We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful value, location and views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Margherita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Margherita to your Saves list
Villa Margherita
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via Mario Puccini, 44, 57015 Quercianella, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Quercianella B&B and Inns
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful value, location and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived late at night due to a cancelled flight, but we had hoped to spend the day just relaxing by the beautiful pool, but alas it was not meant to be. We were on a tight travel schedule and had to catch a train the next morning. We will definitely make sure to have more time for future visits to spend at this hotel as just the one night was not enough. We did enjoy breakfast on the terrace and the view was just beautiful. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    40
    12
    9
    1
See reviews for
29
46
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived very late and only stayed one night, but from what I experienced the hotel was nice and had a beautiful view. I only wish we would have had time to swim in the pool. The breakfast was nice and my son said the coffee was the best he had ever had. I hope to return someday and spend a few days just relaxing by the pool.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey,
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from 3 days and missing the peace and beauty. Villa Margherita was the last leg of a whilrlwind trip that took in Pisa and Florence. It is close enough by train to visit all both comfortably and this picturesque location was the perfect way to relax after the hustle of the cities.
We chose one of the balcony ocean view rooms, which was more than worth the minimal extra cost. The view over the hotel terraces and on to the ocean - quieter and more still than I can recall seeing an ocean, was stunning. The sun travels across the sky and dips into the sea just to the left of the view so watching the sunset was an added treat.

The room itself was spacious enough to accommodate an extra bed, which allowed my two adult daughters and I to share. There is no air con but the owner arranged for a fan to be brought in. Furniture is tired but if you appreciate Italian antiques then you will be in for a treat
.
The downside, if I'm being picky is that there were weddings on both the Friday and the Saturday so space for residents to enjoy the pool and terraces was restricted (pool not in use from 12 on Sat).

The staff however, was welcoming and friendly. The owner arranged for our room to be sprayed when we were eaten alive by mozzies through the day and we slept untroubled by them at night. She also allowed us to stay longer in our room and then provided storage for our cases on our last day as our flight was late evening. Waiters in the restaurant were friendly and chatty, nothing was too much trouble, even accommodating gluten and dairy food intolerances.

Best of all was the location. Yes, the hotel could do with a bit of a refurb but only as long as it keeps it's charm. Nothing could improve it's position in the beautiful bay with the tiny, local village nearby for more restaurants, the supermarket and, most importantly, the gelateria!

This is the place to go for some quality rest (the bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept on) and de-stressing. The night was black as ink, the days full of sunshine dancing off the water. Beautiful. I will definitely return for a longer stay and use it as a base to travel more of Tuscany.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

I really loved this place. Okay, it's not some 5-star, super fancy, trendy hotel. The toilet stank and we had to keep the door to the bathroom closed. But it was one of those places that had an old world, Mom & Pop charm to it. It felt isolated and quiet, which is exactly what I wanted. The comfort level for me was such that I could have just as easily stayed here three months as one night. It was almost like being in a Fellini movie. The staff were friendly, price very reasonable. Had laundry done - quite a bit of it - and it was embarrassingly inexpensive and done well. We were there in September when there weren't many tourists and we spent the days day tripping to the many lovely small towns and villages. Very much enjoyed sitting outside on the terrace for breakfast, drinking delicious, strong Italian coffee.

NOTE: did not try the pool. But it has a pool. Or you can brave the sea. Which I didn't do either. Let's face it, I didn't want to get wet.

I think about this place often and hope to return some day for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Unbelieveable garden with pools. Away from rush and noise. Room itself was quite tired, especially bathroom, no aircond., but amazing views gave another value. Good breakfest, great choice of wines, good cuisine. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Recommend by stuff - bathroom with window. Probably bad choise could be side to the parking. Family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneve
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Location is really the biggest asset of this hotel, the view on the sea is just beautiful, the swimming pool is great and very clean. We were aslo very satisfied about the waiters, they are so friendly and helpful, you feel at home after few hours..... unfortunately it is not the same about the reception, first day we got a "hello" but this was not the case later on. What is going on with hospitality and customer relation ? One other point was the room, overall ok but bathroom needs a big renovation, The smell was just awful, I guess everything is rather old and you can feel/smell it. But room was always clean, you just need to take some extra soap with you because they do not put it back when used. If your room is on the parking side, it might be noisy due to weddings, when party is over, people tend to talk loudly on the parking... under your window. Let's say for the price vs quality, they are few things to say, it is rather expensive and we would expect some higher standard for the prices. I really advise the management/reception to more friendly even if it annoys you to say "hello" or "thank you" .... don't forget that we might come back one day and talk about it on social networks. But part of that we were happy to stay at Villa Margherita. A special thanks to the waiters, you are great and make this place more friendly !!!

Room Tip: ask for rooms which are not situated next to the parking...if you are not a deep sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Wonderful hotel, perfectly located on the magnificent coast of Tuscany. The hotel has all the required facilities for a relaxing holiday: good breakfast on a terrace, beautiful pool with all the sunbathing facilities and sea view, easy access (door) to the sea, delicious restaurant. But the best thing was the staff and the service! All the members of the hotel staff are wonderful, friendly people who make you feel like at home during every moment of your stay. Special thank you to Lisa! Her cheerful personality, good humor and wonderful smile brightened up our every morning!
The hotel is easy to find by car and close to the train station so you can discover the whole coast while staying at the Villa. Quarcianella is a small but lovely village and in 5-10 mins walk from the Villa there are nice pizzerias, restaraunts, public beaches and supermarket.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Margherita

Address: Via Mario Puccini, 44, 57015 Quercianella, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Quercianella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Quercianella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Margherita 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Margherita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.