We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old world romantic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Margherita

Save Saved
You added Villa Margherita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Margherita
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via Mario Puccini, 44, 57015 Quercianella, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Quercianella B&B and Inns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“old world romantic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I really loved this place. Okay, it's not some 5-star, super fancy, trendy hotel. The toilet stank and we had to keep the door to the bathroom closed. But it was one of those places that had an old world, Mom & Pop charm to it. It felt isolated and quiet, which is exactly what I wanted. The comfort level for me was such that I could have just as easily stayed here three months as one night. It was almost like being in a Fellini movie. The staff were friendly, price very reasonable. Had laundry done - quite a bit of it - and it was embarrassingly inexpensive and done well. We were there in September when there weren't many tourists and we spent the days day tripping to the many lovely small towns and villages. Very much enjoyed sitting outside on the terrace for breakfast, drinking delicious, strong Italian coffee.

NOTE: did not try the pool. But it has a pool. Or you can brave the sea. Which I didn't do either. Let's face it, I didn't want to get wet.

I think about this place often and hope to return some day for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    38
    12
    9
    1
See reviews for
25
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Unbelieveable garden with pools. Away from rush and noise. Room itself was quite tired, especially bathroom, no aircond., but amazing views gave another value. Good breakfest, great choice of wines, good cuisine. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Recommend by stuff - bathroom with window. Probably bad choise could be side to the parking. Family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneve
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Location is really the biggest asset of this hotel, the view on the sea is just beautiful, the swimming pool is great and very clean. We were aslo very satisfied about the waiters, they are so friendly and helpful, you feel at home after few hours..... unfortunately it is not the same about the reception, first day we got a "hello" but this was not the case later on. What is going on with hospitality and customer relation ? One other point was the room, overall ok but bathroom needs a big renovation, The smell was just awful, I guess everything is rather old and you can feel/smell it. But room was always clean, you just need to take some extra soap with you because they do not put it back when used. If your room is on the parking side, it might be noisy due to weddings, when party is over, people tend to talk loudly on the parking... under your window. Let's say for the price vs quality, they are few things to say, it is rather expensive and we would expect some higher standard for the prices. I really advise the management/reception to more friendly even if it annoys you to say "hello" or "thank you" .... don't forget that we might come back one day and talk about it on social networks. But part of that we were happy to stay at Villa Margherita. A special thanks to the waiters, you are great and make this place more friendly !!!

Room Tip: ask for rooms which are not situated next to the parking...if you are not a deep sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Wonderful hotel, perfectly located on the magnificent coast of Tuscany. The hotel has all the required facilities for a relaxing holiday: good breakfast on a terrace, beautiful pool with all the sunbathing facilities and sea view, easy access (door) to the sea, delicious restaurant. But the best thing was the staff and the service! All the members of the hotel staff are wonderful, friendly people who make you feel like at home during every moment of your stay. Special thank you to Lisa! Her cheerful personality, good humor and wonderful smile brightened up our every morning!
The hotel is easy to find by car and close to the train station so you can discover the whole coast while staying at the Villa. Quarcianella is a small but lovely village and in 5-10 mins walk from the Villa there are nice pizzerias, restaraunts, public beaches and supermarket.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Due to airport and car hire issues we arrived at 12.30am and were welcomed by lovely smiling Tanya, who upon seeing our tired faced asked if we needed something to eat. We were expecting to sleep hungry as all the guests and staff seemed safely tucked away in bed. 30 minutes later Tanya returned with a massive plate or 2 of the most delicious Italian foods. Even a great beer for poor tired dad and some salad also. We decided to go for a late stroll, I along with my 2 kids @ 1.30am and looked at our surroundings in awe. The only light was a beautiful moonlit sky with the reflection off a calm sea. The stars were fantastic. This was the only light around. The gentle lapping of the waves the only sound. Just what the doctor ordered. Bliss. The next day we were transferred to the sea view room. Standing on the balcony of this great room I felt like Al Pacino from one of his mafia films, looking out onto a beautiful view of the beautiful verandah followed by pool followed by the beach into the sea. A fantastic sight ! My children 3 in all age 10,8&6 years old thoroughly enjoyed their stay. My wife was happy with the room and all that came with it, and I had just relived a fantastic cinema moment and definitely had the feeling that I will return. During our stay weddings were booked for 2 of those evenings. I realised why. It was the most romantic classy settings EVER, but without the silly price tags to match. The evening affairs was magical. People who had stayed at the hotel had decided to marry there later in life. A true reflection of the hospitality location and charm of a Wonderful hotel. I hope this becomes a popular haunt for those with understated class and sophistication. Without a doubt I will return soon for another break.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed a week at this quiet, charming and wonderful hotel.
The room was a bit cramped - but this is probably because we crammed all 4 of us in there, with two extra beds.The bathroom, though tiny and a bit dark, was clean.
The main feature for us was the direct access to a terrace with sun loungers, and a gorgeous view of the ocean.
The pool area was clean, with a direct view of the ocean. The pool is a bit small - but the children loved it! The gardens surrounding the pool were well kept and had many lovely places to sit and relax.
The staff were friendly and hard working. The food good, if on the slightly pricy side.
The hotel is situated in a charming little town with a few shops and ice-cream places. The train (very affordable) to more central places such as Livorno, Pisa etc. and great beaches is just a couple of minutes away.
Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of November. We arrived in the dark so the best part of the hotel was not immediately apparent to us and our immediate reaction was one of disappointment. We had to hang around for a few minutes before the receptionist appeared. Her English was not brilliant but we got by and she showed us to our room (16). After brushing ourselves up we set off in search of the bar. There was no bar. The restaurant wasn't open until 7.30 so we went out. The area seemed to be very quiet considering it was close to the coast but we found a nice little bar that seemed to be catering for the local men. We had a couple of beers and had a meal in the hotel across the road which was very nice. The next morning we got up and went for breakfast and we started to discover the delights that the hotel had to offer. We had eggs and bacon on the terrace in the beautiful warm sunshine looking at the stunning views out to sea. The garden area had a number of levels with a small (cold) pool with a waterfall to the next level down. Each level had it's own interests and was very tastefully arranged. From the lower terrace looking back at the hotel was a delight. We ate at the hotel the that night. The food was a little disappointing and I returned my main course (for which I was not charged). The waitress, who also served us for breakfast, was really good and handled the situation very well. The hotel is a short walk to the main beach area. Not a lot there but very pretty. We had a lovely day there and could have seen us staying another night or 2.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Margherita

Address: Via Mario Puccini, 44, 57015 Quercianella, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Quercianella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Quercianella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Margherita 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Villa Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Margherita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.