We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff; excellent food. Will definitely return.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Misibis Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Misibis Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Misibis Bay Resort
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Misibis Bay, Luzon 4509, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
manila
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great staff; excellent food. Will definitely return.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This was our second stay at the resort. The first was when the developers were just starting to build structures (early 2008 I think) and the second was two weekends ago where we stayed for two nights. Contrary to our nightmare stay back then (due to the noisy karaoke singing all day and till early evening), this time, we had the most relaxing weekend.
Generally, Misibis lives to its reputation of being a small luxury hotel. Like any establishment, however, it has its own flaws, if we are critical of everything about the place. But I'd rather focus on the positive experience we had.

A van picks up guests from Hotel Venezia to transfer to Misibis. Aside from the driver, a cheerful guide provided a general overview of the place you would pass through. He also offered cookies and cold bottled water as soon as you board the van. It was scorching hot when we arrived but there were two ever-smiling Ibalong dancers providing entertainment to arriving guests. Complimentary drinks were provided as soon as we entered the reception. Check-in was a breeze. We took a golf cart to our villas and our luggage followed without delay. Butlers did not seem to wait for any tip after they dropped off our luggage. The villa was huge with complete amenities you would expect from a luxury hotel.

Food was great and carefully selected. You could exchange plesantries with the waiters and they seemed to exude a certain comforting character. I guess it adds up to the good ambience that the restaurant already posseses.

Guests have the option to take their food near the beach and it didn't seem to bother them to set-up tables and all. A romantic breakfast or dinner indeed. On a lunch (and then a dinner), however, we were told that they only had a prepared set of menu (considering the very low occupancy that time) and not a buffet. To our surprise, the food they prepared for me and my husband could feed five more guests!. It was unbelievable; we ended up not touching some of the plates at all.

One thing I really liked was that they offered unlimited bottled water wherever we went: beach, hobie, zip line, snorkeling...The staff are commendable with their friendly but not-over-eager-to-please-approach to guests. Unlike other resorts where bottled water is limited to two a day in your fridge, as long as you are still billeted, you could ask for a dozen a day and they will gladly add more.

It was also good to note that the resort has put up solar street lamps along the road, making it a truly eco-park in the near future.

The island faces the Pacific. Thus, it is directly vulnerable to typhoon. But, the Philippines being a tropical country, typhoon is a way of life. It only comes during the season anyway.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: If you love the sound of the water, choose the beach front villa. It is pricey but worth every secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    88
    48
    23
    9
See reviews for
150
54
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We recently stayed in Misibis Bay's new deluxe rooms for 2 nights. We got our booking through Dealgrocer but we feel we were misled and cheated. When they released the deal, they did not post any pictures of the rooms included in the deal. They let us stay in rooms that looked liked cheap apartments which had small windows without any sunlight coming in. Aircon was dripping. Part of the shower was broken. They had this useless lamp that was hanging too low from the ceiling that bumped our head. No coffee table was provided. The grills of the staircase were not kid friendly, the spaces were too far apart that a child could fit right through it. The housekeeping was right beside our room! What kind of a hotel/resort puts their guests beside the housekeeping?! The floor was swarming with ants. It had to take them 2 hours to have a manager come and attend to our needs. Room service and housekeeping took forever to come. The deluxe rooms were far from the main resort. I think that the building we stayed in was really for housekeeping, they shouldn't have attempted to put guests in that building just to make extra income. When you stay in the deluxe rooms, you would feel like outsiders and degraded. But in fairness to the resort, the villas were beautiful and activities provided were great. I think that they are only tainting their reputation by building the deluxe rooms. If you would choose to go to Misibis Bay, you should get the villas and never the Deluxe rooms. Instead of having a relaxing vacation, we ended up with a stressful and disappointing one.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the villas. The Poolside villas (near the lagoon) look great, they are near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasig
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This place is paradise - book ahead and get a package that includes a city tour and atv ride to the hilltop (with coffee and bread) at no extra cost. We got a 1Br deluxe villa and our room was literally steps away from the lagoon pool - 1 of 3 pools they have in the resort. our room was pretty spacious (since we had 2 nannies with us, our living room was turned into 2 double beds)

The staff in misibis was amazing. Most of them anticipate things that you might need. Special mention goes to F&B manager Rex who is likely the most hands-on manager you will ever meet. Thea of Spice market also deserves praise as she entertained my 3 kids while we tried devouring the delicious food given us. Check out our breakfast table by the beach!

Every penny was worth it. 3 days was just not enough!. They have so many suggested activities lined up which we were not able to do.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We had an amazing time here in Misibis. From the moment we were picked-up from the airport till they brought us to the airport, we were really taken good cared of. The staff, our guides and butlers were all very accommodating and friendly. They do their best to accommodate all our requests.
The resort is wonderful, our room was also luxurious (they upgraded our room! ), bed was really comfortable, the bathroom toiletries were also high-end.
As for the food, their ala carte food items including beverages are all priced towards the high-end market. Really very expensive. We did order some ala carte items, and were disappointed with the serving size (small, for the price you pay). So we ended up getting their buffet for lunch & dinner which makes more sense and offer more value for money. I enjoyed their sashimi, seafood grill and steak buffet. Delish!
Overall, they've exceeded my expectations and really made sure to make our stay truly memorable. I highly recommend Misibis Bay resort!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Rooms are big ,beds are great and a/cs work well. Staff are very friendly and there are enough activities to keep the teenage kids busy. You can sit by the pool, the beach or just in your veranda and just veg out and relax. One note though, it is quite expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

It's pampering to the max! and i'm not even thinking about the 800-thread sheets, the glorious lagoon right outside your villa, the welcome foot wash as you check in, and the personalized greetings and itinerary listing your very own butler delivers. Really, its the very friendly smiles of the staff and everyone's sincere desire to give you eden -- if only for a few days. Admittedly, its a bit pricey -- but WELL WORTH IT! Definitely, we will do a repeat visit! Thank you Misibis!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We got the package from on line deal, they mentioned that the rooms are "deluxe room". But if you check the website of Misibis, they only have the pictures of the Villas. The deluxe room that they are referring was the new buildings all the way back of the resort, that look like "dorms" or "apartment". So be warned, those who purchased from "DG" vouchers, please DO NOT EXPECT that you are staying at the Villas.

So this (room) review is not for the Villas but for the deluxe rooms at the new buildings. The rooms are small, good for 2 adults and 1 small kid. It's all the way back of the resort but they placed a kiddie play group that young kids can enjoy. If all the rooms are occupied in the building, expect noise!

The ala carte food in the restaurant was a bit overpriced. You don't have any choice but to dine at the one and only restaurant inside the resort. But if you take the regular buffet for approximately P1200/head ++, your kids 7 years and below can eat for free. So we took the lunch and dinner buffet. The ala carte Kiddie meal is already in the rage of P300-400 a serving. Although the Bicol express dish was one of the best that I've tried.

Upon checking in we were given a schedule of activities (water sports, zipline, ATV, snokeling) and booked us ahead, I think this is such a good service.

The customer service was excellent. They kept giving us complimentary bottled water. When I went snorkeling, one staff at the beach look after my 4 year old daughter who refuse to leave her sandcastle.

Must do the Hobie Cat, Snorkeling, Water bike, kayaking, Wind Sailing. All non-motorized activities are FREE! I also like that they are very concerned about children's safety, they make sure that all kids wear lifejackets (they provide) even they just play at their sand. Love it. Unlike most resorts, every single move you make costs something.

We went on a long weekend so there are plenty of guests. Just be sure you are confident to ride and book the ATV and Segway because a girl who rode the ATV had an accident and fell, i saw some bruises in her arms, legs and face! Another guest did the Segway around the resort and got out of balance and fell on her face! Poor girl.

Room Tip: Get their usual package that make u stay at the Villas. Not the Deluxe Room! Then everything else wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Misibis Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misibis Bay Resort

Address: Misibis Bay, Luzon 4509, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Albay Province > Cagraray Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cagraray Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Misibis Bay Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a tropical hideaway where luxurious seclusion meets wild natural beauty. This verdant, beach-fringed island offers sophisticated pleasures on land and water – from a relaxing foot wash, welcome upon arrival in your villa, to splashing, sailing or diving in the jewel-like sea and in the pristine lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Misibis Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misibis Bay Hotel Cagraray Island
Misibis Bay Resort Philippines/Cagraray Island, Bicol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misibis Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.