We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Smiling!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Pia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lippiano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Pia
Save
You added Villa Pia to your Saves list
06010 Lippiano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Still Smiling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We've just got back from our first trip to Villa Pia (and we were in the minority for being first-timers) but this will certainly not be our last - testament to the successful formula that makes this the perfect place to holiday with kids. Happy Kids means happy adults - they ran free playing with all the new friends they made, and we stayed up late every night with all our new friends :-)

This is a place to visit if you are a sociable sort of family - its all about communal eating (erm and drinking), kids everywhere, but most importantly smiles everywhere. The food is AMAZING, especially the lunches. Together with the free drinks (beer, wine, the "drinks cabinet", water and juices, and of course the irresistible coffee machine - we are all baristas now), the all inclusive cost feels well worth it on return. We hardly spent anything while there apart from a few massages and cookery courses on site which were hard to refuse. On Thursdays we dragged ourselves away from the villa and visited just a handful of the beautiful local towns - there is so much here to explore.

The rooms are clean and relatively modestly furnished - certainly not of a luxurious level - but what you are paying for is everything else around that that makes the holiday so relaxing and fun. Our children are aged 2 and 6 and this is the first time in ages that we've really felt that everyone in the family had everything they needed and relaxed. The staff are so friendly and helpful, and you are made to feel at home from the minute you arrive.

But for us as grown-ups, what made it was the chance to relax every evening over a 4 course dinner, with a whole host of friendly, funny and interesting people. Felt like we got to go out every night while the kids slept peacefully across the courtyard. We will definitely be going back next year!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    9
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
76
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Having missed Villa Pia for a few years, we decided to come back with our children now that they are a bit older - 10, 9 and 7. I didn't think it would be possible but this week was even better than the previous weeks we have spent there, when they were babies and toddlers. The children bonded with a big friendly group of other kids and roamed around the acres of land, playing games, breathing in fresh air, organising diving competitions and much, much more. We got to relax properly for the first time in ages, and joined in many of the spontaneous family activities as well as met up and socialised with a great bunch of people. Food once again was excellent, rooms spacious, clean and fresh, the views magnificent. The staff remembered us and our children which made it feel like we were coming home to an old friend. The children were really sad to leave as were we, but we are booked for next year - and looking forward to it.

Room Tip: The Palazzo is a 2 minute walk from the main villa and can be good for older children - rooms huge w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I have already recommended Villa Pia to everyone I know that has a toddler, and we only got back on Monday. Its that good!

Previous holidays have revolved around day time activities then a bit of a logistics nightmare in the evenings where you need to sort out baby sitting, or sit outside a mobile home staying relatively quiet, or sat watching TV in the corner of a hotel room trying not to wake the kids.

This is where Villa Pia is a breath of fresh air. The kids all eat together at 6pm, then you have a couple of hours to put them to bed before all the adults meet up for an evening of adult conversation, wine and amazing food. At the end of the table is a collection of baby monitors, with everyone in the same boat you don't feel in any way awkward.

During the day, there is enough to keep any toddler happy for at least a few weeks. During the day, you can just relax in the sun, keeping one eye on the little ones who is playing with the countless trucks/trains/castles/wendy houses/trampolines/swimming pools/soft play area/bikes/trikes/scooters/hammocks/swings/slides/roundabout/books etc etc!!!

All the parents seem happy to look after other kids too - very much a you scratch my back I'll scratch yours approach that gets you that little bit of freedom you crave when you need it the most.

All the positives everyone else has mentioned are true - the food, the views, even the building itself is simply stunning with generous sized rooms in a traditional style.

But some of the negatives I previously read must have been resolved, as the condition of the equipment is absolutely not an issue, in fact everything seems clean and tidy.

Something that might help others that are going - you don't need to take much at all, another stress taken away!! Cups, bibs, beakers, cots, books, toys, high chairs, toys, blackout blinds, baby sheets etc. They are all provided. Allergies are catered for. Thank you very much for the perfect holiday.

A couple of suggestions that could make it even better (although we will still be back regardless).

1. A few 0-6 month old bouncers/walkers etc in the courtyard area so you have somewhere to put the really little ones.
2. Some music in the pool area/courtyard. This would give the adults that holiday atmosphere.
3. Your website doesn't do you justice. The villa and grounds are simply stunning, yet we were expecting something a lot more run down and average.
4. Perhaps you could put the driving directions on the actual web site in the Getting Here section, describing the last few turns when you get the Lippiano.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have had 3 trips to Villa Pia between 2009 and 2013, all have been lovely holidays, even in 2013 when we had a rainy week in June! We plan to return again this year with our children who are 6 and 3, in the main school hols in Aug. We love the food, the lunches are fantastic, and we love the fact we get to eat out every night ( except thurs) with the other parents once the little people have gone to bed. Being able to grab a coffee, help yourself to a bee or glass of wine from the fridge any time is great and makes it feel like a home from home and very relaxed. it also means that the children have always got access at all times to fruit, drinks, yoghurts etc whatever time of day, not that you really have chance to feel hungry! We have stayed in the main house, the castle and the plazzo regina, all are lovely the rooms in the castle and palazzo regina are really spacious and a little quieter if you want to be away from the main hustle and bustle a bit but you do have to be prepared to walk a couple of minutes up the hill if you forget something. If you have little ones who need a sleep, and are not staying in the min house/ annexe, we have before now used the study/music room with a sleep cot to put our 2 yr old down for a lunch time nap, then you can enjoy the post lunch relax in the courtyard with a beer or iced coffee.

My only suggestions for small but important improvements would be perhaps a few more umbrellas around the pool area to ensure there are enough for every 2 sunbeds as in high season it gets very hot and you cannot be at the pool without shade, also the small pool ( which is heated for early in the season) , would benefit from some type of partial sun shade when it's really hot as we have experienced 35 degrees in 2011, normal for July/Aug, and we couldn't really get the kids in the pool at all between 12-4pm. A few more deck chairs in the main couryard area for parents would also be nice. The other really helpful thing would ( which may not be feasible for various reasons) be a loo by the pool area, it is a bit of a walk to take little ones back to the toilet in the main house.

However, overall this is a great place with fantastic staff, a great atmosphere, and beautiful location, and we are going back for a 4th visit this year which says it all, our 6yr old cannot wait and has fantastic memories as do we

Room Tip: Pallazzo Regina very spacious and a bit quieter, rooms at either end of corridor in main house quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Agree with all the great reviews. We left villa pia glowing! Kids made instant friends and spent the whole time laughing, exploring and playing. Food was excellent, and we so enjoyed the evening dinners with other parents after the kids went down. Had some amazing runs around the property as well, be sure to ask where to go if you want to get a jog in. We also did a great wine town through very Tuscany during our stay and left the kids in the care of the resort. Our only hiccup was some miscommunication in our room - although we booked well in advance (and ahead of other travelers) and requested a room in main house, we we're still placed in adjacent house, which is far away from others. Felt we received some unnecessary pushback and attitude when we rightfully said something about it. Also, be sure to ask about costs of additional activities and child care up front - we were surprised with a few charges that we were thought were included in stay. But we did have a truly lovely time and would love to return - just a few kinks that could be ironed out. They do try to go out of their way for guests!

Room Tip: Be very clear about where you want to stay, and get it in writing for them to confirm. They do a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have just got back from Villa Pia and I have to say we were blown away by the standard of service, accommodation, location, facilities and food. The staff made us feel extremely welcome and we would like to thank them all for looking after us so well. My wife was worried about her food allergy before going as we have had experienced problems elsewhere but they produced amazing italian bespoke dishes 'dairy-free' and never once forgot.

The atmosphere is very relaxed and the calibre of the people who stay here speaks volumes. All the families we spoke to didn't want to leave. We are hoping to go back next year.

A great place to stay particularly for families but also couples and we have no hesitation in recommending it.

Mr and Mrs Watson, Notts

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

One week stay went by much too quickly. The relaxed and welcoming atmosphere does wonders to eliminate the routine stress of life. The food is fantastic. A must do for couples or families and kids will not want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Pia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pia

Address: 06010 Lippiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Lippiano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lippiano
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Villa Pia Hotel Lippiano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Pia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.