We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riaan Booysen "Excellent facilities, best value for money in this region !!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant to your Saves list
Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   N14 Route | Northern Cape, South Africa, Kakamas 8870, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Kakamas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Riaan Booysen "Excellent facilities, best value for money in this region !!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The accommodation was perfect and exactly what I required for a relatively short, two night stay. I especially enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, the excellent facilities and above all, the superb service and genuine friendliness of all the staff I dealt with. Service was on a personal level without being "overbearing" and the schnitzel was simply the best ever. One point of (positive) criticism: Please add "Windhoek Draught Beer" to your stock in the bar, it is an absolute MUST for those of us who really appreciate and enjoy the variety of Namibian beers.
In summery: My personal rating . . . restaurant & accommodation/facilities: 5 star, IF you are not one of those riduculous persons who always expects a "Ritz" or a "One and Only" type of facility, even in a rural area such as the Keimoes/Kakamas/Augrabies region !

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vergelegen, Owner at Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Booysen

It is difficult to find words to really say thank you for the compliments.

THANK YOU SO MUCH !!

We shall use this as encouragement for the future and will definitely strive to keep up the standard.

*WE HAD ALREADY PUT WINDHOEK DRAUGHT ON THE MENU. Thank you for the recommendation.

Looking forward to seeing you when visiting the Northern Cape again.

Vergelegen greetings
Niel and Anelma, and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    25
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
19
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Vergelegen is comfortable and generally very nice, but it is also forgetable. The room and amenities were fine - nice shower!

The style is that of an impersonal hotel rather than a B&B or guest house. The biggest disappointment was the total lack of personal service or attention which I expect when staying at a B&B or guest house.

Breakfast was buffet style - no fruit salad and scrambled eggs on a warmer. Functional and fast.

I would stay there again if I needed to overnight in the area but I would not go out of my way to do so. In summary, a pleasant but very ordinary and unremarkable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed in Vergelegen one night on our way from Upington to Nababeep. It seems to be a popular stopover for travelers. Rooms were nice, in a classic style and nice bathrooms. We found the restaurant of the guesthouse also very good. The place is well maintained and clean. It can be an option also for people visiting Augrabies falls due to proximity. Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The lodge is in the heart of the grape lands with a beautiful restuarant serving really good food. Also a gift shop on the premisses. Really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Arriving on a near 40 degree day it was the air-conditioned room that did it for me! When we arrived the room was made up and the AC turned on - a small but very welcome gesture.

The property is elegant and radiates a sense of calm, especially sitting in the afternoon shade at the pond amongst the geese and swans. The variety of birdlife is great too! The sunset over the vineyard opposite the guesthouse was magnificent!

The rooms are generous in size and so too the bathrooms. A decent selection of TV channels if you are inclined to watch is on offer as is tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Although there is a fridge it is not fully stocked except for a bottle of water per guest.

Spending the afternoon in the sparkling pool as a respite from the heat, the staff was readily at hand to take drink orders and towels are provided poolside.

The guesthouse however shines when it comes to their dinners. The menu is well thought out and affordable and the food was expertly prepared. A surefire hit!

While it is a bit of drive to the Augrabies Falls - around 50km, a stay here is genuinely worth the drive. It is the sum of its parts that make Vergelegen great. It won't disappoint!

A useless fact (unless you are a car-nut and have the spy camera handy), the roads in this area is littered with still-to-be-released vehicles from Porsche, Mercedes, BMW and even FIAT in disguised form with high speed vehicle testing stickers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustenburg, North-West, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

After over 800km drive, on our way to Namibia via Augrabies falls 29 November 2011, this was our first stop. What a nice room, great service for a town like Kakamas where there is nothing else to do!
We really enjoyed the peacefulness, comfortable bed and especially the food! At first we didn’t expect much, but with the decor, peaceful music and the food, our highlight is definitely the restaurant!

Would reccomend to stay here to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberwell, Australia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

This was a great place to chill out after a day safari day in the dessert of Northern Cape South Africa
The Host Niel and Anelma Steenekamp were very outgoing in their welcome and really made you feel at 'home'. We had our dinner there as there was no other place to go!! The freshly prepared lamb shanks and fillet of beef were well received and the room was basis but upmarket 'basic' and covered our needs and fulfilled our requirements.
A very pleasant place to rest for the night on Safari

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant

Address: N14 Route | Northern Cape, South Africa, Kakamas 8870, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kakamas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kakamas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vergelegen Guesthouse & Restaurant sits nestled in the Orange River Valley in a splendid farm setting on the outskirts of Kakamas. The Guesthouse is en-route to the Kalahari and Namibia, Namakwaland, and Richtersveld, as well as being located in the perfect place to visit a variety of attractions and activities. Vergelegen Guesthouse adds a personal and exclusive touch to each of its eighteen elegantly decorated and en suite rooms. All rooms come provided with linens, towels complimentary amenity kit, and are air conditioned. There are also coffee and tea making facilities, and a healthy breakfast is served. Outside guests can enjoy a braai in a quaint courtyard as well as the crystalline pool.The chef at Vergelegen Guesthouse can prepare meals for your enjoyment outside on the patio or by the fireplace or guests may enjoy intimate dining at the A La Carte restaurant on the premises, or choose to relax at the cocktail lounge and bar.Facilities are available for conferences of up to thirty people and catering is available for all occasions are available as well. A high level of personal attention is assured for the duration of your stay.Also on the premises is our coffee shop and deli where guests can procure a feast of dried and fresh fruit as well as local produce. Or guests can enjoy light lunches and homemade treats in the tea garden.The Vergelegen Guest house is a perfect base for travellers to Riemvasmaak hot spring, Augrabies National Park, and surrounding activities and attractions. It's also en-route to the Kalahari Gemsbok Park Richtersveld, Namibia, and Namaqualand.Close to the Vergelegen Guest house visitors can choose rafting trips in the Orange River Gorge, game viewing and night drives at Augrabies Falls National Park, horseback riding, historical sight seeing, vineyard and wine tours, and mountain biking to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.