We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manolya Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Manolya Hotel to your Saves list
Manolya Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fevzi Cakmak Cad No:48, Lapta, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lapta
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enjoy here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really we so much liked the kindness of the hotel staff and their wonderful hospitality.
Also a various tasty Oriental and Western meals were great.
We really enjoyed every moment of our time at Manolya hotel.
I'm sure there will be further more visits by us to your hotel.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolya H, Ön Büro Müdürü at Manolya Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Hawree M.
Firstly thank-you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We have a great week with you and your family. We all hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    43
    22
    15
    14
See reviews for
32
81
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perhaps the Manolya hotel itself is, though much to my liking, not the liveliest of all places. Surroundings, accessibility and care by staff are superb. I traveled with Corendon, with Boukje Weerts the attentive and charming local representative. Her husband Mustafa Zorlu is receptionist at Manolya. (The family happening the pair has in waiting you may want to find out for yourself.) The dolmus stops right in front of the hotel, allowing easy and low cost transport to Kyrenia and all of Turkish and Greek Cyprus. If you know of a quieter and friendlier spot around the Mediterranean, and at bargain rates indeed, I’d be glad to hear.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolya H, Ön Büro Müdürü at Manolya Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Dutchwand,
Firstly thank-you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We have a great 2 weeks with you. We all hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

OK. If you are expecting some fancy swish corporate style hotel in a glitzy modern country look elsewhere. However if you come to the lovely country that is North Cyprus, isolated for much of its existence and are prepared to see the quirks and charms this is a really super place. Our 4th visit, Memet the owner greeted us like family members. I recognised many of the staff from previous visits, Mayil, Victoria and Ebru etc remembered us too. Some things have changed others are familiar. It is not a super modern hotel but a family hotel with quite a bit of history in Cyprus and its troubles, take the time to ask and some of the history is intriguing. Rooms are not massive but comfortable, there is a ruling about bringing your own drink into the hotel but we do not have a problem with that, it is after all a hotel and not a self catering apartment. breakfast which was always substantial has improved with more offerings such a grilled helim which is to die for, it is a local Mediterranean type breakfast, befitting of a Muslim country and I was quite embarrassed to hear fellow countrymen complaining at the lack of bacon. We use the dive centre there as it really is fab. Do not expect perfection but treat the staff and locals with the respect they deserve and you will have a lovely relaxed holiday. Thanks to Memet and the team.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolya H, Ön Büro Müdürü at Manolya Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Susan Shaw,
Firstly thank-you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We have a great week with you and your family. We all hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Will try and be brief, will list good points
Beautiful setting
Handy for local beaches, bars, restaurants and of course the dolmas
Wide section of choices for breakfast
Minii bar/fridge in room
Smiley friendly staff
Lots of mirrors in room making room seem brighter and bigger
Not so good points
Sheets for king bed made from double bed quilt cover
Bathroom towels although clean, still marked
Shower gel on shower screen still there 7 days later
Charged for kettle and safe?????why
No shower cap
Fittings for shelf and toothbrush holder but no shelf or glass
9 days later still soap holder not cleaned in fact mirrors in room still not cleaned
cleaning 2 out of 5
Staff although smiley, no rush, so so casual
Food, although lovely choice not yet managed to get hot food, all Luke warm, day and night, such a shame
Happy hour amazingly cheap, but never anyone there, no atmosphere
Pool bar rarely manned, so spent very little money as most days too wet from pool to venture into hotel to find staff
Cloths at table only changed when quite spoiled often heard manager say, this one ok....
Seems very much a turkish business hotel not the small and friendly that we were hoping for
Very windy and seaweed and debris blown onto pool area from sea, one poor chap left to clean with bristle less broom and bin bag (In the wind was quite fun to watch) I wanted to just tidy up for him
Broken glasses left blown and smashed in the wind for the afternoon, no one to clear up
Sun beds broken, dirty and rarely a cushion to put on top, if found, they too were dirty
Asked for brandy sour at bar, was told, I will find out how to make one...brandy sour is the local drink, no wonder the bar is empty
This place could be beautiful, like the rest of the island, it lacks attention to detail and love.
Please have new menus printed and laminated for the outside pool bar instead of the ripped and tatty pieces of paper in a rusted folder, have plants in the tubs not cigarette ends and weeds, have a staff member frying fresh eggs to order, don't leave them Luke warm and congealed. When a guest asks for breakfast off the menu not from the Buffett, don't make them feel guilty, keep the food hot..
Keep the pool area manned and tidy, light the dark dingy corridors, clean the handrails, and please employ staff that are willing to work, not shuffle... Then you will have a hotel to be proud off
To all the guests that are repeated customers, why?
We have travelled to ny for over ten years and this is the worst, it's such a shame as it has such potential, but we won't be back
Glad we got home before the storms....

Room Tip: It's a lottery, some fab others not so, see other reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolya H, Ön Büro Müdürü at Manolya Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Andrew300,
Firstly thank-you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We would quite happily have dealt with your issues if had brought them to our attention during your stay, I am personally on site every day and guests know my door is always open and as you said I am always walk and talk with our guest. but you never try to talk with me or any staff, we all think that you want to stay quite. It is sad to know that you think we don't have friendly staff becouse if you read all reviews about the hotel everybody mention how firendly staff we have and we pride for this. I think you and us miss something about this.
Storms, yes we have very windy 3 days during your stay, and this is unusual for this time of the year. this effect our services by the pool and beach we are sorry about this. I promise I will call a God to stop this your next visit NC.
Once more thank you very much for your time we will care about the problems you mention us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First of all we didn't book this hotel, we booked a Travelzoo deal through Cyprus Holidays to stay in the L A Hotel, once our money had cleared we received an email saying the L A was full but we could stay at the Manolya. This would seem to be the norm as we came into contact with 5 other couples who had experienced the same "story" a bit of deceit at play I think. Anyway we agreed to the move and asked for a quiet room, our flight was delayed for 2 hours so we arrived at 11:20pm. We were allocated a room and off we went. OMG the room was Butlins circa 1980 but decided to get to sleep and ask for a move in the morning. Bear in mind we had asked for a quiet room, it turned out we were next to the lift and as all flights out of North Cyprus necessitate a pick up at 3am we were treated to the lift going up/down door closing, door opening and never slept at all. In the morning we went to reception to ask for a move, the room allocated was at the other side of the lift, went back to reception and asked again for a quiet room. After getting the holiday rep to intervene on our behalf we got a quiet room, yay. All in all we were now on day 2 and had yet to see the sun. Breakfast is the same every morning, toast, boiled eggs, meats, cheese, cheap branded cereal. The jam appeared to be diluted. Tea and coffee were freely available. Music was Bill Haley and the Comets Rock around the Clock and other totally inappropriate music for relaxing over breakfast. You do not get beach towels so remember to take your own. Wifi costs £10 per week but on day 5 I lost connection, I went to reception to ask why and was told it was because it was windy, not so, I realised other guests were on the Internet, I found my password and lo and behold got my access back, pure laziness on behalf of the receptionist in my opinion, could not be bothered checking. The pool was very nice but could do with some new cushions for the loungers, again the music seemed to be on a loop and some sounded like gangsta rap rather than "pool music." The pool water quality was monitored at least twice whilst we were there but there are no showering facilities so people were just diving in full of sun cream/sweat etc and in my opinion not for me, like sharing someone else's bath water. We bought a bottle of water from the market next door to the hotel but the receptionist confiscated it as it is not allowed, felt I was back at school on a field trip. The food for dinner was mezze and then a set main, no choice , it was that or nothing and dessert was one type of cake, no tea or coffee offered at all. Having said that we did enjoy the food but very plain and very English and I am not a fussy eater. The staff really make the hotel good, they are a credit to themselves. I would not return to thus hotel as there is nothing that you could say WOW about.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolya H, Front Office Manager at Manolya Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Jobo2206
Firstly thank-you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Firstly your group was given to us at the last minute from the agency and yes you may well have got a room that is awaiting refurbishment. We corrected that the following day as soon as we were able to, you said you were happy with your new room at this point. We would quite happily have dealt with any other issues had you brought them to our attention during your stay.
We have 61 rooms and 10 last minute rooms move from other hotel becouse the other hotel was over book and we understand that we have 5 unhappy rooms and 5 very happy rooms from same group and 51 happy rooms from different part of the world at same period when we read all the reviews. We know your travel company give you several hotel choose's but you choose to stay Manolya Hotel during your holiday. During this 7 days me and our staff talk with you and you not mention us any problem and most of you tell us what a lovely holiday, you even not give any report your rep. and your travel company during your stay , I am sorry but I can't understand why you turn from happy guest to unhappy guest after you check-out. If the reason is you need to change your hotel, I must tell this is not our fault.
but thank you anyway we will mention your pointed problems and will try to make better service for future as ever we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a very late deal with Cyprus Paradise, having been let down by another company who cancelled our accommodation with only 4 days notice and were not able to offer a suitable alternative. We arrived very late on a Monday evening and just had a drink in the stuffy bar before retiring to our room. We had been promised a re-furbished room but got an old room on the 2nd floor with a duvet cover for a sheet that was too small to cover us both and a shower so small, I couldn't get in and out! We didn't unpack but instead asked for a change of room the following morning and they showed us two alternatives and we chose one with two beds together and proper top sheets plus a large shower and a side sea view on the first floor. Perfectly nice and they seemed happy to offer a better room. The air con was included in the price and was really efficient but we personally found the beds too firm for our liking. Very uncomfortable.
We thought the breakfasts were excellent, really. Lots of choice and the coffee was good. The cereals are the same as everywhere in Turkey and Greece, a mongrel mix of cornflakes and porridge oats with a few sultanas chucked in for good measure but, unlike other hotels, there was some fresh fruit available, apples, pomegranates, bananas etc and the bread was good with brown toasting bread available so, all in all, pretty good. There were some annoying little things, like having to pay for a kettle (we wished we had brought our travel kettle with us) and also having to pay to access the safe in our wardrobe which was daft really as having access to an existing room safe does not incur any additional cost to the hotel (unlike a kettle which uses power) so we couldn't see the justification in charging. The staff were o.k.; reception staff not so friendly but the waiting staff were good. We had lunch at the pool bar most days and the food was great. Very good pizza. We ate one night in the hotel for BBQ night and the food was poor but the singer was very good if you like singing along to Delilah! The hotel is on the main coast road in Lapta and a few doors down is a most wonderful restaurant called Calimari where we did not have a bad meal. Really excellent standard of cuisine. We departed early in the morning on our last day and we had been promised coffee and a roll in the dining room but there was nothing. The night receptionist reluctantly dragged himself away from his screen to turn the coffee machine on for us but did nothing else to rectify the situation. We had paid for breakfast on our final morning so that was disappointing. Also, be warned the hotel management do not allow you to bring any of your own drinks etc into the hotel - we saw bottles of water bought at the shop next door being confiscated! This would be fine if the room staff replaced the water in the room mini bars every day but this was very much a hit and miss affair with several days when no water was provided. Also you need to keep tabs of what you use out of the mini bar as we only received one receipt for one bottle of water the whole time we were there even though we used more. They charged us for more, of course, but a daily receipt should have been issued.
Mehmet the Manager was very helpful with our hire car and got us a new Fiesta for £25 per day which we thought was good.
We suspect the rooms will get shabby quickly, already signs of black mould around the bottom of our shower and the sockets were so badly installed that they almost came away from the wall every time we unplugged something! So, all in all it was o.k. but not good enough to tempt us back.

Room Tip: Try and insist on a refurbished room as the others are very tired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolya H, Front Office Manager at Manolya Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Jean H,
thank you very much for your time, to be honest We don't undrestand what you was hoping? your resrvation move this hotel just one day before your arrivel, if you disapointed becouse you need to change your original booking hotel, I must say this is not our fault.
When we read your review about the Manolya Hotel we not see any important reason for compleain. but thank you anyway we will mention your pointed problems and will try to make better service for future as ever we do. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I stayed a week at the Manolya Hotel from the 20th -> 27th September. This was not our first choice hotel as we had originally booked to be in the LA Hotel down the road, however the travel agency (Cyprus Paradise) had apparently overbooked that hotel.

We arrived at midnight on Saturday after 15 hours of travelling so were pretty exhausted. Given a choice of rooms we chose a poolside room. We were so late we'd missed the evening meal but they brought us sandwiches which was appreciated.

We initially had 3 issues with our room; firstly the bed in our room which was incredibly uncomfortable. The mattress was so hard I would have slept better on the floor! Secondly the sliding door out to the pool was very difficult to open & close, and finally our door key didn't work.

To be fair to the staff they resolved all the issues by the following lunchtime, even bringing a new mattress down, which was also pretty terrible but I couldn't be bothered to argue or change rooms by that point- we just wanted to get on with the holiday.

As the holiday went on the main problem with the room was the noise - we were directly below the restaurant and it sounded like people were dragging tables round until late on!
The room itself was big and fairly basic, but this wasn't too much of an issue as we spent very little time in there. It was cleaned with fresh sheets daily which is good.

Each morning we enjoyed the buffet breakfast, it had a good range of hot and cold foods. The only thing we thought was that some days 3 out of 4 of the hotplates had a type of egg on. It would be nice to have a meat option each day - for example bacon or sausage...if possible. Just our opinion anyway!
We ate our dinner there the first 2 nights and it was OK - nothing special for us I'm afraid.

One big negative I have to mention is the fact you are not allowed to bring any food or drink at all in the hotel. On the first morning we had drunk all the water from our fridge so we asked where the nearest shop was at reception (handily it's next door). So we went out and returned with 2 bags of water / pop / beer. Which were promptly taken from us as we walked back in!! Even the water!? We found this ridiculous. I can appreciate with beer that they want you to use the bar and we did, but in a place that hot you must be allowed to bring your own water in. The fact you can't take food/drink in should be explained to you on arrival - there's a note on a board in the hallway but so easy to miss.

The main positive about the Manolya is the pool and the area around - it was always clean. Just around the corner there are sunbeds overlooking a small bay and steps down into the (incredibly warm!) sea. Which is a nice extra.

There is a dive school there too which we didn't use but is an option for anyone feeling more adventurous.

The location of the hotel is good, around 50 minutes from the airport, and on the main road from Kyrenia -> Lapta, with lots of beach bars and restaurants within walking distance. Kyrenia is around 30 minutes away via minibus which you hail down on the main road. It was around 9 Lira for 2 of us each way.

Overall we had a good holiday but I feel that the hotel has a way to go to be anything beyond a 3 star experience at best.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolya H, Front Office Manager at Manolya Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Tank86,
Firstly thank-you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
Thank you very much for your suggestions , We will care your suggestions and keep working for better Manolya. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manolya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manolya Hotel

Address: Fevzi Cakmak Cad No:48, Lapta, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Lapta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lapta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manolya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manolya hotel is a beautifully positioned and welcoming hotel set between the sparkling seas of the Mediterranean and a dusky mountain backdrop. The Manolya provides good quality accommodation at a reasonable price. The hotel interior is modern and welcoming. The comfortably furnished rooms have air-conditioning, a mini-bar, satellite TV, private balconies, and en-suite bathrooms. Both simple and sophisticated holiday pleasures are on offer at this good standard family run hotel located near to Kyrenia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Manolya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manolya Hotel Kyrenia
Manolya Hotel Cyprus/Lapta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manolya Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.