We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vergelegen Restaurant

Vergelegen Restaurant
N14, Kakamas, South Africa
+27(0)54 431 0976
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Kakamas
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Vergelegen Restaurant compliments the oasis like hospitality complex it is part of near the Northern Cape town of Kakamas. On the premises you can dine in our intimate a la carte restaurant which had numerous write-ups. Dine at the fireplace or outside on the patio and enjoy a sundowner and hearty meal. A feast of cuisine to excite everybody's taste buds are prepared by our gourmet chef and personally served by the owners. Fully licensed. The decor and style of the restaurant inside becomes the playground for the creative minds of the owners. Simplicity and effective, yet subtle statements, keeps the eye wondering but the mind at ease (relaxed). A space where tourist and business people alike, feel comfortable and looked after.Vergelegen Coffee Shop has established itself as one of the best tea and coffee houses in the Northern Cape. Made famous as the place of inspiration as well as a place to relax and cool down. Experience the magic yourself. Visit us and savour a cup of tea or coffee before venturing out to explore historic Kakamas and the surrounding area.Vergelegen Cocktail Lounge offers lovingly made libations in the heart of the Northern Cape. Our mission is to help revive the lost art of mixing drinks, striving for balance in every glass. Each day we craft mixers by hand—a selection of specialty liqueurs, syrups, digestifs, and vermouths, as well as a dizzying array of bitters and tinctures—to respect the quality and character of each spirit. From a profound respect for the classics to the adventure of unique flavor combinations, ours is a perpetual quest for the new frontier of the cocktail. We use only local produce, the freshest ingredients, and natural sugars, with a constant nod to the seasons that make up the Kakamas landscape. These passions find their home in our Cocktail Lounge, where conversations abound and drinking is elevated to a culinary experience. Facilities for conferences up to 30 people. Catering available on request. Ideal for private meetings and promotions. Catering for all occasions, venues and functions. Cocktail Lounge/Bar available on premises. The decision to stay another night, by many a guest, was made after their eating experience in this uniquely created environment.
Helmeringhausen, Namibia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We enjoyed a very nice meal at the restaurant. The first time my kids had ostrich and that is all they want to eat now!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Fine dining in the desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

If it would not be so far away I would go there every week. Good selection of wines and top quality of meals. Good choices. worth a visit

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“vergelegen restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

had a lot of ants!!! all over the table ect, food was good, enjoyed it thoroughly and was reasonably priced

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vergelegen, Owner at Vergelegen Restaurant, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi, thank you for the comment.

We had a problem with ants after all the unfamiliar rains in the region. It’s all now resolved and the food is still as great as ever.

Vergelegen regards
Niel Steenekamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberwell, Australia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A great place for a regular meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

The food was very well prepared and cooked without being "over the top" just what we needed after a day on our safari

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“It's good but not that good....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Stayed overnight at the guest house and ate at the restaurant. Service is ok, little lacking in product knowledge and communication to customer, felt very much like they were pre organized sentences.

Food; Peri Peri Chicken Liver was not spicy at all, I mean NOTHING, I hate spice and after some assurance from the person who ordered the dish I sampled, it was like sweet and sour with a curry powder spilt in by accident.
Portions are very generous, a nice plus.

Springbok Carpaccio with fig and blue cheese sounds great however the meat is wrapped around the blue cheese and fig. All the meat flavor is replaced by blue cheese and sweet fig syrup, not nice at all. Very spoilt dish due to pre preparation slackness! This dish needs to be assembled just before plating, a sure winner if this had been done!

Oxe tail was great, sauces are excellent, meat superb, this did in some way make up for the starters being below standard for the price.

Cordon bleu and kalahari schnitzel were both good, very big, full of flavor.

Desert also good, mud cake is more of a fluffy cake with thick icing as opposed to mud cake however it was very enjoyable, roasted sliced almonds make a nice touch.

All in all it would appear to be the best place in Kakamas however before claiming to be so good and being "river fusion" perhaps a rethink on preparation and quality is needed, silly mistakes can have big consequences.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vergelegen, Owner at Vergelegen Restaurant, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank you for the remarks regarding our restaurant. We shall view it as positive criticism and assure you to give it our urgent attention. It is always good to know where there are options to better yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vergelegen Restaurant also viewed

Kakamas, Northern Cape
Kakamas, Northern Cape
 

Been to Vergelegen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vergelegen Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.