We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Y Beuno Hotel

Y Beuno Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clynnogfawr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Y Beuno Hotel
Save
You added Y Beuno Hotel to your Saves list
Clynnogfawr LL54 5PB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Clynnogfawr B&B and Inns
Rotherham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We returned from this hotel yesterday after a 3 night break and felt thoroughly refreshed. We really enjoyed our stay. On our arrival we had a couple of problems in the room which were instantly rectified by the very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bar area could benefit from the ceiling paintwork being finished, and there are a few areas which would benefit from the walls being repaired, but this doesn't take anything away from the comfortable feel of the hotel. The food was really nice in the evening, and at breakfast there was plenty of good quality food to set us up for a day in the fresh air and gorgeous countryside around. The only thing which spoiled this was the surprise that the menu in the room which included vegetables was almost the same as the one in the dining room except that the prices had increased considerably and now did not include vegetables which were £2.50 per person extra. We still enjoyed a wonderful 2 course meal for 2 people for £50. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting good food, good service and a lovely comfortable, quiet nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
15
47
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Excellent hotel. Beautiful rooms,furnished well. lovely bath. Beautiful bar and restaurant areas. Excellent food. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Very comfortable bed with really comfy bedding. A place to return to. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I had an excellent Friday evening meal. Superb Scallops, Delicious Steaks, and Guilt-Inducing Pudding. Staff were very welcoming and service was excellent. Would love to stay next time as the views of the sea and the mountains are all around this stunning part of Wales. Olympic Class Dosser & Wife

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for an evening to spend some quality time together. We stayed in the four poster room with the large bathroon which has a seperate bath tub and shower. The room was beautifully furnished with lovely views towards the sea and St Dwynwens island. We had our breakfast in our room which was lovely.
Great service, very helpful.
Eat in the pub for dinner as the food was lovely.
Wish we were there now :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We've discovered a little gem of a place. From the warm welcome on arrival to every other contact with the staff we were very impressed. Nothing over the top, just friendly faces and good service.
Food was excellent. We tackled the local spider crab and survived, advice to others - find a quiet corner of the bar to eat it, it gets messy!
Weather was "mixed" but the scenery is still stunning. All in all, a great place for a few days away, we'll be returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

A warm welcome awaits at Y Beuno! Great food, a very comfortable and immaculate (clean and well decorated) room and first rate hospitality! We were blessed with excellent weather and enjoyed watching the sun set over the sea from the drinks terrace at the front. The staff were very helpful and accommodating and didn't bother us unnecessarily. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms offer a lovely view over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

First things first, Beuno is pronounced Beano, like the comic!

We used Y Beuno as a base for a long weekend in North Wales. It's in striking distance of Portmeirion, Anglesey & Snowdonia. There didn't seem to be a lot happening in Clynnogfawr apart from Y Beuno & St Beuno's church (worth a wander round) but as we we in get away from it mode that was fine.

The good food and the atmosphere in the bar made eating in a good option. There are plenty of options on the menu, so you won't get bored. Breakfast were good too.

We had a room with a sea view. It was comfortable and spacious, the bathroom was bigger than some rooms I've stayed in.

I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Y Beuno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Beuno Hotel

Address: Clynnogfawr LL54 5PB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Clynnogfawr
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clynnogfawr
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Y Beuno is an old Coaching Inn with some parts dating back to the 16th Century. It is located in a beautiful part of Wales right on the coast nestled at the foot of the magnificent Western peaks of Snowdonia. The views of the sea, sunset and on very clear days Ireland are glorious. It is an ideal location from which to explore this scenic part of the country - on foot, by bicycle, by boat or by car. Start the day with a full traditional Welsh breakfast, followed by a packed lunch and then return to a good quality evening meal served in the restaurant or cosy public bar area. The delicious food is cooked by our french chef using fresh local ingredients sourced as close to the hotel as possible. To accompany your meal we serve a selection of good wines or local real ales. Enjoy a drink watching glorious summer sunsets or in the winter snuggle by the roaring open fire in the main bar. Each and every one of the seven bedroom are very tastefully decorated and some of the rooms have sea views. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Y Beuno Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.