We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely 2 night break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Dargan Golf Hotel & Wellness Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Dargan Golf Hotel & Wellness Resort to your Saves list
Castle Dargan Golf Hotel & Wellness Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballygawley | Sligo, Ballygawley, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
belfast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely 2 night break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were welcomed with a glass of prosecco during check in which was greatly appreciated after a 3 hour drive! Friendly and helpful staff. We went to our room which we were not keen on as it had a double bed and a single bed, I thought we had booked a king room as it was stated on my confirmation e-mail. This was quickly rectified and we were given another room, but a bit disappointed that it was 2 single beds pushed together ;(. The bar was nice, very bright and airy and the bar staff (Ciaran) in particular was very nice. The spa was a bit of a let down TBH, very disappointing. There is a jacuzzi which had bits floating in it, didn't look very inviting. A pool or gym but be great. It was very calming and peaceful though. The dinner was great. It doesn't seem to be widely advertised in the hotel but it is on the website that they have a special offer during January and February for 2 people having a 3 course dinner, tea and coffee with a bottle of wine for 49 Euro! We were both stuffed after this, fantasic value and huge portions. Again breakfast was very nice, buffet style for cereal, toasts, pastries etc, then waiter service for hot food. Be patient with the wi-fi, it takes a long time to connect and isn't in all areas of the hotel. The hubby played a round of golf and thouroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, its about a 15 minute drive into Sligo. Beware if you are using a sat nav, it sends you the opposite direction of the hotel!! It directs to towards a big lake and it looks like the hotel should be facing it but its just trees!! Head towards Ballygawley!! We spoke to a few people who this had happened to, strange... All in all, its a lovely hotel with really nice staff, just need to put more in the spa!!

Room Tip: If going during Jan and Feb get the 49 euro meal deal!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan Golf Hotel & Wellness Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear fizzd,
Céad Míle Fáilte & thank you for your kind words about the Castle Dargan Resort. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with our genuinely friendly & helpful staff. It’s lovely to read your experience in our Middleton Bar was pleasurable, I will pass on your gratitude to the entire bar team. Please be assured that our talented team of chef’s really appreciate your positive feedback as our kitchen staff prides themselves on our Hall Door Restaurant. Our Darren Clarke designed golf course is very special to us and It is great your partner got to share in its uniqueness as many of our residents do .If I could ask you to contact our Icon Spa manager Sophia Sophia@castledargan.com as we would like to discuss your spa experience further. Thank you again for your review & we hope to welcome you back to Castle Dargan in the future.
Kind Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    160
    94
    55
    37
See reviews for
97
315
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here with my mum recently.The hotel itself looks fabulous in the evenings with the christmas decor.locatedclose by to sligo town.disappointed there wasnt a pool or gym but glad the rooms were warm and cosy,although i did wake at one stage with the sound of the radiators heating up.i had porridge for breakfast which id highly recommend-warm and creamy served with honey and cream .my mum had the full irish which she enjoyed.the staff were helpful and pleasant.i would recommend this hotel to anyone going to sligo.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan Golf Hotel & Wellness Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear xxJo35,

Thank you for your kind comments about the Castle Dargan Resort. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your mother also. Our team love to ensure the best service possible to all our guests so your feedback is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Helen Duffy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We arrived there on the 28th and were staying for 2 nights on a pigsback voucher . The gentleman at reception Kenneth i think his name was , very kindly squeezed us in at short notice as I wanted to take my partner away as her father passed away this time of year last year . It was extremely important that all went well and she was totally relaxed . I thought a spa would be the perfect place .I have to say my overall first impressions were very good of the hotel although the lack of swimming pool in the complex wasn't great I have to say . The reception staff were lovely too and very helpful .There's quite a bit to do in Sligo town itself and plenty of picturesque walks if you're prepared to travel a little bit .
Nothing could have prepared my partner and I for the nightmare that was to come . The hotel was having a dinner dance for mostly teenagers and the noise we were subjected to until 6.30am was nothing short of horrific . Between bad language and people being sick outside our window I rang down to reception 2 or 3 times to complain and they said they'd get it to stop . It's didn't ! I don't think the hotel should have these functions if they can't control them , it is supposed to be a spa and place of relaxation after all ! The end result was my partner and I having to drive 3 hrs away with no sleep back to Belfast again and in serious need of a proper relaxing night ! The hotel offered us a complimentary stay but really we can't justify driving all the way there for a night . Who could ? A very unhappy customer !!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan Golf Hotel & Wellness Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Markymarkym,

I am very sorry to hear of the issues with your stay and please accept my apologies. Our team are, as you say very helpful but unfortunately some guests do not always respect others and for this we apologise. This is not the norm and we value the comfort and stay of all our guests hence the offer of a complimentary stay. I can only assure you that the night in question was a once off and apologise again. Should you change you mind, the offer of a complimentary stay is still available.

Kind Regards,

Helen Duffy
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Our stay at the Castle Dargan was the highlight of our Ireland trip. We were welcomed with a glass of champagne on arrival. Our room was very nice with a king size bed with just the right amount of covers. Our dinner was 1st class and I must say the best we had during our 10 day adventure. The staff were absolutely wonderful. The cooked to order breakfast was also fantastic. I cannot say enough good about this experience. Wish we could have stayed here for many more nights --unfortunately it was our last night before we headed back into Dublin. If we ever get back to Ireland this is one place I would definitely put on the top of the list. Thanks again Castle Dargan---you couldn't have made us feel more welcome and special!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan Golf Hotel & Wellness Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear clayjp,

I am delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic stay at the Castle Dargan four star resort. I will pass on the positive comments to all our team who always seek to provide the best possible service. Our head chef Mark Wiggs will be happy to hear you enjoyed the meal offered so much. Feedback is valuable to our industry so we are truly grateful you took the time to leave this review. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future where our team will offer the same level of service and quality of stay once again.

Kind Regards,

Helen Duffy
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

After a three hour journey we were warmly welcomed at reception and after checking-in were offered complimentary mulled wine and mince pies. We stayed in the luxurious Lake Isle suite which was spacious and very comfortable. We dined in the Hall Door restaurant both nights and thought the range of dishes was excellent and very good value for money for a four course meal. The food was delicious and cooked to our liking. The waiting staff were very attentive and no request was too much hassle. The location of the hotel is superb and it was lovely to look out over the golf course while having breakfast.
We would thoroughly recommend Castle Dargan and are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan Golf Hotel & Wellness Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Patricia A,

Thank you for your lovely warm comments about the Castle Dargan Resort. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our Lake Isle suite is part of Castle Dargan House and offers old style luxury with all the modern comforts you could need. I will let our head chef Mark Wiggs know of your positive comments about the food and our food and beverage manager Matthew McDonagh know about the excellent service you received. We hope to welcome you back to Castle Dargan in the future and we wish you Happy Christmas from our team.

Kind Regards,
Helen Duffy
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

From having to request an extension to our Gift Voucher because of illness to the actual telephone reservation and booking in procedure and the 2 day stay thereafter we could not fault the hotel, the staff, nor food, everything was perfect and it was lovely to walk into the lobby and see the beautifully decorated Christmas trees and be offered mulled wine and mince pies, any minor glitches were dealt with promptly and efficiently - nothing was any problem to the receptionist Chrissie nor James who was brilliant in every way, the only minor glitch was when I telephoned to enquire if there was a fridge in the apartment I was told no - yet we arrived yes there was a fridge, some little lady was not totally clued in!!! We would highly recommend the hotel for its secluded location, atmosphere and staff attention, we were in the walled garden apartments which were quiet, private, clean and spacious spacious and only a two minute walk from the main building. We would highly recommend Castle Dargan and have promised ourselves a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan Golf Hotel & Wellness Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear 210Alice,

Thank you for your review of the Castle Dargan Four Star Resort. It is brilliant to hear you enjoyed your stay thoroughly and found our team to be of such excellent service. Our Darren Clarke designed Golf Course gives the perfect background for scenic views and allows our resort to be the perfect place for a quiet and relaxed escape. In our Walled Garden apartments, the views of the course are exceptional adding to our guest’s stay we find. I will pass on your positive feedback to all our team. Feedback is invaluable in this industry so we appreciate your time. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Helen Duffy
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed here for two nights for a wedding. Am sorry to say but this is not a 4 star hotel, we arrived after a long journey, went to the bar for something to eat, it was freezing in there, food was good but coffee was only warm. In the room you could hear the toilet being flushed and the doors on either side opening and closing. Could also hear our next door neighbours snoring (not good) breakfast on both mornings (room service) was a disaster, burnt sausages, one slice of toast each and silly things forgot spoon/ sugar and salt. On checking out told them about the breakfast and they knocked the room service charge off, am still very disappointed with this, it's far from a 4 star hotel!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan Golf Hotel & Wellness Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Sharon1857,

I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us recently. I would appreciate it if you could contact me at marketing@castledargan.com to discuss this further as it is not the norm for our service and I do apologise. We hope to be able to restore your faith in our hotel and follow up on issues you have. The Castle Dargan team pride themselves on top quality service for all customers. I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards,

Helen Duffy
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Dargan Golf Hotel & Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Dargan Golf Hotel & Wellness Resort

Address: Ballygawley | Sligo, Ballygawley, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballygawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Dargan Golf Hotel & Wellness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Dargan Hotel offers unsurpassed accommodation facilities ranging from stunning en-suite guest rooms and Wall Garden Suites to the magnificent Castle Dargan House Premier Suites all of which present an old world charm with modern day comforts. Our signature beds; The Vogue & Elegance mattresses with feather down duvets & pillows are featured in every bedroom, ensuring a peaceful night's slumber. We also include: direct-dial phones, complementary broadband access, digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities, smoking & non smoking wings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Castle Dargan Golf Hotel & Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Dargan Golf Hotel And Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Hotel Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Ballygawley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Dargan Golf Hotel & Wellness Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.