurant in hammondsport. Was okay. View is magnificent of keuka lake. Carpets in mansion leading up to rooms are gross and filthy. Mansion is a little rundown and wine list is tiny. Last time here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the motel unit on July 30th. Our unit was clean, quiet, very comfortable and included a small balcony with a wonderful view.The staff at registration were very friendly, courteous and helpful. A young man doing lawn care offered to get us ice as the day was extrememly hot and since my husband walks with a cane his offer was greatly appreciated. And he did NOT expect a tip. A rarity these days!! We ate at the restaurant and found the food to be great. We had an outside table and the service was prompt in spite of the fact that the resaurant was very busy. They even brought me wine to taste when I wasn't sure what to order.A first for me. It was also the first time we have had a complimentary breakfast set with white cloth table linens. Breakfast food was typical but did include some friut. Overall we were more than satisfied with our stay at Esperanza.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Although we booked and stayed in the motel units, we were given a tour of two of the rooms in the mansion. The bedskirts and canopy lace were in tatters in one of the rooms, and both rooms viewed looked a little worse for wear - the beds looked quite saggy in the middle. The bathrooms (toilet, shower and sink) were crammed into a corner. The motel unit, decorated in shabby chic style, were nicely done and had full bathrooms. They also have two beds, which is why I ended up booking the motel - I was travelling with a friend, and although we have shared a lot during our decades of friendship, a bed is not on this list. We were on the ground level, and I would recommend the upper level (ask for a room number starting with a '2'), as there was room noise over our heads. Also, you have a better view from the rooms on the upper level. Breakfast is included, and it is better than the average - we did enjoy our breakfast on the patio at the mansion, and the spectacular view. We didn't eat at the restaurant, as we took the dinner tour on the Esperanza Rose, but I have eaten at the restaurant on another occasion and enjoyed the meal very much. The staff were attentive, helpful and pleasant. The exterior of the building is sad and needs a lot of work - beyond a coat of paint. It's too bad that the maintenance inside and out is being ignored, it could be a sepctaular experience if the owners showed some interest in the building.

Room Tip: Stay in the motel units on the upper level, the room numbers start with a '2'. On either le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esperanza Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperanza Mansion

Address: 3456 Route 54A, Bluff Point, NY 14478
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Bluff Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bluff Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1838, the Esperanza Mansion has represented the highest level of Greek Revival Architecture in the Finger Lakes region of New York state. It has now been fully restored to its 19th century splendor. Guests may choose from 9 Mansion guest rooms and 21 rooms at The Inn at Experanza. The Esperanza Mansion offers breathtaking views of Keuka Lake and the surrounding countryside, making this the ideal destination for a relaxing Finger Lakes getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Esperanza Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza Mansion Hotel Bluff Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esperanza Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.