We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a getaway break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marchbankwood House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marchbankwood House to your Saves list
Marchbankwood House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Beattock DG10 9RG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Beattock B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a getaway break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

We have just returned from a short break to recharge our batteries! Marchbankwood House is the perfect place. It is a period house retaining many of the original features, tastefuly and sympatheically decorated throughout. The super kingsize bed is very comfortable, I had the best nights sleep in ages!
We visited on the coldest of January days and the log fire in the lounge was wonderful and relaxing. Breakfast is superb, freshly prepared using local produce. The house is close enough to the M74 to be an ideal stopover on the way to and from Scotland but far enough away to be superb holday location.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
50
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Amazing bedroom, coupled with an amazing location, all complimented by a service second to none. It's a very welcoming environment and the owners both do there utmost to make your stay comfortable without disturbing your privacy.

  • Liked — The enormous, very comfortable, beds
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

A great place to stay - will definitely recommend to friends and colleagues. We stayed a night and got a huge room with own ensuite and breakfast included - much better value for money than the hotel in Moffat which was more expensive and without brekkie. Very cosy, lovely setting and very welcoming.

  • Liked — Peaceful and friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing at all!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

Stayed one night at Marchbankwood House and can't recommend it highly enough. The house is fantastic, the rooms grand and very clean, the breakfast is great, the hosts very welcoming, the setting magnificent . . . nothing to fault it. If you're looking for a place to stay in this part of Scotland I highly recommend staying at Marchbankwood House.

  • Liked — The whole expeience
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

This place is FANTASTIC!!! We stay in many bed and breakfasts and this really is one of the most memporable for many good reasons - the house itself makes you feel like you are Lords and Ladies, the rooms are huge, views fantastic, breakfast excellent. Most of all the wonderful comfortable bed. My most frequent groan concerns old mattresses but not here! A proper 6 foot bed (could be set up as a twin). Great. We loved this house so much we would consider having a holiday in this area solely to stay here again!! If you eat in Moffat do go to Claudio's Italien restaurant. We had a super meal and very reasonably priced.Proper Italien pizzas.Sally even sent us an email the day after we left wishing us a good journey and hoping that our stay had been good. Yes thank you Sally - it was excellent!! Congratulations on a superb bed and breakfast.We were so sorry that we had only the one night.

  • Liked — superb house and setting. Loved the black and white cat and dog!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

My wife and I spent two days at Marchbankwood in mid-June.

We could not have wished for anything better. The room we had was large and comfortable with amazing views over the Moffat hills.

Sally and her husband were very friendly and welcoming and immediately made us feel at ease.

The breakfasts were first class and if you are really brave you might want to try the "Full Scottish Breakfast" - enough to carry you through to dinner.

We hope to return.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

We have had the good fortune to have stayed at Marchbankwood House not one time, not two times, but three times when traveling to Scotland from southern England. This B&B should be the model for all B&Bs to aspire to. Elegant but understated, comfortable, spacious with views to die for. We will always return when traveling and would never give a thought to staying anywhere else. We sleep better there and enjoy a breakfast, prepared by the lovely Sally, that is unequaled in variety and quality. Just excellent!

  • Liked — Pristine, spacious and elegant rooms, warm and friendly owners
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marchbankwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marchbankwood House

Address: Beattock DG10 9RG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Beattock
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beattock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Marchbankwood House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the countryside, 3 miles from Moffat, Marchbankwood offers a perfect place to relax. Spacious en-suite rooms and comfortable guest lounge with log fire. Ideal base for walking, cycling and exploring the local visitor attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marchbankwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marchbankwood House Beattock, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marchbankwood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.