We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy an cozy b&b.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn to the Woods

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn to the Woods to your Saves list
Inn to the Woods
46 Elena Drive, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel amenities
Honolulu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Comfy an cozy b&b.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Four friends visiting San Juan Islands shared two rooms at this cozy B&B. I really enjoyed my stay there. The living room was great to hang out when one's roomie retires earlier. Breakfast made by Patrick on two mornings was delicious!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We found the Inn to the Woods to be a great find at a beautiful location. The room was nicely decorated, the bed was comfortable, and the food was delicious. We were able to sit outside on the porch which was very pleasant. The living room was very comfortable and stocked with many books for our perusal. The staff was very accommodating, and we felt welcome immediately. It was a little out of town, so it was very quiet which we liked. The only down side was there was poor cell phone coverage, but we were able to use the house phone for local calls. I'd easily recommend it as a great getaway.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a jacuzzi while the other rooms did. It was a little less expensive, so it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked two nights at the Inn to the Woods and ended up only staying one evening. When I booked the room online I saw that it specifically said the room accommodated two people so I called to ask if we could bring our almost 2 year old daughter and golden retriever. There must have been some communication problems because when we arrived we received the cold shoulder and we did not feel very welcome. It turns out that the Inn does not accept children at all. Dogs yes, children no. Fortunately, we could stay that night and the owner helped us find a new B&B closer to town that did take children and pets. The one night we stayed there was nice. The Lakeview room was small but cozy and had a great view of Sportsman Lake. The best part was the common living space that made for a wonderful sitting area to sip tea and read. The waffle breakfast was wonderful the following morning delicious!

Room Tip: The Lakeview room is small but fine for two people. It has a private bath but no hot tub like the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inntothewoods, Owner at Inn to the Woods, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
I apologize again for the communication problems and hope that you enjoyed your night at Argyle House. Thank you so much for your objective review; your understanding is very much appreciated. Patrick @ Inn to the Woods
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This property is pretty average for B&Bs on San Juan Island. However, the lower off-season rates make it an attractive choice for a winter getaway. Our room was smallish but very clean. The provided robes are a nice touch. There are nice views of the nearby lake, and it is very quiet and peaceful. The common room is a comfortable place to relax and read a book. Breakfast was OK but nothing special. Hosts are very polite but not overly friendly. A few downsides: The grounds could use some work, for example the steps on the entry walkway were in need of repair. Parking is a bit removed from the front door, posing serious problems for the mobility impaired or travelers with heavy luggage. Finally, both our room and the common room were overstuffed with knickknacks that seriously reduced the already limited space, particularly in the bathroom

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had a wonderful time at this B&B. Patrick was a very welcoming and generous host. He made us comfortable and provided us with helpful information about the island but also provided us with plenty of privacy to relax and enjoy ourselves. Our room was very clean and comfortable. I would recommend this B&B to anyone spending time in Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This place is really a run down home. The price is extremely high in comparison to ammenities you may find at a different B and B. Our room was titled the Nautica room and the furnishings are extremely uncomfortable. The bed is extremely soft and the remaining furniture is very undesireable. The website stated private bath that is actually not attached to the room but is in a common hallway that is blocked off from other guests. (You never really know if someone is in the hallway.) The suite did have a private hot tub on an attached deck however the deck was literally a foot or two from the owners deck. (It was nice though to sit in it and look at the stars.) The inn keeper did make us a nice breakfast which is the reason the review is not "Terrible." The common area for all the guests lacked proper furnishings that you would expect for $225.00 per night. Also, if you need ice you don't have direct access to it as the kitchen is kept locked and the innkeeper is not found when needed to get ice. Also, the cleanliness of the property is not very well kept. Cob webs, stained carpeting, lack of vacuuming, etc...

Do yourself a favor and stay at a different location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

There are a few places to stay on Friday Harbor, but I guarantee this is the best place. Patrick is an excellent host! Upon our arrival, he took the time to give my husband and I a mini tour of the premises, and to also give us advice on how to get around, and the best places to go. Local wine is complementary; found in the common area fridge of the house.

We stayed in the Forest Room; which I recommend if you want the most bang for your buck. The decor was elegant; and I normally don't even think about such things, but I was actually impressed by the bathroom, it was very spacious and cozy. Of course, what truly made the room was the personal hot tub outside (((!!Romantic!!!))) The room is very much surrounded by a "forest" of trees; you kind of feel like you're camping, but camping in luxury. Leave your cell phones elsewhere, because there is no reception; but that's a good thing if you want temporary relief from the annoying stress of life.

The absolute only thing I would change is for the owners to add a featherbed to the mattress, because it was extra firm. However, this place still gets my highest rating, because I know not everyone likes a soft mattress, and you're so enamoured with everything else in the room that the mattress becomes a minute complaint. And of course I won't forget about mentioning the great breakfast served by Patrick. There's so much thought put into preparation; very colorful, fruity, nutritious and delicious. PLEASE STAY HERE when visiting Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn to the Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn to the Woods

Address: 46 Elena Drive, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Inn to the Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn To The Woods San Juan Island, WA - San Juan Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn to the Woods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.