We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Algarve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pedras Verdes Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quelfes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pedras Verdes Guesthouse
Sitio da Boavista | CP 658 T, Quelfes, Olhao 8700, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Real Algarve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

This B&B is so welcoming and relaxing. The breakfast they provide was probably the highlight for me; fresh and varied, it was a fantastic way to start each day. Their hospitality extended to very clean rooms, good tips, and friendly dogs! The pool is another winner - we had it to ourselves one afternoon and it felt well worth flying over there just for those few hours of countryside relaxation. Andre also showed us that there are a number of small towns worth visiting to see the real local hospitality. However, if you're staying longer than a few days, I'd recommend a drive over to Seville in Spain for a more cultural experience. You definitely need a car to stay here - it's pretty remote but easy to find via the stones painted green along the tiny roads!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crathorne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

My friend and I visited Pedras Verdes for a weekend mini-break. The accommodation was clean, spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. The simple decoration and stylish flora and fauna provided an aesthetic delight. Andre provided ample information about what to see and do in the local area, though the driving directions were not particularly helpful. We had the pool to ourselves on the Friday and enjoyed lounging in the hammock and soaking up the sun. A little off the beaten track, the local towns were nice to visit but for some more serious culture a day trip to Seville would be required.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens-Washington DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

This is an amazing place. It is relaxed and you don't feel as a guest at a guesthouse. It feels like home. The owners are wonderful, sweet and very discreet. We had a miss-hap with our car and the owner took it upon him to help us, even made the connections for us to see a mechanic.
If you are looking for service and excellence this is the place to be!!!!
I can't wait to re-visit the place.

Emy Greece/USA

  • Liked — the decor, the service, the BREAKFAST!!!!!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

We have just returned from a five night break at Pedras Verdes. We loved it. It was our last holiday before our first baby arrives in September, so we were looking for somewhere we could both properly relax. It might be the last time for a while.....Perdas Verdes was perfect for doing just that. A lovely little rustic guesthouse set in about 2 acres of land and run by a smiley dutch couple Andre and Muriel who renovated the building to it's current state with five (or
six) very tranquil guest rooms. In fact tranquility is what Pedras Verdes is all about. The overriding atmosphere is one of calm and quiet and serenity. Breakfast is served at your own little whitewashed table under the orange trees that dot the gardens. There's a good sized pool with a Buddha watching over it and whitewashed outbuildings have been brought to life with splashes of Fuschia.

In fact, the only sound that ever broke the silence was Indi, the owner's 'ball of energy' little puppy who could occasionally be seen sprinting around the gardens eating things..

As the guest house doesn't do lunch or dinner, you do have to drag yourself away from the pool and eat somewhere nearby but Andre and Murial provide handy maps and suggestions. We ate in Olhia a lot. It is a surprisingly un-touristy Portugese fishing port about ten minutes drive away. The food was fantastic. We have never eaten so much beautiful fresh fish in our lives. And the prices were all so reasonable too.

There are also great beaches within easy reach. You can borrow umbrellas for shade when you are out. All in all, we had the restful stay we so needed. We will be back. But I don't think we'll bring our
baby....

  • Liked — calmness
  • Disliked — having to go out to get lunch and dinner
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2005

Stayed here with my girlfriend in August. The rooms are all unique, and our was really nice. The rooms are basic, but quite spacious and the shower was a lovely big walk-in.

The scenery is wonderful and you really do feel like you are staying somewere special.

The service was excellent, the Dutch couple who run the hotel make you feel very welcome, and there are nice touches like the great home-made breakfasts.

We did not have a car. We thought this would be a problem, as it is in the middle of nowhere and driving distance from the nearest towns. It all worked out fine though, as they were happy to arrange taxis for us, which would even pick us up in the wee hours to take us back to the hotel!

would definately recommend spending the day by the lovely pool, slipping from pool to hammock...

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pedras Verdes Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedras Verdes Guesthouse

Address: Sitio da Boavista | CP 658 T, Quelfes, Olhao 8700, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao > Quelfes
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Quelfes
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 4 Km from Olhao and 20mn drive from either Faro or Tavira stands Pedras Verdes Guesthouse. The house is typical Algarvean architecture as its best, well proportioned and wholly sympathetic to the calm surroundings. The real "pieces de resistance", though are the bedrooms; so simple, but quite sensational. They are all the same size in proportions (all with air-conditioner, safe, TV, fridge and its own private bathroom), but each has an individual theme: Baroque, African, Asiatic, Zen, Arabic or blue "Tricia Guild style." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pedras Verdes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pedras Verdes Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pedras Verdes Guesthouse to your Saves list