We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality second to none” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Firs B&B

The Firs B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dullingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Firs B&B
Save
You added The Firs B&B to your Saves list
57 Brinkley Road, Dullingham CB8 9UW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hospitality second to none”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this B & B. The rooms are very well presented and very comfortable, we had a great nights sleep. The Hosts Bev and Adrian are so friendly and do everything they can to make your feel at home. A cooked breakfast is always a treat, and this one is exceptional. We would recommend The Firs to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
23
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I booked this accommodation for my husbands boss. He is absolutely delighted with the choice i made for him and loved Adrian and Bev's B & B. Lovely location, next to a couple of local pubs : ). What sets this place apart from the rest is not only the fantastic rooms - it is the little personal touches - mini bar at reasonable prices, quality toiletries. Bevs breakfast a 'wonderful start to the working day'. Definiately a place we'll use again. Thank you Adrian and Bev.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

For us, 'The Firs' is a very convenient stop-off on our occasional trips to Norwich where our daughter has been studying, and back to Surrey. We prefer not to do Norfolk and back in one day. It's always good to manage an early arrival at 'The Firs' so that we can appreciate being there a while before going out locally for dinner. Invariably, there's a friendly warm welcome, yet one can easily enjoy complete independence and privacy as much as desired. The accommodation is very comfortable and enhanced further with many thoughtful touches such as quality shower gel and shampoo from dispensers in the shower, fresh milk in the fridge and a minibar that has available just the right things at a refreshingly reasonable price. The beds are notably very comfortable. Breakfast is superb.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed for one night only after having gone to the races. The rooms were large, very comfortable and clean. Also they'd thought of everything. The owners were very friendly and accomodating. (They also had a very friendly dog!). We always look forward to a full English and this did not disappoint. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire,
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My Husband & I stayed at The Firs on Sat 30 July for a trip to Newmarket Races. Bev & Adrian are the most helpful, welcoming hosts and everything about The Firs is just perfect.
Our room was fabulous, we had the Red Room with everything you could think of available in the room, even down to champagne if you wanted. Our bathroom was amazing with a nice walk in shower, pedestal bath all complete with shower gel provided and fresh, clean , soft, lovely smelling towels provided.
Breakfast was a delight with Bev and Adrian offering some great conversation. The gardens are fabulous, the views are wonderful and I thoroughly recommend anyone to stay here - everything is just first class and nothing is too much trouble. We are definately booking again for next year and possibly before then. We felt that our stay at the Firs was better than the Marriott or The Hilton and we have stayed in several of those!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed two nights in the annex. Very clean and comfortable. Delicious breakfast. Will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

It is not often you are treated to hospitality like this. i read some of the previous reviews before writing this and they are all 100% true. We had a great weekend down in Newmarket for the races and Cambridge (because we thought we should as we were down that way) and Adrian and Bev of the Firs just made the weekend that little bit more special with there fantastic house and the perfection in which they host.
Look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Firs B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Firs B&B

Address: 57 Brinkley Road, Dullingham CB8 9UW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Dullingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Dullingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury apartment is above the garage, totally separate from the house and has its own entrance providing privacy and independence. At the top of the access stairs double french-doors open into the lounge/kitchen. This room has a brand new (Apr 13) high-quality kitchen with all new appliances including a two-ring hob, dishwasher and a fridge. A microwave combination oven, kettle, toaster, saucepans, plates, utensils and cutlery are also provided. A breakfast bar is fitted under the Velux window with views across the garden to the fields of the stud behind - usually with horses grazing! A digital TV, DVD and settee is also provided. This room leads to the double bedroom with wardrobe and small desk. A similar Velux window has the same views as the lounge. The bedroom leads to the en-suite with shower. The apartment has independent central heating and has access to our free WiFi. A Dyson vacuum, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, clothes airer, bedding linen and towels are provided. Garage parking and all bills are included. Washing and drying of laundry is available at extra cost. We are located in Dullingham a small highly-popular village an easy commute by car or train from Cambridge. The apartment is perfect for professionals seeking quality, self-catering, mid-week accommodation or for short weekend leisure breaks. We have one village pub 500 mtrs walk away and several others serving good pub food close by. The apartment will be let out for leisure purposes some weekends. Newmarket is 4 miles/5 mins and has a Waitrose, Tesco, M&S, Asda, Homebase, Boots, WH Smith, Gym, Swimming and many restaurants. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Firs B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.