We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport to your Saves list
Hotel Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mezhdunarodnoye shosse | Sheremetyevo-2 Aeroport, 3, Khimki 141400, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Khimki
London, England
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Strange experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was in transit en route to Estonia from China and my flight was cancelled in Moscow due to technical problems. The next flight was over 24 hours away. My understanding is that the Novotel has rooms within the hotel that are classed as transit rooms. In theory when I arrived at the hotel I hadn't actually left the airport. Security was very, very high. Check in was swift but once I arrived at my room there was a guard outside the door who stayed there the whole time. I wasn't actually allowed to leave the room. Anyway the room was fine, clean and large with a nice bathroom. There was tv and good Internet connection. At breakfast reception called and security escorted me down to the hotel basement into a spooky room where some simple food was prepared. The whole experience was surreal and I can't imagine anyone actually choosing to stay at that hotel while in Moscow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSheremetyevo, Управляющий at Hotel Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Tajine,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport.

It is my understanding that you do not have a valid Russian visa. As a consequence you have been accommodated in the non-visa transit zone of the hotel. This non-visa transit zone is indeed part of the hotel, but is in fact under full control and responsibility of the Russian Immigration services: it is under requisition of the Russian authorities, and unfortunately, rules that apply there are not under control of the Novotel team and Management. Novotel is allowed (required) to clean the rooms, feed the guests in their rooms, and provide other ancillary services that might be required and allowed by the Immigration authorities.

We are sorry and apologize for the image and memories that Novotel has left on this part of your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to the hotel in better circumstances.

Sincerely Yours,
Elena Medvedeva
Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    274
    126
    66
    45
See reviews for
100
94
132
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed in this hotel on a day long transit break, luckily with my business colleague (I read strangers being put together, which is not great). At the hotel - front desk staff friendly, understood requirement and got them furnished (like my food preferences). Provided necessary information related to hotel. I think they are bound by local/international law, yet all staff can be little more courteous to transit passengers and make them feel at home - even being a nice hotel, it appears to be prison like complex. Food service took quite bit of time and we had to make many calls. Room are alright, average size and common facilities good.

But overall a good hotel, just making to Novotel bench marks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSheremetyevo, Управляющий at Hotel Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Globiz,
Thank you for your comment regarding your stay at Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport, but also for taking your valuable time to share your experience with TripAdvisor users.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience may have caused you during the stay at Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport.

Our team greatly appreciates that you chose our hotel in Moscow and your positive comments. Thank you that allowed us to serve you.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and will make sure your next stay with us is a memorable one.

Sincerely Yours,
Elena Bogoslovskaya
Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Good Novotel for one Night at the Airport. die our Flight Conncetion, we had to spend one Night at this Hotel, wich is just one Minute away from the Airportbuilding and that was very convenient for us. It was a god middle Class Interiour and all was very clean there. Good food at the Restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSheremetyevo, Управляющий at Hotel Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear seabluetraveller,

Thank you for your comment regarding your stay at Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport, but also for taking your valuable time to share your experience with TripAdvisor users.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience may have caused you during the stay at Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport. Our team greatly appreciates that you chose our hotel in Moscow and your positive comments. Thank you that allowed us to serve you.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and will make sure your next stay with us is a memorable one.

Sincerely Yours
Elena Medvedeva
Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

this novotel is very close to the terminal and we get there in just a few minutes after arrival. typical novotel standard. the checkin and checkout had been done pretty fast and they did speak pretty good english there. breakfast good and fresh.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSheremetyevo, Управляющий at Hotel Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear CireAranjo60,

Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay at Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport, but also for taking your valuable time to share your experience with TripAdvisor users.
Our team greatly appreciates for choosing our hotel in Moscow and your positive comments. It’s always a great pleasure to read that our guest was satisfied with his stay.
We hope to see you again soon for another enjoyable stay at the Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport.
Kind Regards,
Elena Bogoslovskaya
Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Big rooms, comfortable bed, clean. The bathroom are big, with a bath. Service is OK. The breakfast in the room arrived as promised, on time. WiFi is very slow. For an overnight, when you're stuck in the airport - it's totally acceptable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSheremetyevo, Управляющий at Hotel Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear SyrJ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your overall impressions about your stay at the Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport.
Our team greatly appreciates for choosing our hotel in Moscow and your positive comments. Thank you that allowed us to serve you.
We sincerely hope to greet you again in our hotel, and will do our best to meet all you expectations!

Kind regards,
Elena Bogoslovskaya
Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Check in was ok. Lifts were frequent and fast. Room was satisfactory with free wifi on floor 3. Bathroom had a bath, was compact and was covered in dark brown tiles making it feel very small. The WC was fitted into a tiny space and was not conducive to multi-tasking, like reading the newspaper! The level of cleaning was not good; bathroom sink was rarely cleaned, cups and glasses in the bedroom were never cleaned. Bed was comfortable. Eating facilities were just satisfactory with good service. Proximity to Sheremetyevo and frequent shuttle were big plusses.

Room Tip: Third floor and away from service doors, which make noise all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSheremetyevo, Управляющий at Hotel Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Travel284,

Thank you for your comment regarding your stay at Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport, but also for taking your valuable time to share your experience with TripAdvisor users.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience may have caused you during the stay at Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport. Our team greatly appreciates that you chose our hotel in Moscow and your positive comments. Thank you that allowed us to serve you.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and will make sure your next stay with us is a memorable one.

Sincerely Yours,
Elena Bogoslovskaya
Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed at the novotel for just few hours, after getting to moscow in the middle of the night. The hotel is 500 meters from terminal F, close to the train station. You can get there walking, during the day there's a free shuttle bus. The hotel and rooms looked good, staff ok and very good and rich breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSheremetyevo, Управляющий at Hotel Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear TheMakkions,

Thank you for your comment regarding your stay at Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport, but also for taking your valuable time to share your experience with TripAdvisor users.

Our team greatly appreciates for choosing our hotel in Moscow and your positive comments. Thank you that allowed us to serve you.

We sincerely hope to greet you again in our hotel, and will do our best to meet all you expectations!

Kind regards,
Elena Bogoslovskaya
Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport

Address: Mezhdunarodnoye shosse | Sheremetyevo-2 Aeroport, 3, Khimki 141400, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow Oblast > Khimki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Khimki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo is located at Sheremetyevo International Airport, 30 km from the centre of Moscow. This 4 star hotel with refurbished rooms caters to business travelers with six conference rooms and WiFi internet. Relax at the hotel bar and enjoy international and Russian cuisine at Fusion Grill&Bar. Unwind with our pool, gym and sauna. Free airport shuttle and secure parking. 15 Km from the Crocus Expo exhibition centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Hotel Moscow
Accor Moscow Sheremetyevo
Moscow Novotel
Hotel Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport Moscow Oblast/Khimki, Russia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Novotel Moscow Sheremetyevo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.