We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DealGrocer Voucher Redemption=Value??” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Misibis Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Misibis Bay Resort to your Saves list
Misibis Bay Resort
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Misibis Bay, Luzon 4509, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“DealGrocer Voucher Redemption=Value??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Just arrived today,so far here's a heads-up...

Pick-up service was more welcoming than the resort's staff. To think it's an outside company

Arrival at the resort,dancers seem tired,unsmiling. Front desk forgot to give us our key. Welcome drinks were not cold. Cold towel smellewd great though.

Room,no hangers.
Requested for some,plastic ones were given. Not what we were expecting from a "luxury hotel".Weird,funky smell from toilet.

Restaurant staff were busy chitchatting before attending to us. Complimentary bread and soup were great though.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    111
    60
    36
    14
See reviews for
174
75
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Misibis Bay Resort was a great place to get away with the family. After a rocky start in getting there, we were picked up in Legazpi and carted away to a beautiful and relaxing resort for a long weekend of family bonding.

The resort is about a 75 minute drive from the airport through nice mountains with sea views here and there. Upon arriving, you realize that the resort is huge and pretty remote, perfect for getting away from the rest of the outside world for a few days.

Our room (1BR Family Villa) opened onto one of the many pools in the resort. Made it very enjoyable for the kids as they could open the door and jump in, and easy for us as we could see them from almost anywhere in the room. Smaller kids are required to wear life jackets, which makes it even better for the parents.

Service was very good. Would have been excellent if more of the staff spoke better English, but overall the staff was great. The buffet breakfasts and dinner were excellent, with enough food to ensure you only needed to snack between them for lunch.

Overall, Misibis Bay was a great vacation getaway. Hope to make it back there again soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

What makes Misibis Bay worth a visit is the resort staff who give truly exceptional customer service.

Check in and check out was a breeze, everything was prepared in advance so you just have to sign in. Our accommodation, Villa 22, was just a 5 steps to the Lagoon Pool. I requested for a special greeting for my dad's birthday and they made a banner for him at our Villa. At dinnertime, they even sang 'happy birthyday' to him and gave him a chocolate birthday cake.

Food at the resort is not exceptional, but it had alot of variety. I requested a menu guide for their daily buffet offer, but was dissappointed that the supposed Lechon for the Friday buffet was absent.

The resort gave a suggested itinerary to use all the facilities the resort had to offer, such as swimming at 3 different pools, zipline, snorkling, and watersports. We were driven in a golf cart to the Cagraray Island Eco-Energy Park Adventure Zone for brief tour of the Amphitheatre and Stella Maris Chapel before we ziplined. We then went to the snorkling area. We saw a variety of fishes and a hundred giant clams. The non-motorized watersports (i.e., kayaking, stand-up paddle surfing, hobiecat, windsurfing) are free. Kayaking and Stand-Up Paddle Surfing was fun. We were well-assisted by the resort staff. Since it wasn't windy enough we couldn't use the hobiecat and windsurt.

The exceptional customer service made the vacation very memorable. Special thanks to Patricia Zantua, reservations associate; Sherman, snorkling and watersports guide; Nica, reception; Adrian, breakfast waiter, and our Legazpi City Tour guide. :o)

Room Tip: Choose Villa 22, its 5 steps away from the Lagoon Pool, and just a few meters from the Infinity Pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Upon arriving at the resort, we were welcomed by ibalong dancers and each of us received handmade necklaces. we were also handed with wet towels. It is at this point where we basically had an idea of the quality of service we were going to get for the rest of our stay. Why you may ask? It is simply because, usually, in other resorts, if a guest has traveled far to get to the resort, the most important thing to offer the guest is a complementary drink and none of the staff offered us any drink, not even a seat in their cramped up little lobby.

We arrived early so our rooms were not yet available, so we were asked to wait til 2pm. our room assignment were given to us 0ne hour later than 2pm. Once inside, we were surprised to see that the trash bins have not been emptied.

Room service is very poor. They don't replace used towels, they don't refill complementray bottled waters. If you call room service in the morning, expect them to get to you in the evening after so many follow ups.

Also, even if you did not ask for a wake up call, expect one from the front desk at 7am just to ask you how your stay in the resort was so far. ( for somebody who slept at 4am, this could be quite annoying.)

The package we got includes buffet dining for dinner and breakfast. the food tastes good although some famous Bicolano food such as laing, bicol express, pinangat, etc are not included in the buffet but to be ordered ala carte. Some of the waiters were a nightmare. For example, we asked if they could send a plate of grilled pork at our table since the waiting line at the grill station is quite long, the chef answered us with" cge po, pag di na po busy". Another example, we asked the waiter if they can bring out butter ( little butter in small containers) for the bread, to which he answered " ma'am wala na po kc. Mamaya pa po lunch maglalabas ulit", which is why,outraged, i immediately answered "a lot of guests are still arriving to have their breakfast and you're telling me, you won't be serving us anymore? D ba dapat hanggat may kumakain na guest at d pa last call for breakfast, you make sure na available lahat ng food para sa mga guest nyo?" Clearly, their waiters were not trained on how to talk to guests and to provide guest the proper service deserving of a first class resort rating.

Considering that there were a lot of guest booked in the resort, the managers, and or supervisors should be always present just in case something bad happens. for instance, We almost had a spat with one other guest because of the resort's poor management of the recreation activities. We made and confirmed our reservation for KTV at 9pm earlier in the day, come 9pm there were other guests inside the KTV room claiming that they too had a reservation for the same time slot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

1. Roadways - We notice there are no proper signage leading to the resort especially in the intersection area.
2. upon arrival to resort - we were given a cold towel to ease up the hot weather but we will also appreciate if they give a complementary drinks.
3. check-in time got us 40 mins of waiting, and when we get to our room the trash bins are still full of used toilet papers.
4. Room service - we ask for house keeping in the morning but the room cleaners get to us in the afternoon after so many phone call follow ups.
5. Food - Food served at the buffet did not cater bicolono foods, instead you have to buy them in their set meals. We also notice the the dining area has no insect screen, so flies coming in and out of the area, we also notice a fly in one of their dessert. I also personally experience the way they answer to their guest when i request for a plate of grilled pork since there was already a long waiting line, and i was answered "cge po sir, serve na lang ako pag hindi na kame busy" it was my first time to be answered like that to think its a 5 star resort.
6. Reservation for recreational activities - we called at the reception area to confirm reservation for KTV at 9 pm, and when we get there, another guest was already occupying the KTV room claiming as well that they reserved the area of the same time as we.
7. Beach front - we were disappointed of the beach front, its not what their photos are claiming, the beach front is short and has many coral stones so you cant just walk through it without wearing your slippers. Their pool is not as clean as you expect.
8. Resort maintenance - The resort itself as you will notice is not properly maintained, sliding doors are broken in our room, insect screen at dinning area are not installed maybe broken during sometime, glass canopies are not cleaned, foul smell were also notice outside some of the villas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My kids and I spent 2 nights at misibis bay, we love the room. spacious and clean. the hotel staff were all very nice and accomodating. the view is great from the room. the acca kappa toiletries were also a nice surprise. the quality of sleep is very good. we spent more time inside the room than out, but we did enjoy the beach and the pool during late afternoon. we ordered a lot of room service as the food at the restaurant (buffet) is quite expensive, getting drinks from the frige is better than ordering from the resto. their crispy pata is so good and big enough to share :) the breakfast wasn't so good though. overall, we want to go back and spend more time here :)

Room Tip: room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Let me start with the check-in w/c took 15 minutes from the reception area till the garden room where Kath of the front office showed the amenities of the room. We immediately noticed the Akka Kappa toiletries in the bathroom. The room was very comfortable except for the window shades w/c were not the totally blackout type. The reception also provided us with an itinerary for water sports and other activities. This should be taken seriously in order to avoid long lines at the zipline and other areas.

The resort had only 1 dining venue but this was compensated by the fantastic service, great food and variety of items. They were also very quick in replenishing the empty food trays. The waiters were very efficient and courteous. The resort even provided the guests with a band from Makati for Saturday after dinner entertainment.

There were a couple of lapses during our stay. Housekeeping forgot to provide us with towels in the room during our first night. When we got back from the beach, we discovered that the room had no towels. We called housekeeping and it took them almost an hour to provide us with bath towels. Another was when we spoke to Kath a day before our scheduled departure regarding our shuttle service the following day. On our actual day of departure, we found out that no arrangement was made.

Other than the above, everything went smoothly. I would still recommend Misibis to friends.

.

Room Tip: For more privacy and better views, choose a room facing the beach , away from the walkways ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Misibis Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misibis Bay Resort

Address: Misibis Bay, Luzon 4509, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Albay Province > Cagraray Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cagraray Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Misibis Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a tropical hideaway where luxurious seclusion meets wild natural beauty. This verdant, beach-fringed island offers sophisticated pleasures on land and water – from a relaxing foot wash, welcome upon arrival in your villa, to splashing, sailing or diving in the jewel-like sea and in the pristine lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Misibis Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misibis Bay Hotel Cagraray Island
Misibis Bay Resort Philippines/Cagraray Island, Bicol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misibis Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.