We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Competitively priced and nice people.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nantahala Rafting with Adventurous Fast Rivers - Private Tours

Nantahala Rafting with Adventurous Fast Rivers - Private Tours
14690 Hwy 19 W, NC 28713
828-488-2386
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the beauty and adventure of whitewater on the Nantahala River. We are family owned and located directly on river. Our specialty is giving economical prices with the very best in personal service, equipment, facilities, and staff. No experience necessary. Guided & unguided trips available March through October. Walk-ins are welcome or call to reserve your adventure. We look forward to seeing you on the river with us. The most important trip down the river is yours! Come & Enjoy the Fun...
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Competitively priced and nice people.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We used Adventurous Fast Rivers for our recent trip down the Nantahala. This was my first experience with a rafting company on the Nantahala, so I can't compare the service against others, but the price is within a couple of dollars of pretty much all the other companies (some were a couple of $ cheaper and others a couple $ more). The place was easy to find as they have a big sign out front. One of the owners checked us in and was very personable and interested in chatting. They have a store with drinks, ice cream, T shirts, etc. The changing rooms are pretty much just a fenced in covered area with a wall seperating the men's and women's sides. There are seperate bathrooms for men and women. Once changed, we had a very brief saftey demonstration and were then driven up to the top of the river (about 10 minutes). The driver on the way up to the river was very socialable and good to talk to. Once at the put in, he gave us a few additional instructions and we were off. The Nantahala is mostly rated as a class 2 river. There are two class 3 rapids at the end. The nice thing about Adventurous is that they are located a just before the class 3 rapids which allows them to give you some instruction on running the last two class 3 rapids. If you prefer not to run the last two rapids, you can take out at this point. Upon completing the river, Adventurous was waiting for us. It was a short 5 minute ride back to their location to change clothes and get on our way. Overall, I was pleaaed with the service and would use Adventurous again for a trip on the Nantahala.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    13
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guntersville, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome! Great Staff, Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I have been using Adventurous Fast Rivers for probably 8 - 10 years now for annual group rafting trips and many small group trips. We took a group of 35+ on Aug 27 and had a great time. They always work with me as we on the big trips. They take care of their guests and have a great and friendly staff!!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Holy rapids, Batman!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We purchased a Groupon for a self-guided rafting trip through Fast Rivers. I found the pace of instruction, outfitting, and transport to the push off site very quick and informative. The river was very crowded the day we went (8/27) and we hit several other rafts. I fell out of the raft at the end, but found that it added an element of fun to the trip. Everyone was very helpful, some of the guides helped even though we did not take a guide with us. If you are unsure of going rafting alone, take a guide, but I was secure (or stupid) enough to raft without one. The staff of Fast Rivers was pleasant and helpful throughout. The location is great as well. Will definitely return for more action!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“August 2011”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011 via mobile

This was a great trip. The staff was great. The water was not that cold only 49 degrees. The instruction given before the trip was very informative. We will be going back again. We took two children ages 7 and 9 and they had a blast. Thanks again to the staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great time, Great Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

There were 5 of us on the river this day. We really enjoyed our experience. I was sold on Fast Rivers as soon as I hit their website. I like supporting small businesses. They have a great story. This family has created a great environment and experience.

We loved our guide. He knew what he was doing, and was able to navigate the river allowing us to experience the best parts. When you go, if you have the option, ask for Zack!

Thanks so much Fast Rivers, we'll be back.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nantahala Rafting with Adventurous Fast Rivers - Private Tours also viewed

 
North Carolina Smoky Mountains, NC
North Carolina Smoky Mountains, NC
 

Been to Nantahala Rafting with Adventurous Fast Rivers - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nantahala Rafting with Adventurous Fast Rivers - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.